We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“November stay in Gezi Bosphorus Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gezi Hotel Bosphorus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gezi Hotel Bosphorus to your Saves list
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mete Cad. No 34 | Taksim Square, Istanbul 34437, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #149 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“November stay in Gezi Bosphorus Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Two main reasons to choose this hotel:

1. Great location. It's just 1 minute walking distance from Taksim square. At the same time rooms are not looking at the square itself (which is quite noisy) so you it's rather quiet inside. You can easily take taxi or use local Taksim underground station to reach main places in Istanbul. So location is really great even compared to more expensive and famous Kempinsky Ciragan Palace.

2. Bosphorus view. I recommend to take 12th floor rooms - room size is comfortable and the main bonus is Bosphorus view which is breathtaking. We were living in 1203 and I believe it offers the best view among all rooms in this hotel. Also rooms on 12th floor have spacious terrace where you can have a coffee (each rooms has small coffee machine) enjoying Bosphorus view. At nights it was rather quite.

Among other positive moments:
- great breakfast
- friendly staff

Room Tip: 12th floor. More spacious rooms with great view. They worth additional money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEZIBOSPHORUS, Guest Relations Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest ,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. There is nothing better than getting great guest feedback. We are happy to hear that our hotel met your needs and expectations during your stay. Our location truly is one of the best, right in the middle of everything! We hope to welcome you back to Istanbul soon!
Sincerely,
Florentina Vladeanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    133
    29
    10
    2
See reviews for
57
157
19
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is a terrific hotel with a flare! The rooms are very small, but up-to-date stylish, and the beds offer the ultimate in comfort. The location is fantastic -- within walking distance of an array of interesting restaurants and the main street life scene. Bring a torch (flashlight). The 'mood lighting' was so dim I couldn't see a thing and consequently left an item in the room when I departed the hotel for the airport prior to dawn.

Fiorentina (Customer Relations Director) is a terrific asset to the hotel, and helped resolve and proactively solve all the questions/issues I had while staying. Levent makes the dining experience a delight with his wonderful smile and positive attitude; and Gerrit, was extremely helpful/resourceful, somehow managing to check me in when I was unable to do so on Turkish Airlines despite numerous online attempts. One of their younger-looking receptionist team members has an attitude, and in my humble opinion is not of the calibre of the other staff members. If you get him and he is unhelpful (like he was with me), ask for someone else to assist. When Gerritt (who was not working the desk) witnessed the situation, he immediately stepped in and made it right. Net, net, those not at the front desk may be able help you, bypassing a potentially unnecessarily negative situation.

I was very disappointed with the quality of the tour operator recommended by Gezi. I would advise vetting these yourself on TripAdvisor. This is a fringe amenity, but I depend upon the hotel to screen the vendors. My only city tour resulted in having one of the laziest tour guides I have had to date. While the Gezi is not responsible, I did expect their recommendation to result in the highest quality tour.

Room Tip: Seems they all are terrific offering spectacular views of the river/bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEZIBOSPHORUS, Guest Relations Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time in writing your review. We truly appreciate the positive feedback, and it's wonderful to hear accommodations and friendly service met your satisfaction.
However ,regarding our young colleague which was not very hepful ,we have spoken with him in question .He is not part of our team anymore ,as we aim to deliver the highest level of customer service to each of our guests throughout their stay and encourage our customers to come back year after year.Thank you very much for your feedback .
Again ,it was a big pleasure having you as a guest , and we hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again soon.
Best Regards :) ,
Florentina Vladeanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The views over the Bosphorus are incredible, the Gezi park right outside, the busy (night)life of Istiklal... The location is simply superb. Add to that very stylish design (not too opulent, quite minimalistic), nice restaurant w/ excellent breakfast, friendly staff (who were able to help me even to figure out the best running route from the hotel) and lovely rooms (with nice details like rain showers). This is definitely my future base for Istanbul trips.

