We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very agreeable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kupeli Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kupeli Hotel to your Saves list
Kupeli Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eminsinan Mah.Gedikpasa Hamam Cad. No 4 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #280 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Algiers, Alger, Algeria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very agreeable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

the hotel is situated in the heart of Sultanahmet old city. the rooms are smaller than they appear but they are clean with all the comfort necessary to spend some days.The hotel is not far from the tram. we can go to many important sites such as The Blue Mosque or Sainte Sophia on foot as well as to the Bazar.The breakfast is made of a lot of varieties from salty to sweety aliments. The staff is wonderful. Special thanks to Kemal, to Ozgur, to Emrak, to Atillah and to Selim.They are real professionals.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    110
    29
    13
    16
See reviews for
72
94
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I'd chosen Kupeli Hotel based on the reviews of other TripAdvisor users and I don't regret my decision. It's in the perfect location, in the middle of the Old City of Istanbul, 5-10 mins walking distance of major tourist attractions. The tram stop is also only 2 mins away. So yeah, location-wise it couldn't get any better.
Our room was a little small (and in general I'd say this hotel is more of a 3+ star than 4), but was clean and also very quiet, which is a bonus in Istanbul. The breakfast was also a 3 star experience, but sufficient enough for starting off the day.
On the other hand the staff were just amazing! Especially Ozgur, Atilla and Kemal, who all spoke very good English. We actually spent our last night drinking tea, smoking and chatting with the latter two and a few other guests until very late.
And it is the staff who made me rate this hotel 5/5, instead of the 4/5 it should really get. All in all a great place to stay at, if you're going to Istanbul for the experience rather than the view from your hotel window or the size of the TV screen in your room...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Location is perfect. Rooms are OK, food is OK. Generally, is a 3 star hotel. I would definetly recommend it for pleasure trip and visiting Istanbul. Most of the attractions are walking distance : Hagia Sophia, Blue Mossque and Grand Bazaar only 5-10 minutes walking...
It was third year when I stayed at this hotel. Value for money !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Other TA members have written at length about Kupeli's great location, and I fully agree. Kupeli is sandwiched between two other hotels; indeed, there are quite a few hotels with various star rating nearby. Therefore location alone doesn’t earn Kupeli the rating I have given it (4 out of 5).

Kupeli's staff all tried to be as helpful as possible during my stay there. Ozgul ,Atilla, Kemal, Turgay and Emrah were very kind and considerate. (Atilla and Ozgul speak English really well)

Even though I did not get the rooms I had requested well in advance, (i.e. 2 doubles on 5th floor), I was moderately happy with the 2 I got on 4th floor (the twin was of a good size and had street view and the double was really very small and had views of a wall!)

Staff was quite kind and accommodating especially to my parents, for whom I had booked the 2nd room. I really appreciated this.

Breakfast was rather acceptable, not of a 4* standards in my view (sometimes no cooked nor heated options were available) but acceptable nevertheless.

In my opinion, what sets Kupeli aside is its price band. Quite affordable compared to other 4* hotels nearby.

in short, I think it might be more fare to the hotel and potential guests if Kupeli was described as a really excellent 3 star, as opposed to a slightly disappointing 4* accommodation.

Kupeli hotel does not have a swimming pool nor a fitness centre, (so I have not rated it on these grounds below)

Room Tip: Avoid room 401 as it is incredibly small...the double bed takes up almost all of the space and leave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Great location, very close to all the main attractions in Sultanhmet but also in a quiet side street so you avoid the hustle and bustle. A lot of great restaurant choices within a 2-3 minute walk. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was a bit tiny but still servicable and clean. All up though I enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

This hotel has everything you want for a short break to Istanbul. All of the staff where extremely polite and helpful and always kept their promise to sort out any small problem that occurred straight away, eg. our safe wouldn't work and the shower was difficult to adjust, there was always the offer of complimentary coffee or tea as you waited for a taxi or shuttle bus.
Breakfast was enjoyable on the rooftop breakfast room and all you required for a days sightseeing, and I have to repeat the location was great for walking to all the main attractions and very near to the tram for going further.
We stayed in a back room on the 5th floor and although the view wasn't good it was very quiet, clean and had plenty of storage space with a lovely new modern bathroom, and I don't think in many streets in the city you would get a view. It was also easy to walk up to the small rooftop area to relax after a hectic day before going out for a meal.
If you want to see all the main attractions in Istanbul you need to be off early as the queues really build up as the day progresses and you need to check days they shut. A boat trip on the Bosphorus is worth it but not the one that includes the cable car , the view isn't worth it and the cable car very, very short.
Istanbul is always very busy and getting from /to the airports can be longer than you think, especially the one on the Asian side that Easyjet/Pegasus use, it's a good idea to use the shuttle taxis which the hotel can book for you, as an individual taxi can be expensive.Also be ready with your £10 visa money when you enter.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casalecchio di Reno, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I spent five days in Istanbul and I stayed at Kupeli Hotel.
I found it very nice and also Ozguk and his staff are really very kind and helpful.
The rooms are small, but always very clean and neat. The position of the hotel is very close to all the most important sightseeing of Istanbul Old City. Furthermore the transport line T1 is very close to the hotel.
From and to the airport I suggest to take the T1 line at Cemberlitas station and change at Yusufpasa to take the M1 line until the airport (it takes 45 mins). it's the fastest way to reach the hotel or the airport, since in Istabul the road traffic is a mess at every hour of the day and of the night!!!
So I highly reccomend to stay in this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kupeli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kupeli Hotel

Address: Eminsinan Mah.Gedikpasa Hamam Cad. No 4 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#157 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#190 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#221 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kupeli Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Kupeli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kupeli Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kupeli Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.