We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bijou of a boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gezi Hotel Bosphorus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gezi Hotel Bosphorus to your Saves list
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mete Cad. No 34 | Taksim Square, Istanbul 34437, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 979 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A bijou of a boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was far less expensive than the Istanbul Hilton, the conference headquarters for our meetings. We are glad we stayed at this hotel. The decor (Oriental plush with a streamlined, modern simplicity), the comfort of the room, and the location are all wonderful. The Intercontinental is10 meters just across the street, and the walk to the Conference Center was under 10 minutes. It is extremely convenient public transportation. The breakfast buffet was excellent and varied with both local specialties and other fare such as smokes salmon, scrambled eggs an assortment of cheeses, fruits, etc.

The small-looking room I was initially shown would have been fine if traveling alone. However, since I was sharing with a friend, I was very relieved that, with some effort, the hotel staff found a slightly bigger room with a huge bathroom (no tub, alas, but a seat in the big marble shower). If you are itchy about small bathrooms you might want to check in with them in advance and/or book a slightly more expensive room. The room was so nicely laid out and the beds so comfortable that we never felt cramped in any way. The Molton Brown toiletries were very nice and replenished as needed.

Finally, I left a dress when packing. In less than as week it was found, packaged and has arrived at my home. This suggests a highly honest service staff.

In short, I would stay there again in a flash.

Room Tip: I doubt the Park side is noisy. However, consider asking for an upper floor. I am sure the the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEZIBOSPHORUS, Guest Relations Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest ,

Thank you so much for your generous review ! We really appreciate when we get good reviews and complements after putting much effort into each guest's stay. We look forward to serving you again in the future & also for you to enjoy some of our other locations around the Istanbul.
Kind Regards,
Florentina Vladeanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    149
    31
    11
    2
See reviews for
62
181
20
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were celebrating our 5th anniversary in this hotel. It was kind of a surprise to my wife. We both loved it. We had a room at the rooftop with balcony and ate privately by ordering room service. The food was very delicious, the staff nice and friendly. The room cute, tiny, with nice interior design. Even from the showers you had a great view at the city. We did not use the spa, so we cant rate it. Great breakfast and nice location actually. Next to Gezi Park, 2 min walk to Taksim metro.

To summarize in one word: chic.

Room Tip: We had the Rooftop room with balcony and view on Gezi Park. It was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEZIBOSPHORUS, Guest Relations Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

First of all we want to thank you for the time you take in write this review.We are grateful that your enjoyed your stay in our Hotel. We work every day to make happy our guests. We hope to see you next time, and remind you that you will find the best offer in our web site.Kind Regards ,
Florentina Vladeanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oman
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I liked my stay at the hotel very much,
Hotel: was clean, neat , very good location, just few meters from Gezi Parka and Taqsim square and Taqsim underground station.

Breakfast: was good ( need a little improvement in pastry side only) more fresh variety is required.

Room: are very comfortable, nice views and quite good variety of Satellite TV channels.

Staff: were maybe one of the most charming staff i have ever seen and really very helpful and friendly all the time.

I love my stay at the hotel and i would recommend to anyone travelling either for business or holiday or combination of the two just like me.


I would like to ask Hotel Managment to look at rooms rates and bring the price down a little.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEZIBOSPHORUS, Guest Relations Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed review. It is great to read so many nice words about our Hotel, our Staff and our service. Our pricing is comparable to similar properties in the area and we feel we provide good value given our central location and extensive facilities. We are so thankful that your stay in Gezi Hotel was great and we hope see you next time in Istanbul.
Best Regards,Florentina Vladeanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Gezi hotel is a nice hotel overall. We had a compact room that has a beautiful view overlooking the bosphorus. The beddings were really comfortable. The staff is helpful. Gezi hotel has a great location. It's close to Taksim square, Istiklal and Cihangir. The funicular and the trams take you to where ever you need to be (Sultanahmet or the Grand Bazaar for example). That being said I was very disappointed in the lack of hygiene and cleanliness of our rooms. When we arrived you could see fingerprints on the table and the doors (which kinda bothered me to be honest). The days after that the fingerprints didn't get cleaned nor did the stains on our toilet. This was a big problem for me and it is the main reason why I don't think I will be going back to Gezi hotel. Breakfast wasn't all that either. There was no Turkish bread and no good coffee...Both important to me. There was lots of choice, but nothing that made me look forward to breakfast (that coming from a person who always looks forward to having breakfast and doesn't ever leave her house without having had breakfast and a good cup of coffee, says a lot). The waiters however were fast and efficient. No complaints there. Another thing that made feel uncomfortable sometimes was that there were lots of women wearing burqas. Of course that's a personal thing. I just felt uneasy with the women covered up in black veils and not knowing who's under them...It creeped me out. And believe me, there were lots of them :) Interesting to experience though.

