We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is how they won our loyalty as future guests” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Byzantium Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Byzantium Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cankurtaran Avenue Akbiyik Street Number: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 928 Hotels in Istanbul
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“This is how they won our loyalty as future guests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Staying at the Byzantium Hotel was one of the best choices me and my mother have made while visiting Istanbul. The location of the hotel is superb as it is only a few minutes away from Aya Sofia and the Blue Mosque. The restaurant has a nice view of these two landmarks as well as of the Bosphorous. Big chain hotels in the West have a lot to learn from this boutique hotel in terms of service and communication with guests. The service was beyond outstanding, the staff has been nothing but friendly and outgoing. Everyone paid attention to every single little detail - from the friendly cleaning ladies, to the men not allowing us to carry our suitcases even for one second because we are their guests, to the staff moving with grace during breakfast, to the manager greeting us every single day, to having people in their personnel like Dorina - who talks to the guests every single morning during breakfast and made us feel special. I will not only recommend this hotel but I will stay again their because Byzantium has truly proven itself to be a fantastic hotel.
Dear Komsus, thank you for our wonderful stay and we will see you soon!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorinaAM, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, today
Dear Michaela!
Firstly I want to thanks for choosing our hotel to pass your holiday.

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in our hotel.
We share a god time together and thank you for your atention too, reguard my daily guide around istanbul.
I am glad that you enjoy it.

We always will be here for you and will be pleasearu to host you again.

For more about your hoiday and İstanbul experiense,you can write at:

guestrelation@thebyzantiumhotel.com

Best Reguards

Guest Relation Manager
Dorina Akın
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    84
    24
    5
    6
See reviews for
63
92
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
barry,s.wales
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

perfectly situated hotel in the old town sultanhamet area.easy walk to many istanbul attractions+sights.
the staff at the byzantium are simply faultless making our stay memorable.
breakfast is a quirky delight,offering some delish surprises.
the rooftop restaurant is worth a visit and is reasonably priced.
they also have a turkish bath on site which we loved,ask about special offers.
could not have been happier,2*prices for 5*service

Room Tip: ask to see room first as we did,we were a little disappointed as it was a basement room,but without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorinaAM, Guest Relations Manager at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Ken887
Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in our hotel.We are sorry for your room.
Nex time I promise that we will give good room.For reservation next time you should mail us at the
info@thebyzantiumhotel.com . It is a pleasure to see that your arrival and departure process went smooth as well.
Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay .It is a great pleasure to read ,that you enjoyed your time with us and loved the, location as well as the staff.
We look forward to being your host again during your next trips to Istanbul.

Best regards

We hope you come back and visit us again very soon...
guestrelations@thebyzantiumhotel.com
Best Regards
Dorina Akın
Guest Relation Manager
The Byzantium Hotel & Suit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of the hotel is excellent, only few minutes walk away from Aya Sofya and Blue Mosque, in the lively street full of restaurants.The staff was very nice and very helpful. Our room was good, clean and quite big. Not sure if all of them are same sizes though. The breakfast was very good as well, only the coffee could have been better. The wi- fi in our room was quite fast. The hotel employee that walks around during breakfast and helps you plan your trip is very nice and useful touch as well. Had a great stay in the hotel and would not hesitate to go back or recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorinaAM, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Kristina!
I want to thank you ,that you choose us to pass you holiday with us.
We enjoy together,and I am glad that you like my guieds.You and your friends will be always welcome.we will host them with a lot of pleasure as you ,too.
Best Regards!
We hope you come back and visit us again very soon...
guestrelations@thebyzantiumhotel.com
Best Regards
Dorina Akın
Guest Relation Manager
The Byzantium Hotel & Suit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The photos in their official website is a far far cry from what is actually seen in person. It's a relatively good basic hotel, clean & neat, and with a great location! Hence I really don't understand why they make their hotel look big in their online site when it's really not, and their rooms bigger than what it really is... which is a good regular standard size. Anyways, the 2 reception staff (a man & a woman) that were on duty that day of August 15, tried their best to serve us as best as they can. They offered some hot tea & Turkish delight that early morning we arrived and it was enough to energize us as we strolled around the area to kill some time while we wait for our check in time. They seemed to be understaffed & overbooked that day which resulted to our late check in and this also made me slightly upset 'cause we arrived Istanbul in the very early flight and I was hoping to rest. However, they did offer us a 2nd refreshments of orange juice at their terrace restaurant...and since their terrace offers a nice relaxing view of the sea & of the Blue Mosque dome, I was easily appeased & relaxed. One other thing I really find endearing about this hotel is their dainty table linens, kinda bring back the old fashion memories of how it really should be. Added to that is their friendly friendly staff. Mind you, it's not just one personnel or 2, it's more like most of them (if not all), and offers of tea while I'm just lingering/waiting in the lobby (morning & late afternoon in 2 consecutive days) is simply a lovely touch! So overall, I can find myself staying in this hotel again, provided and hopefully they junk the idea of false trappings of wrong presentation. Afterall, their proximity to Istanbul's historical landmarks is just a stroll away! Thank you & best of luck to all Byzantium staff!

