We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great turkish restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacibaba Restaurant

Hacibaba Restaurant
IstIklal Caddesi,Beyoglu, Istanbul, Turkey (Beyoğlu)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #762 of 10,932 restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: $38 - $76
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet
Neighborhood: Beyoğlu
Ioannina, Greece
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great turkish restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Great traditional turkish cuisine, courteous service, nice terrace, turkish decor!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    13
    12
    5
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Below average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

the food too much fatty, too much oily, and the meze is terrible.
A turkish cantena. i will never go there

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good food and historic ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

From outside - the restaurant entrance is facing the ever crowded pedestrian zone and shopping strip only a minute away from Taksim Place - you wouldn't say that there migth be a jewel awaiting you in first floor: the walls in the dining room are decorated in an Ottoman, ancient way, the whole place seems to be time-warped here from some 250 years ago.
After the starters that are no different from what you usually get all over town, the waiters will come and present the different shish kebabs and meat balls and lamb or beef steaks in order for you to point at this and that and make your choice. The food is fresh and good but nothing really extra special.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“There are better places”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

the restaurant is in the main shopping street of the district. It was recommended by a collegue who lived in Istanbul and we thought the comments we read on this site were too negative, so we gave it a try. The place is mediocre, not particularly nice inside and it gives a bit the idea of an organized canteen.
Waiters are kind and nice, prices are not oo high if compared to Europe, but food is not worth. Starters are in a buffet, but none of the things we tried left a positive mark. There is a good choice of vegetables, but nothing compared to the usual starters paradise you have in Istambul. Main courses are average. Some of the Kebabs we ordered were not bad, but as said, average.
I would not recommend to go, unless you are in the district and do not want to take a taxi to go towards better places.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandroupoli, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious turkish dishes perfectly cooked.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

A nice and clean place to have your lunch or dinner, 2 mins walk from Taksim Square, delicious dishes, very good service, reasonable prices. It was not the first time that I visited this restaurant, but every time I find the dishes just perfect. I love this place.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hacibaba Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hacibaba Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacibaba Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.