We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Central Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Byzantium Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added The Byzantium Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cankurtaran Avenue Akbiyik Street Number: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 901 hotels in Istanbul
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Central Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the hotel for a weekend break and found it perfectly located for the main attractions in the old city in Istanbul, just minutes walk from the Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and many other attractions. The breakfast buffet was extensive and the bread to die for. The staff were very helpful. When we arrived our room was not available so we were upgraded to a suite for one night and then moved to an executive room for the remainder of our stay. It was my birthday while eye were there and the staff noticed this when we checked in and I was given a complimentary spa treatment as a gift. A very good experience all round.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    57
    20
    3
    5
See reviews for
48
59
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If you are in Istanbul for a few days, intending to see Topkapi, the Mosques and Grand Bazaar, then you really couldn't do better. It's really close to all of these, in a safe area, surrounded by many good eateries. The hotel also arranged for us to be collected from the airport.

The rooms are quite small though, as others have said, and when we first arrived, we weren't happy with our room. We are two middle aged ladies travelling together, and had specified a twin room. We were given a triple room, so there was one ginormous bed and one tiny single! The hotel was very quick to accommodate our change though and they had wanted us to have a sea view. However our new room was great, if petite, but perfectly fine. It could do with some drawers as all we had was one small wardrobe and one side table (room 301). We had a street view room, but it really wasn't noisy..

The best thing about his hotel is the rooftop terrace. It has the most wonderful 270 degree view of the sea, and with the Blue Mosque right there to. It was fabulous. The food is good too,and Irfan the Head Waiter is very attentive.

Breakfasts were excellent, with a wide selection of hot and cold food. Very helpful staff always ready to assist. Small disappointment that the fruit juice isn't fresh and is too sweet. Again though, a small complaint.

We had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel was a good stay. Location was very good regarding it's distance to the main attractions of the old city, Blue Mosque, Topkapi palace, Sophia Hagia, cistern basilliica etc.... Are all walking distance.
The hotel rooms are not that big but I think that is to do with old city itself as they can't make much changes to hotels there. The breakfast was nice, it has a terrace restaurant. Staff is very friendly. To be honest don't expect too much from the hotels in the old city, because compared to other countries hotels I have stayed in better 3 stars, but this hotel is nice compared to a lot of hotel in the area. Note we stayed as a group of 9, booked 3 triple rooms, 2 rooms were on the bottom underground floor, does get bit noisy if window is open. Gym just had 2 or 3 excercise machines. The spa was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We thought this would be a fantastic Hotel, according to location and appearance in the web site. Big mistake. Location is good: in the middle of a live street with plenty of restaurants and bars. The flip side: difficult to sleep at night due to the noise from those places. We had a big issue with the reception due to an error in the allocation of our room, as we booked a "Premium Double" and were given a "Family room". The result: they squeeze 4 persons into two micro-size rooms and keep the other rooms for other customers. It was funny to find the inconsistency between different recepcionists when you asked the same thing to different people! It was the proof of their lies, definitely. Staff in general was OK (not terrific, just OK). Breakfast was average, and bottom-line: do not go there.

Room Tip: Never accept a room facing to the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Kadir manages the best spa.

small, intimate with easy access to shops and restaurants.

Value for money packages, suiting everybody.

I was impressed by the services level.

Very clean Spa, great hamam.

On this occasion I did not stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: I did not stay at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esra Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, today
Dear Guest;

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. It will be our pleasure to be hosts you again in the future.

Best regards,

In Behalf Of The Byzantium Hotel&Suites Team

Esra Yaşar
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went in a large group thinking it would be a comfortable experience as per reviews but were shocked to see the condition of the rooms. Whatever you do, never ever take the 01 and 02 series of rooms. We were given the most horrible room 402 inspite of paying for standard sea view.
It just looked like a dormatory, youth hostel sort with just a thin cardboard separation from room 401. The separation was such that the cigarette smoke was coming in our room from 401. People living in that room were watching football with loud cheers at night where we wanted to sleep. At midnight our room was brightly lit, thanks to 401 neighbours.
I kept calling the reception the whole night but of no help.
They did change the room after two days but there was absolutely no compensation for those terrible two nights. Its situated on a very beautiful street showing true essence of turkey , but because of the hotel, i wanted to run back to UK.

The breakfast was less than mediocre.
Overall my worst ever experience, thankfully our next hotel in Antalya was simply amazing so that was some relief.

My sincere advice to readers, do not go there, i have so much worse and brutally honest revs to write about Byzantium but its just not worth wasting my time.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We, a family of 4, stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in late April on our first ever trip to Turkey. I booked this hotel based on the reviews, its location and the pictures on this site. And yes, it is located very close to the Blue Mosque and Ayasophya and the view from the roof-top restaurant is splendid. However, the hotel seems way more luxurious in the pictures than it actually is and the family room we rented was not as spacious as we expected. But our biggest disappointment came shortly after we checked in around 3PM. Although it was pleasant outside in late April, the room felt very hot and stuffy, so I turned the Air Conditioner on and wanted to take a quick nap as we were jet-lagged from our long overnight flight . Instead of cool air, the vents started blowing hot air in the room. First, they tried to argue with me that the air coming out of the vent is cold and later admitted that they do not have Air Condition because it was still too early in the season and everything was centrally-controlled, no individual control for the rooms. I asked for a small fan and they said they didn't have any. This whole incident and their dishonest/ unapologetic attitude put us off so much that we wanted to check out right then but we were just too tired to do that. Besides, that would have wasted a lot of our time to find another hotel and move. So we decided to stay and keep the door to a small balcony open just to let some air in. But that caused all the noise from the busy street come right inside our room for almost all night and hence a very unpleasant 1st night in Istanbul. The 2nd night was even worse because as I was opening the balcony door, the whole door with its frame started coming out of the wall. So we had to keep it shut which helped the noise situation but made the room very suffocating. And I must tell you that this is by far the worst hotel experience we've had in all our Europe trips! Not expected at all from this so-called 4 star hotel. The only reason I gave it a 2* is because of its extensive breakfast buffet that we all enjoyed. Readers, please avoid this hotel as there are many more with excellent service and better value than this one as we found out later.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street could be very noisy all night, I mean all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Byzantium Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byzantium Hotel & Suites

Address: Cankurtaran Avenue Akbiyik Street Number: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#80 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#133 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#183 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#200 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Byzantium Hotel & Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Byzantium Hotel is within walking distance to Topkapi Palace, St.Sophia, Blue Mosque, Hippodromme, Underground Cistern, Grand Covered Bazaar and many more historical sights. The terrace restaurant offers a breathtaking panoramic view of Istanbul. You will find a second home in Istanbul with The Byzantium Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Byzantium Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Byzantium Hotel And Suites
The Byzantium Hotel Istanbul
Byzantium Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.