We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hospitality is wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Byzantium Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added The Byzantium Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cankurtaran Avenue Akbiyik Street Number: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 917 hotels in Istanbul
1 review
“The hospitality is wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Mr; birol speaking was very interesting(^^)ρ(^^)ノ!!
And When I was tired and was in the lobby, the young boy gave tea and a cookie and was healed very much.
Uncle of the cafe which worked on 30th treated you to Turkish coffee and was kind And Friendly!
To all of you who worked at about 18:00 of 30th with thanks
It was a very wonderful hotel.
The hospitality is wonderful, too

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    72
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
55
74
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgetown, Barbados
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I are from the Caribbean (Barbados and Jamaica) but live in Barbados, We arrived at the Byzantium after almost a full 24 hours of travel. We were met in the lobby by the staff including Esra who we had read about and have to say we agree. She is outstanding in her approach to service. She is knowledgeable, had great recommendations and more than anything responded eagerly when asked for assistance. The location is unbeatable and all the wait staff in the restaurant were wonderful. We were invited and encouraged to try local foods with pride and confidence. There is so much I enjoyed but the relaxed atmosphere, great restaurants nearby, and of course proximity to the palace, Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. Met some lovely ASK ME kids and got them to sing Rihanna's songs. Music is a truly universal language. Great shopping, wonderful dinner show and super people. Lots of great lessons in how to manage a tourism based economy but still keep your culture and integrate the two. I loved the frequent sound of the call to prayer from the Blue Mosque keeping you covered wherever you went. We went to the dinner show and were given the best seats in the house because we were from the Byzantium and were Esra's people we were told. So many memories we have shared with friends and tons of pics. Some say they feel that they have been through us some have added it to their list of far flung places to visit..

Room Tip: We asked for one that was quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a lovely hotel. 5 mins walk from blue mosque and Hagia Sophia. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The only things that I didn't like was slow wifi and air con not great although I would stay here again. Great choice at breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed there 2 days from 20 till 22 July 2014 and we were completely satisfied. The only thing that bothered me was the unacceptable demand in front of all the guests on paying extra 2 euros for my Turkish coffeee I ordered in the breakfast room , from the Maitre. I can accept that this is a hotel's policy but I was embarrassed fby his demand in front of all the guestd ,like I was a theft.
Ersa, the lady who was resposnible for the guests is very friendly and informative but the Albanian lady in the reception desk needs to be more smily and welcoming. All in all, we enjoyed our stay there and we had a wonderful time in Istanbul

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hello

I am MME PEDUSSELLE,

I really want to thank in the name of my husband and me all the staff.
ESRA and BILLO i hope the names are right...
you were very nice with us .
Also the blond girls who let me print out my ticket was very nice.
Breakfast is good .
The location is exellent.
Rooms are a little small but it is ok they are confortable .

Thank to all of you
Bye

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in The Byzantium Hotel in August 2014 on our first trip to Turkey. Coming from Canada and experiencing other European hotels The Byzantium was spacious! It was clean, well kept, and the staff were friendly. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel as though we were the most important people for the staff to deal with. A hotel we will stay in the next time we are in Istanbul!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esra Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your review and it is very nice and important for me to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Such comments motivate us more than anything and show us we are on the right path.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards,
In Behalf Of The Byzantium Hotel&Suites

Esra Yaşar
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights and I have only good words to say. Our room was very well equipped and clean. It was overlooking Bosporus. The staff was friendly and especially the receptionist Dorina was all the time available to give information about the sites. Breakfast was ok but I would prefer more selection of sweets instead. Overall a very good choice given it's central location.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view to Bosporus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esra Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest;

It will not only be a pleasure, also an honor for us to host you again at The Byzantium Hotel.

We are overwhelmed by your kind review which flows out straight from your heart. All our staffs join me to thank you for the same.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards,
In Behalf Of The Byzantium Hotel&Suites

Esra Yaşar
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Byzantium Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byzantium Hotel & Suites

Address: Cankurtaran Avenue Akbiyik Street Number: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#76 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#125 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#153 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#202 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Byzantium Hotel & Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Byzantium Hotel is within walking distance to Topkapi Palace, St.Sophia, Blue Mosque, Hippodromme, Underground Cistern, Grand Covered Bazaar and many more historical sights. The terrace restaurant offers a breathtaking panoramic view of Istanbul. You will find a second home in Istanbul with The Byzantium Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Byzantium Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Byzantium Hotel And Suites
The Byzantium Hotel Istanbul
Byzantium Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.