Room Tip: Go for the Bosphorus view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEZIBOSPHORUS, Guest Relations Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for selecting our hotel for your visit to Istanbul. Thank you as well for taking time to write about your positive experience. I was proud to read that our staff member was helpfull . Our entire team works hard day-in and day-out and I cannot thank you enough for noticing their efforts Please know these comments will be posted for the entire team to read. Thanks again take care ! Best Regards , Florentina Vladeanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Hotel is very well situated to be able to travel to any point of view in Istanbul. Excellent maid service, concierge service (especially consierge boy, not a girl - she was too arrogant) and administrators! Sincerely thank you for perfect hospitality, although the staff was a bit disorganized))), but this deficiency was more than compensated. Perfect soundproofing. I highly reccomend this hotel and will come again. We were especially pleasantly surprised by the restaurant, compared with everyone else in the cirt. Insanely delicious and prepared with all the individual wishes.especially pleasantly surprised by the restaurant, compared with everyone else in this town. Insanely delicious and they prepared with all the individual wishes. We wish the team at success and satisfied customers. Greetings to you from Ukraine (we stayed in 607 and 707 rooms).

Room Tip: You do not need to take a room with a Bosphorous view - view of the Taksim square is no less interes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEZIBOSPHORUS, Guest Relations Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest ,
Thank you for selecting our hotel . We appreciate your comments and cannot thank you enough for sharing comments about your stay. So glad to hear everyone enjoyed our delicious breakfast.
Also we appreciate learning that the staff was excellent . It can be hard work and we cannot thank you enough for recognizing our efforts. Please know this review will be shared with the entire staff. Thanks again and be safe! Best Regards ,Florentina Vladeanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Great Stuff,great atmosphere and great place for sure i will come again, i like also the Taksim park a lot and Istiklal street and the bosphorous view, my honeymoon is perfect and the spicial arrangement for honeymooon was awsome

Room Tip: on bosphorus view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEZIBOSPHORUS, Guest Relations Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest ,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We are glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and it was our pleasure to make a small arrangement for you as honeymoon anniversary. Thanks again for your very nice review and we look forward to serving you in the future. Have a great day ! Florentina Vladeanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The hotel has a nice location overlooking Gezi Park - the only bit of green space we saw in Istanbul. It is also next to Taksim Square, which is right next to the main drag in New Town. The hotel was very nice, and the staff was very welcoming, though a bit disorganized.
I highly recommend the spa, as it was one of the best we have used. Also, the breakfast was delicious. The rooms were well-designed, and the bathrooms were very nice. Would recommend staying at this hotel, as a nice alternative to staying in Sultanahmet.

Room Tip: Though the bosphorous view sounds glamorous, the park view was actually quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEZIBOSPHORUS, Guest Relations Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks so much for your review. We love hearing about what our guests enjoyed at Gezi Hotel Bbosphorus, and it's extremely important for us to know about the things we can improve on. We will definitely look into the items you mentioned regarding our staff (i must mention most of them are new employed ,but they're improving day by day ) and are already looking forward to your next visit! Thank you again and i'm sending you all my regards .Florentina Vladeanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed at the Gezi for our honeymoon in Istanbul. This hotel is a hidden treasure near Taksim Square. It's directly opposite a park and is close to the shopping precinct at Istiklal st shopping. Our room is modern and clean. Big bathroom with toiletries that smell like tropical flowers. Staff is helpful and friendly and went the extra mile to make sure we enjoy our stay. We were greeted by Florentina at the concierge who, when found out that we were on our honeymoon, sent cake and wine to our room, much to our surprise and delight! Big thumbs up for customer service!

The only down side I would say about the hotel was the air ventilation. We could smell cigarette smoke from another room coming through the air vent, despite being a non smoking hotel. Since we were checking out the next day, we didn't change room but instead left our window open which had good airflow coming through.

Overall a very good hotel, would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEZIBOSPHORUS, Guest Relations Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
We're so happy that we helped make your vacation a greatone! We know that our guests deserve a break, and we are always happy to help in whatever way possible. Thanks so much for your review and again congratulations for your wedding . Hope to see you again very soon!
Best Regards ,Florentina Vladeanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gezi Hotel Bosphorus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gezi Hotel Bosphorus

Address: Mete Cad. No 34 | Taksim Square, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#37 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#84 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#84 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#119 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gezi Hotel Bosphorus 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at Taksim Square, right in the heart of Istanbul. Just steps away from the glamorous Bosphorus, Historic old town, shopping and business centers. We are one of the few certified Boutique hotels in Istanbul and a proud member of the DESIGN HOTELS CHAIN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Gezi Hotel Bosphorus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gezi Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.