We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“  I wish to thank all the staff at the hotel on the wonderful service and also deal upscale. I spent their honeymoon at this h” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gezi Hotel Bosphorus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Gezi Hotel Bosphorus to your Saves list
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mete Cad. No 34 | Taksim Square, Istanbul 34437, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 981 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“  I wish to thank all the staff at the hotel on the wonderful service and also deal upscale. I spent their honeymoon at this h”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012


I wish to thank all the staff at the hotel on the wonderful service and also deal upscale.
I spent their honeymoon at this hotel is superb.
Also thank Ms. Dilhan on gift birthday which means a lot to me

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    149
    31
    11
    2
See reviews for
62
181
20
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Wien, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

SPA : Service is perfect, All the massages and facilities are marvelous etc

Service is amazing. Staff is kindly and very helpful. The breakfast is so good.

The restaurant is very nice. Good food and nice view.

Free wireless.Good transfer service

Room Tip: Clean, modern decorated, well furnished, quiet, with good bosphorus/park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

What was probably at grand opening an amazing property and experience, this beautiful hotel has rested on its laurels and oversells itself as "luxury." Imagine a room with an amazing view of the Bosphorous that at first sight is awesome. Then start looking around and explore the room's amenities and discover a "clean" covered water glass with an inch of water in it; 2 open suger packets and a missing coffee cartridge; two small cofffee stains on the floor; a sewing needle on the floor; a broken TV remote; a cigarette burn mark on the window seat (in a non-smoking hotel); the odor of stale smoke in the room; a dust coating under the bed (clearly visible from the window seat); 2 bath towels for 3 people; dust covering the support bars of the roll away bed (with a singnificant but expected surcharge); and a very difficult method to receive free wi-fi access. All the joy was gone within the first 15 minutes of arrival.
We requested the Manager on Duty to come to the room to see the condition. She appologized and agreed repeatedly that we were right and offered dinner in their restaurant (but we had a local friend taking us out to dinner) and then drinks at the bar instead. While out for dinner, the room was cleaned and the extra towel we had requested was not replaced - so still 2 towels for 3 people, and she provided a simple fruit plate and letter of appology. Next day's cleaning service replaced towels with torn - yes TORN - towels, far from luxury!
Breakfast was a nice spread and substantial, but some cheese was moldy and staff was less than eager to fill coffee or interact with guests; self serve all around except the clearing of plates from the table. On the final morning, the manager did come around to interact with each table - the way it should be - but it was a little too late.
When we were first being taken to our room, the manager told us a loft suite was available for an additional 200 euros per night, which we declined. I believe thay may have thought we wanted a free upgrade, but that wasn't what we expected. There was no reductuon in rate or further mention of our dissatisfaction.
Staff seems a bit arrogant and less than friendly at times and a sense of pride of product is lacking (except for the spa which was amazing) - definitely not the overall luxury experience we expected for 450 euros a night.

Room Tip: If you don't book a room with a view of the Bosphorous, there is no reason to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I have stayed in Gezi Hotel for five nights and the stay would have been perfect if it was not for the hotel management mistake. I made a group booking for five rooms two months prior to my arrival date, however, upon our arrival we were requested to wait for half an hour before the hotel staff came and apologized for making a mistake in the booking and that they cannot accommodate us since they were fully booked. In normal situation, I would have made a huge deal about it since everything was confirmed two months in advance, but due to having an infant with us we had to accept whatever alternative they could provide us. The hotel staff suggested transferring us to another hotel (lower quality with no special price) for one night then bringing us back to Gezi hotel. We ended up wasting half a day just waiting for the problem to be solved and moving from a hotel to another.
In such case, you would expect the hotel management to provide a suitable compensation for such hassle. The only thing they did was upgrading one of the five rooms we had reserved earlier from garden view to Bosporus view!!
Beside that incident, the hotel rooms are very good and modern with an amazing view. The food and the room service were at the top. The hotel is very clean and the location is close from Istiqlal road (famous shopping street). As for the SPA, I tried the foot massage and it was a waste of money. The lobby was small but it served its purpose.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Clean, modern decorated, well furnished, quiet, with good bosphorus.
Service is amazing. Staff is kindly and very helpful.
The restaurant is very nice. Good food and nice view.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hietzing, Wien, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Service was really perfect,,,,,, amazing. Staff is kindly and very helpful.The rooms clean, modern decorated, well furnished, quiet. Nice :) The breakfast was also good. I want again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya, Turkey
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We booked two very expensive nights in this hotel and it just did not meet our expectations. We have paid less for a five star hotel in Hong Kong, and the Gezi is well below SE Asian standards.

