We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Byzantium Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Byzantium Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cankurtaran Avenue Akbiyik Street Number: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Sultanahmet - Old City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #140 of 937 Hotels in Istanbul
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very convenient hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here over a long weekend. Located barely 10 minutes walk from the Blue Mosque, this hotel is ideal for many of the key tourist spots. Good area with many restaurants at your doorstep. The hotel is well maintained, the staff are friendly.

Our triple room was smaller than how it was presented on their website, but the room was fine. Clean and reasonably well furnished. Breakfast at the hotel was more than adequate.

The hotel has a very nice roof top restaurant with great views of the Bosphorous. The food was good, especially the squid and the kebabs. We ate there on at least two occasions if not more.

You won't be disappointed staying here.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    98
    25
    6
    7
See reviews for
66
111
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My friend and I booked a double room at the Byzantium hotel in Istanbul for 4 nights in November through British Airways holidays. On arrival, there was a mix up with the room so we ended up staying in 3 different rooms throughout our stay (the first night at a nearby hotel) but the sea view on the last 2 nights made up for the inconvenience. We were also offered a free session in the spa and a complimentary transfer to the airport to compensate us. The hotel is in a great location. Only 5 minutes walk from the Blue Mosque, the Agia Sophia and Topkapi Palace. There is a lovely terrace bar, where we had a drink on a couple of evenings with views of all of Istanbul. The breakfast is good and the supplies are replenished regularly. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. What impressed me the most is how clean the hotel was throughout. If you want a hotel in Sultanahmet that is in walking distance from all the sites do check the Byzantium out.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent hotel in very good location close to all major attractions (Blue Mosque , Agia Sofia , Top Kapi palace).
The room was very comfortable and clean , the breakfast was good and the Hotel Resaturant very nice and the View of the Hotel Restaurant was unique.
The hotel area is very safe and the tourists do not have to afraid of anything .
The people of the hotel were very friendly and ready to help you .

what was make an excellent impression to us was the fact that every day in the breakfast there was an employee of the hotel who was asking to all tourists what was their daily plan giving them the correct instructions how to get there if the museums were closed on that day etc.


  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NalanOz, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Thanasis K!
Firstly I want to thanks for choosing our hotel to pass your holiday.

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in our hotel.
We share a god time together and thank you for your atention reguard, our daily guide around İstanbul city.
We are glad that you enjoy it.

We always will be here for you !

For more about your holiday and İstanbul experiense,you can write us:

guestrelations@thebyzantiumhotel.com
Best Regards
Guest Relation Department
The Byzantium Hotel & Suit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had booked a Black Sea cruise departing from Istanbul and our travel company arranged a two night stay at the Byzantium prior to departure. On arrival the staff were friendly and helpful, they could hardly wait to bring our suitcases and hand luggage in. Our room was compact, but nicely decorated and the en-suite was spotless.
We had our evening meal in the hotel's roof top restaurant from where you have views of both the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sophia Basilica as well as the Bosporus. The food was wholesome, reasonably priced with an emphasis on local cuisine.
I'm certain there is an abundance of good hotels in Istanbul, but the Byzantium has the advantage of being perfectly placed with a multitude of historic sights in walking distance. We would have no hesitation in using the Byzantium as a base for our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NalanOz, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Trevor S!
Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in our hotel.
We feel delight to read your review.I am glad that you enjoy the İstanbul and the rest !
I want to thank for your valuation reguar the staff help and friendship.
For reservation next time you should mail us directly at the
info@thebyzantiumhotel.com .
We look forward to being your and all your costumers
host again during your next trips to Istanbul !!!

Best Regards
guestrelations@thebyzantiumhotel.com
Best Regards
Guest Relation Department
The Byzantium Hotel & Suit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good hotel with well organized and very hospitable staff. We had conference here and were fully satisfied with conference-room service. The rooms are very suitable and clean. The cuisine is perfect with a big choice. Special thanks to Deniz for organizing and support! Hope to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NalanOz, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Ramik G!
We as The Byzantium Hotel Team want to thank you very much for your review .
İt was pelasure to have like a grup.
We are glad that you and your grup enjoy the time with us.
Will be always pleasure to host you and the rest of your grup .
It is a pleasure to see that your arrival and departure process went smooth as well.

We hope you come back and visit us,again, very soon...
guestrelations@thebyzantiumhotel.com
Best Regards
Guest Relation Department
The Byzantium Hotel & Suit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Location ecellente....The mos part of museums are very near . delicious breakfast...A lot of possibilities to choose . very professional and helpful staff....starting from breakfast and the Guest Relation girl Diorin, that no body know how many language can speak in the same time . very helpful and very pre a per ed in the same time very professional . Bell boy Hanifi but and the recepsion very gentleman . Thanks Deniz for help us in reservation . very clean and the cleanings lady smile .never see such a smiling staff . hotel very clean . another girl Nallan very sweet too . Definitely I will suggest like hotel everyone . good choice....I will be back again.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NalanOz, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Michele H3…!
We want to thank you for you time that find to share with us:your review is very important for us
.We want to thank you that you trust in us.
we would be glad to host you again.
We hope you come back and visit us, again very soon...
guestrelations@thebyzantiumhotel.com
Best Regards
Guest Relation Department
The Byzantium Hotel & Suit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Don't try and email the hotel before getting there for a transfer. It doesn't work. I sent several emails, I also received emails back from different people with one price of 40 euros, then another email with a price of 45 euros. Needless to say, we didnt have anyone waiting for us!!! Not a good start (not even 1 member of staff said anything about this). I also checked this at the hotel for a return journey (I had checked the website which stated 35 euros), and was told 40 euros. I queried this and was told they would get someone to correct their website. Not good for a hotel to be showing incorrect information!!!
Breakfast is average, juice isn't juice, it is lemon or orange squash.
Dont have room 107, you can hear the people next door (we think through the vent in the bathroom).
Most of the staff are very welcoming, apart from the gentleman with a beard behind the desk.
The location of the hotel is excellent, with most places within easy walking distance. Loved the roof terrace, with amazing views of Bhosporus river and the Blue Mosque.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NalanOz, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear TRR Surrey!
Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your experience atthe Byzantium hotel & suit.
I'm very sorry to read that we were unable to give you a correct price reguart you transfert.
You should understood us,as long as we do not desponate we our privet taxi servise.
We contact with diffrent agency to arange a price reguard the transfert.For this to you had been give a diffrent prices.

We hope you come back and visit us again very soon...
For more you can write to us in private.Please!!!
guestrelations@thebyzantiumhotel.com
Best Regards
Guest Relation Department
The Byzantium Hotel & Suit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Byzantium Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byzantium Hotel & Suites

Address: Cankurtaran Avenue Akbiyik Street Number: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet - Old City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#78 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#118 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#119 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#156 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Byzantium Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Byzantium Hotel is within walking distance to Topkapi Palace, St.Sophia, Blue Mosque, Hippodromme, Underground Cistern, Grand Covered Bazaar and many more historical sights. The terrace restaurant offers a breathtaking panoramic view of Istanbul. You will find a second home in Istanbul with The Byzantium Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your The Byzantium Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Byzantium Hotel Istanbul
The Byzantium Hotel And Suites
Byzantium Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.