Room Tip: Be specific when you're booking your hotel & especially be specific with your room request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorinaAM, Guest Relations Manager at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Joanart6
I want to thank you for choosing The Byzantium Hotel & Suit.Thank you very much for you time that you found tos hare this post regard with us.Thank you for your photos too.I wish to see you again and will be pleasure to host you again and to be part of our big Family.
We would appreciate hearing more about your experience and please do not hesitate to contact me directly :
guestrelations@thebyzantiumhotel.com
Best Regards
Dorina Akın

Guest Relation Manager
The Byzantium Hotel & Su
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went here for a couple of nights with our friends . When we arrived it's nothing like the picture but we were welcomed and they offered us some Turkish delight i declined as I don't like Turkish delight and was told to take it as I was being rude !!!!
They showed us to our rooms ours was nothing as grand as the ones in the picture no windows to open and very small , our friends were down in the basement very dark and dingy .we never put anything on a tab which we are glad of as the two times we did have a bill they over charged us for things that we never had .the breakfast was just ok , if I went back to Istanbul I would go to another hotel one that made us welcome.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorinaAM, Guest Relations Manager at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Heather R
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We are so sorry to receive this review because we do not accept this accusation.We absolutely can garanti you that, no one can charge you more than you have spent or use each of our servise that are under the paymen.
Reguard the room ,has to do with type of room you have done the reservation.For this you should not blam e hotel.
İs not profesional from your part to acuse the hotel .
We hope that this will clarify everything.
Please be assured that your comments had been already forwarded to the related departments .We hope to welcome you, back to our hotel very soon!

Best regards,
guestrelations@thebyzantiumhotel.com
Best Regards
Dorina Akın
Guest Relation Manager
The Byzantium Hotel & Suit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nicely located hotel, close to main tourist attractions, good staff very friendly and obliging. At night some street noise which is to be expected being close proximity of cafes and restaurants, room of the side road facing Bahaus Hostel was noisy due to patrons sitting outside talking and smoking. Byzantium roof restaurant was very good, fully enclosed with great views, food good. Breakfast was good, would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorinaAM, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Rob and Denisa

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay .It is a great pleasure to read ,that you enjoyed your time with us and loved the, location as well as the staff.
We look forward to being your host again during your next trips to Istanbul.

Best regards

We hope you come back and visit us again very soon...
guestrelations@thebyzantiumhotel.com
Best Regards
Dorina Akın
Guest Relation Manager
The Byzantium Hotel & Suit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great team . very clean and very polite personal . very near of main museum . lovely holiday . rich breakfast . I will be back again . amazing view from the bar in roof .rooms very clean . very helpful team.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorinaAM, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Lamhi !

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review regarding your stay in September. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your overall experience and found the staff very polite and helpful. As we always say, our people are our biggest asset at The Byzantium hotel & suit.
We would appreciate hearing more about your experience and please do not hesitate to contact me directly :
guestrelations@thebyzantiumhotel.com
Best Regards
Dorina Akın
Guest Relation Manager
The Byzantium Hotel & Suit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Byzantium Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byzantium Hotel & Suites

Address: Cankurtaran Avenue Akbiyik Street Number: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#73 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#118 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#121 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Byzantium Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Byzantium Hotel is within walking distance to Topkapi Palace, St.Sophia, Blue Mosque, Hippodromme, Underground Cistern, Grand Covered Bazaar and many more historical sights. The terrace restaurant offers a breathtaking panoramic view of Istanbul. You will find a second home in Istanbul with The Byzantium Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Byzantium Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Byzantium Hotel And Suites
The Byzantium Hotel Istanbul
Byzantium Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.