We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent traditional Turkish delight .. Good price..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Namli Gurme

Namli Gurme
Rihtim Cad, Istanbul, Turkey
2936880
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #764 of 11,471 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent traditional Turkish delight .. Good price..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Located beside galata bridge.. This little pastry market/cafe is a delight! You'll find traditional, fresh and affordable Turkish delicatessen you can degustation with fresh tea in middle of locals.. We found it by chance and felt very lucky.. A must go for sure!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    68
    23
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“They don't deserve your business”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We've been travelling around the world for over five months in nine countries and this is the first bad review I've written about anything. We went to Namli Gurme Karakoy this morning to try to have brunch. Not knowing the routine, one of the waiters kindly explained that you go up to the counter and order what you want. We knew this might be challenging given the language barrier but in every other country we've been able to get by with smiles, mutual respect, a good sense of humour and generally pointing at things we want. Not so at Namli. My husband waited at the counter in line for almost 10 minutes. In that time, the servers behind the counter made a point of blatantly ignoring him, serving everyone except for him (all locals it seemed). When our waiter found out, you could tell he was upset and rather appalled. We naturally decided to leave and he asked us to tell our story to the woman at the cash register, obviously the manager or assistant manager on duty. She made it very clear that she could care less. There was no question in our minds that they had no interest in serving us because we are foreigners. We've had a few bad experiences in five months but we have never felt as degraded or upset as we were this morning. I give this place 1 star for the kind waiter who did seem to care. Otherwise, as a traveller, I highly recommend that you reconsider giving this establishment your business. They don't deserve it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not to miss Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I've learnt in Turkey Breakfasts are BIG and at Namli they know how to do breakfast - locals love it, which is a good sign!! Not too touristy, you'll eat enough to last you to dinner!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best grilled meat ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

It is a very unusual eatery in the Karakoy port - it resembles a luxury deli where you may get all sorts of cheeses and olives and traditional Turkish sweets and dried fruit and whatnot, but you can also get really good meal. The thing is to go to the counter and choose the available meat (which is on display in the cooler. Then you get a number and a waiter brings your order - it is a bit confusing for the first visit, but is not really complicated.
We ordered beef and chicken shish, it came in the matter of minutes served on two large wooden boards garnished with different sorts of excellent vegetables (cook's choice). Chicken was good, but beef was really excellent. So much so that we went back the next evening.
Service was accurate, very fast, restrooms are very modern, the place is huge, large tables also available.
Not many of the staff speak English, but they are kind and willing to help anyway.
Average price of a complete meal 15-20$.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great little gourmet deli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Works like a cafeteria in a really lovely neighborhood gourmet market. Food was terrific. All kinds of stewed and pickled veggies, olives, spreads and also fried meats. Nice place to sit down and delicious tea. Well stocked store too, even for some European treats.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Namli Gurme also viewed

Istanbul, Turkey
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Namli Gurme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Namli Gurme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.