We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Nice hotel to stay”” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Byzantium Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Byzantium Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cankurtaran Avenue Akbiyik Street Number: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #149 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oslo, Norway
1 review
““Nice hotel to stay””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

First we have to thanks the peoples who work in this hotel sow much. They all was real nice peoples. Exelent service, the food was exelent and this hotel give you a good feeling, all was clean.
From the nice restaurant on the top you have a fabulous view, you will see the Bosphoru canal and Marmara sea, and on the other side you will see The Blue Mosque and Aya Sophia Mosque.
Thanks again for a wonderful experience.
Gunhild & Per. Norway

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenizNur, Satış Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment and feedback regarding your recent visit to our property. We are really thrilled to hear that you enjoyed with our accommodations and services. Once again, please accept our sincere appreciation for your kind feedback and recommendations. We hope that we will have opportunity to welcome and serve you again in the near future.

Your Sincerely,

Deniz Nur ALÇAY
Sales & Marketing Executive Asistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    126
    28
    7
    7
See reviews for
87
131
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 5 days in the comfort of my own home and i really like the food at the hotel restaurant was quite satisfied the hotel is located in the historic Sultan Ahmed is the best advantage for choosing this hotel many thanks for all hotel staff was really great service.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenizNur, Satış Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor portal.

It is always nice to receive a positive review on our hotel and this will be shared with our team.
We are happy you enjoyed our restaurant ,the area and staff
We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you, your family and friends back in the future.

Once again Thank you and we look forward welcoming you soon.

Kindest Regards,

Deniz Nur ALÇAY
Sales & Marketing Executive Asistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Sure a very excellent hotel,nice location at the heart of sultanahmet not far from the bleue mosque, aya sofia u can enjoy all tis from the terrace where u can take your breakfast with a view on the Bosphore
-As a family the proposed to us a parental suite,ery comfortable with children
-Excellent team in te reception especially my lovely CEYLAN, also NIYAN (sorry if i forget the nama),also SHAHINE he was always here for us to help for children thank you.
-We can't forget the breakfast with the beautiful view on Bosphore or the blue mosque ,here we say thank u tu ZAKI ,AHMED
Anice hotel surely we return next year with our friends

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenizNur, Satış Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking your time to leave a feedback about your stay with us.
It is great to know that we could offer you various services and you enjoyed them during your stay with us. Also, thank you for your comments about our team We strive to offer high quality services for our valued guests with all our team and it is pleasing to know that we are close enough to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

We hope to host you at The Byzantium Hotel soon again,

Deniz Nur ALÇAY
Sales & Marketing Executive Asistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

It was a very good 3 days at this hotel , they have a good location , nice staff especially Ceylan she was helpful and smilly all the time , also they have a good view to blue mousqe and so the sea from the roof.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool. Choose a room which is located on the right . its much bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esra Y, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest;

It will not only be a pleasure, also an honor for us to host you again at The Byzantium Hotel.

We are overwhelmed by your kind review which flows out straight from your heart. All our staffs join me to thank you for the same.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
In Behalf Of The Byzantium Hotel&Suites

Esra Yaşar
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We couldn't believe our luck when we saw where this lovely hotel was located, just round the corner from the Blue Mosque & Hagia Sofia and just a short walk to The Grand Bazaar. There are many bars and restaurants in the same road if you don't want to venture very far one night. The staff were very friendly and always cheerful. The room was clean and comfy, (not that we spent a lot of time in it as there is so much to see in Istanbul). The breakfast was good, hot and cold food buffet style. Easy access to shops, trams and an abundance of places to get a bite to eat. Was sad to leave, absolutely loved Istanbul.

Room Tip: Higher floors would have less street noise from the many bars and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenizNur, Satış Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest

May I thank you for choosing to stay at The Byzantium Hotel and for the time that you have taken to share your feedback with us.

I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back in the future.

King Regards,

Deniz Nur ALÇAY
Sales & Marketing Executive Asistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 5 days in the comfort of my own home and i really like the food at the hotel restaurant was quite satisfied the hotel is located in the historic Sultan Ahmed is the best advantage for choosing this hotel many thanks for all hotel staff was really great service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenizNur, Satış Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest

May I thank you for choosing to stay at The Byzantium Hotel and for the time that you have taken to share your feedback with us.

I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back in the future.

King Regards,

Deniz Nur ALÇAY
Sales & Marketing Executive Asistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed in the Byzantium for 4 days and I am impressed. We went there without reservation and stayed with a cheap price. The rooms are well appointed, clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly, helpful and available all time.

Breakfast is served in the hotel's restaurant, and has something for most tastes, from traditional Turkish delicious. If it were in terrace, could be great with gorgeous view of terrace. I insist to management to give the breakfast in the terrace but they told me they need time to arrange all organization. Hope it happens soon.

The only significant negative points were the thin walls through which you could hear every noise, but having read reviews of other hotels in the area this seems like a common problem and is more than compensated for by the overall quality of the hotel and convenient.

I will certainly visit Istanbul next time, I could stay at this hotel again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenizNur, Satış Müdürü at The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us for your stay and sharing your reviews regarding your recent stay with us.

And we believe that reading your review will be helpful for our future guests, too.

We would love to welcome you again with a pleasure.Thank you!

Deniz Nur ALÇAY
Sales & Marketing Executive Asistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Byzantium Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byzantium Hotel & Suites

Address: Cankurtaran Avenue Akbiyik Street Number: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#95 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#110 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#117 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#145 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Byzantium Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Byzantium Hotel is within walking distance to Topkapi Palace, St.Sophia, Blue Mosque, Hippodromme, Underground Cistern, Grand Covered Bazaar and many more historical sights. The terrace restaurant offers a breathtaking panoramic view of Istanbul. You will find a second home in Istanbul with The Byzantium Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Byzantium Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Byzantium Hotel And Suites
The Byzantium Hotel Istanbul
Byzantium Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Byzantium Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.