The location of the hotel was excellent for our purposes and our room was very nice; modern and well decorated. We were upgraded to a corner room but most of the extra space seemed to be in the hall and the window seat - the only seating apart from a stool - was not comfortable. A very good free standing 'shower with a view', but only one portion of shampoo, etc for two of us and no hair conditioner; a cheap and ineffective hairdryer. The most disappointing thing was NO English language news channel on the 160 available - no CNN, no BBC, no Al'jazira, nothing. The noisy air conditioning did not seem to obey the thermostat.

Breakfast was nice, the usual Turkish offerings very well presented, but there was not enough room for all guests. A stranger was placed at my table with no apology and my place made up while I was still drinking coffee. There was no public area in which to relax and be quiet; muzak was always playing.

Numbers of friendly staff were always present in the lobby but they seemed indifferent when we asked about the TV news channel and couldn't direct us to a local pharmacy. On the second day our bedroom was still not made up by 3 pm when we wanted a rest.

Altogether, not worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gülcan I, Guest Relations Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
We thank our guest for the review. We attach great attention to all comments of our guests to determine and revise our policies. However, we would like to clarify some points in this matter.
Our Corner Rooms are 32 sqm with a panoramic Bosphorus view. The window seat our guest mentioned lays accross the window for our guests to enjoy the view. Addition to this there is a stool and a chair in this room. Since we did not named this room as “Corner Suite” we believe 3 different seating options inside the room is fair for this room type.

Secondly, we use a set of Molton Brown products in all our rooms including soap, sampoo, shower gel, hair cream and body lotion each are 30 grams. This set renewed by our Housekeeping team daily and additionally we serve each of them free of charge upon request.
In addition to this set we have another kit in every room including rasp, ear bar, bonnet, cotton and sewing kit.


In every room we have Interactive TV with 160 channels. These channels include CNN International (no.16), BBC World (no.25), Al Jeezira Intl (no.130) all in English and many more news channels in various languages. These TV’s also can be used as an internet browser, with a wireless keyboard served to the rooms free of charge.
Our breakfast time is between 07:00 - 10:30, served in our G’Nova Restaurant with Bosphorus view. The seating capacity of this restaurant is 85 people (Hotel’s total capacity is 126 people). So unluckily our guests could have been served during a really rush period.

And there is a pharmacy which is 150 meter away from our hotel and when we informed them about it, they would like to learn nearest one. But it was already the nearest one !

We do have a music in our lobby like all the other hotels around the world. We also have comfy seating areas inside our Restaurant which is open for our guests’ free usage all day.
We do have 24 hrs housekeeping service and they are making up the guest rooms between
12:00 - 17:00 pm. If it was so late for them we apologize for this.

It is the responsibility of the hotel to handle the problems immediately, once there is a complaint from the guests. If our guests had informed us during their stay we would have done our utmost to correct the perceived deficiencies.

Once again, we are very sorry for the unconveniences our guests had. We could have been somehow explain better the services that we have.
We still hope that our guests will visit us and use our services next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gezi Hotel Bosphorus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gezi Hotel Bosphorus

Address: Mete Cad. No 34 | Taksim Square, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#37 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#83 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#91 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#108 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gezi Hotel Bosphorus 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at Taksim Square, right in the heart of Istanbul. Just steps away from the glamorous Bosphorus, Historic old town, shopping and business centers. We are one of the few certified Boutique hotels in Istanbul and a proud member of the DESIGN HOTELS CHAIN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Escapio, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Gezi Hotel Bosphorus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gezi Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.