We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Byzantium Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Byzantium Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cankurtaran Avenue Akbiyik Street Number: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 924 Hotels in Istanbul
London, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here on Friday 25th August we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful our room it's self was absolutely lovely and we'll worth the money I would definitely stay here again.thanks to all staff but special thanks to Esra.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenizNur, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Belgin O!

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay in 25 August. It is a great pleasure to read ,that you enjoyed your time with us and loved the room, location as well as the staff.

We look forward to being your host again during your next trips to Istanbul.

Best regards,Our vision is to creat our guest comfor ,satisfaction,confidentiality, safe and security responsabilities,the continuous improvement of service and quality.


We hope you come back and visit us again very soon...
Best Regards
Dorina Akın
Guest Relation Manager
The Byzantium Hotel & Suit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    80
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
59
82
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly, Staff were amazing. Every single staff member was friendly and helpful. The front desk staff, spa centre, kitchen staff, housekeeping staff and the terrace restaurant staff made the whole experience very enjoyable and defiantly would be the reason for our return. Accommodations were quite luxurious as we had the sea view and a balcony. Room and hotel itself was very clean. Breakfast which was included was delicious with a wide variety of options and staff once again provided excellent service. Location was perfect and 10 min walk away from blue mosque and hagia sofia in Sultanahmet. When we travel back to Istanbul we will only book at this location!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenizNur, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear JBTraveller B

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay . You made us blush with your kind words. I've shared your review with the rest of the team as there can be no greater motivator than our guests' comments. Our vision is to creat our guest comfor ,satisfaction,confidentiality, safe and security responsabilities,the continuous improvement of service and quality.


We hope you come back and visit us again very soon...
guestrelations@thebyzantiumhotel.com.
Best Regards
Dorina Akın
Guest Relation Manager
The Byzantium Hotel & Suit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'll probably stay here again because of the excellent location in the old part of Istanbul with close access to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace and the Hippodrome.

The rooms were modest (stayed twice) and the service was quirky - staff offered to do things then didn't then shrugged shoulders when queried. Once we arrived in a room and the bins were full of the previous customers rubbish - no apology. Wifi is important now and they do offer it free. It is generall very poor - either unusable or slow or drops out. Upon waiting 24 hours for this to be repaired, their technician arrived and pulled the power cord out of the modem then put it back in and drove off advising to call him again if needed.

I found that wifi worked in the foyer so limited use to there.

Breakfast was excellent - service exceptional and food clean, healthy and plentiful.

A lady who seemed to have some responsibility attended breakfast most days and asked for feedback and was really helpful and followed up everything we queried. Refreshing.

Drinks on the rooftop is certainly a highlight. Sitting under the sky with great views of nearby Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and the Bosphorus and a memory I will keep. Food in the restaurant was good and reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenizNur, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Michael Bo!

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your experience at The Byzantium Hotel & suit. I'm very sorry to read about the incident that has happen during your stay in our hotel.İn name of all The Byzantium team ,I want to express our apology about this incident. hearing more about your experience and please do not hesitate to contact me directly at guestrelations@thebyzantiumhotel.com.
Best Regards
Dorina Akın
Guest Relation Manager
The Byzantium Hotel & Suit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here four nights and it is a great base to explore the city. The location is excellent, the staff were incredibly warm and helpful in helping you make plans (especially Dorina of guest relations) and the accommodations are comfortable, clean and quiet. Breakfasts were nicely done with lots of authentic Turkish cuisine and a few European/American choices. If you have time but are unable to get to one of the historic Turkish baths in the city, treat yourself to one in the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room high up for either a view of the water or of the old city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenizNur, Guest Relations Manager at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

We as The Byzantium Hotel Team like to thank you very much for your preciouse time that you spend to write your review in our tripadvisor.we are really grateful to you that you choose us .