Room Tip: A higher rooms gives you a greater view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEZIBOSPHORUS, Guest Relations Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and letting us know your concerns. We appreciate the time you have taken to bring cleaning issue to our attention and we have to thank you as , after sending us your full name ,we were able to investigate who inspected your room at the time of your stay with us and we have spoken with the employee in question. We have instructed our Housekeeping Manager and kindly note that we took action and we hope you will give us a chance to see our "real"level of quality . Your satisfaction is our priority so, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience that you suffered. We know that a beautiful day is often supported by a sufficient breakfast. Therefore we do our best to serve our guests a rich and diverse breakfast together with the will to keep up the high quality of our food. Our coffee is normally made on the spot, with high quality fresh ground beans . We store our coffee grounds in an air tight jar, and place it away from direct sunlight and heat to ensure freshness and good results.We do apologise we did not meet your expectation.Regarding the bread ,we normally offer a wide selection of grain and rye , oat and bran organic bread as we would like to offer healthy bread choices , and if the guests asking we do have certainly white bread as well .If we would have know your whishes for white bread ,for sure we would have serve it to you . Your suggestion on having Turkish white bread to breakfast is very valid and the restaurant offers it currently.Thank you for your useful remarks.. With the hope that you will grant us the opportunity to prove there are better experiences to have with us, we really hope you will give us a second chance to cut a better figure.
Best Regards,
Florentina Vladeanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is such a chic hotel! I was there for a conference which took place in Hilton hotel. Given Hilton was fully booked, i chose a luxury Bosphorus room instead. It turned out a good surprise. First of all, staff are extremely friendly. I feel more pleasant in a small hotel. Secondly, the room is well designed and the view is perfect. The best thing i love is to see through the Bosphorus view from the bath room through bed room. Fantastic! Great spa facility. The bed is very comfortable, the room is very clean, and the breakfast is good. Definitely recommend to my friends or for my next vist.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEZIBOSPHORUS, Guest Relations Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

First of all thank for your time in writing this review. Your words filled us with a lot of energy to continue developing a better service. We are glad to know that the hotel covered your expectations. Thank you for recommend our hotel to your friends and to all the readers of your great remark. We will be proud to receive you again. Best regards ,
Florentina Vladeanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a small hotel which is much nicer in terms of the service. The staff already knows you after one night, and we received extremely great suggestions and support for nice restaurants.
The hotel rooms are perfect, the hospitality and welcome outstanding, and breakfast is amazing! Very good location and nice views from the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEZIBOSPHORUS, Guest Relations Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice remark, it was a big pleasure to meet you . We hope to see you soon at Gezi Hotel. Best Regards,
Florentina Vladeanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Good sized rooms, interesting design with Mondrian motif, huge bed!
Lovely Molten Brown toiletries replaced daily.
Nice little touches, fresh juice on arrival and chocolates in the room
Spa/Hammam was beautiful although the steam room didn't seem to be working when I used it.
They made my boyfriend a birthday cake on our last day, delicious and much appreciated!
Breakfast included in our room rate was amongst the best hotel breakfasts I have had, a huuuge selection.
The hotel was very calming after being out site seeing all day.
Good staff.
I would have given 5 stars but the wifi was, frankly, rubbish!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEZIBOSPHORUS, Guest Relations Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind feedback in relation to this review.
We are delighted to hear that you were happy with our hotel and services in generally, rest assured that your comments will be shared among our whole team and management.
Thank you for your observation regarding the WIFI internet, kindly note that we took action and we hope you will give us a chance to see our "real"level of quality .
We look forward to see you again at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus.
Best Regards ,
Florentina Vladeanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gezi Hotel Bosphorus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gezi Hotel Bosphorus

Address: Mete Cad. No 34 | Taksim Square, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#37 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#84 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#93 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#109 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gezi Hotel Bosphorus 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at Taksim Square, right in the heart of Istanbul. Just steps away from the glamorous Bosphorus, Historic old town, shopping and business centers. We are one of the few certified Boutique hotels in Istanbul and a proud member of the DESIGN HOTELS CHAIN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Gezi Hotel Bosphorus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gezi Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.