It was also a great pleasure for us.! We will like to host you again and your friends too. Stay with us! Experience all of Istanbul, ancient and modern.to explore and touch together the beauty and ancien,history and tradion of this beautiful country.
Anyway it was pleaser for us,that you choose our hotel and our team to pass your holiday and enjoy your holiday with us.
Our vision is to creat our guest comfor ,satisfaction,confidentiality, safe and security responsabilities,the continuous improvement of service quality.
We will be always here for you to answer your question and to help you. To help you to touch the story and the traditional of this ancien and beautiful city.


Best Regards

In Behalf Of The Byzantium Hotel&Suites Team


Guest Relations Manager
Dorina Akın
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Byzantium for 5 nights in September. The morning breakfast buffet is huge and provides a wide range of local foods. I've never seen so many cable TV channels before -- hundreds of stations from around the world. The location is minutes away from both the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia Mosque, both of which are visible from the rooftop restaurant. The restaurant on the roof was good, as was its service. You can also walk to the Grand Bazaar from the Byzantium. Access to the Tram which takes you down to the water is a few blocks past the mosques. Staff were friendly and helpful. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenizNur, Guest Relations Manager at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

We as The Byzantium Hotel Team like to thank you very much for your time spending to write such a beautiful review in our tripadvisor.we are really grateful to you that you choose us .

It was also a great pleasure for us. To hosted and make you feel home! We will like to host you again and your friends too. Stay with us! Experience all of Istanbul, ancient and modern, right where you live, and just o utside our door.
Our vision is to creat our guest comfor ,satisfaction,confidentiality, safe and security responsabilities,the continuous improvement of service quality.
We will be always here for you to answer your question and to help you for all your casual incident that mind happen .

Best Regards

In Behalf Of The Byzantium Hotel&Suites Team


Guest Relations Manager
Dorina Akın
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to this hotel in August and stayed for 4 days. We had an annex room in the side road , not the best view but the hotel was very clean. The location is very good, right in the middle of all good tourist sites. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was good too. We had a meal on the roof restaurant and the view was fantastic, the meal was good a reasonable value and the waiter made it enjoyable by serving us with lots of smile and fun. On the last day, we got to know the owner of the hotel, he was a charming man and very hospitable . We have promised to see them again when we go back to Istanbul . MOTESHAKER :-)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenizNur, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

We as The Byzantium Hotel Team like to thank you very much for your time spending to write such a beautiful review here on tripadvisor.

It was also a great pleasure for us. To hosted and make you feel home! We will like to host you again and your friends too.
Our vision is to creat our guest comfor ,satisfaction,confidentiality, safe and security responsabilities,the continuous improvement of service quality.

Best Regards

In Behalf Of The Byzantium Hotel&Suites Team


Guest Relations Manager
Dorina Akın
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I want to all of employment at the Byzantium hotel,to say thank you .a Guest relation Dorina ,she is very helpful and professional in her job.Birol and hanifi thank you very much too.and please the cleaning lady should talk more quite in the morning than loudy.If I come back again àI will choose the Byzantium hotel again.thank you all....breakfeast was exellent has everything.

Room Tip: choose alwas superior double ...is the best choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenizNur, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

We as The Byzantium Hotel Team like to thank you very much for your time spending to write such a beautiful review here on tripadvisor.

It was also a great pleasure for us. To hosted and make you feel home! We will like to host you again and your friends too.
Our vision is to creat our guest comfor ,satisfaction,confidentiality, safe and security responsabilities,the continuous improvement of service quality.

Best Regards

In Behalf Of The Byzantium Hotel&Suites Team


Guest Relations Manager
Dorina Akın
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Byzantium Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byzantium Hotel & Suites

Address: Cankurtaran Avenue Akbiyik Street Number: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#74 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#113 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#129 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#208 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Byzantium Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Byzantium Hotel is within walking distance to Topkapi Palace, St.Sophia, Blue Mosque, Hippodromme, Underground Cistern, Grand Covered Bazaar and many more historical sights. The terrace restaurant offers a breathtaking panoramic view of Istanbul. You will find a second home in Istanbul with The Byzantium Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Byzantium Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Byzantium Hotel And Suites
The Byzantium Hotel Istanbul
Byzantium Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.