We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely go back.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gezi Hotel Bosphorus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gezi Hotel Bosphorus to your Saves list
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mete Cad. No 34 | Taksim Square, Istanbul 34437, Turkey   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #151 of 943 Hotels in Istanbul
GLENDALE, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would definitely go back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011 via mobile

During my one week stay, I have had a very pleasant stay at this hotel.
The staff is very professional, courteous and accommodating. They even surprised me with a cake on my birthday.
Special thanks to Mr. Gokhan, Ms. Nese, Ms. Hilal, Can, and all the other staff members.
The rooms are clean and provide an excellent view of the Bosphorus.
The price is very reasonable.
The breakfast was sufficient.
The location is very central and convenient. Whether you are in Istanbul for business or pleasure, and if you are looking for a boutique hotel, you should consider staying here.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    133
    29
    10
    2
See reviews for
57
158
19
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delft
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Gezi hotel provides perfect quality of rooms and restaurant and excellent personal and friendly service; the hotel is well situated near Taksim square with Airport bus connections and funicular towards Bosporus.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Right from the second we arrived at the hotel, the staff was extremely helpful and greeted us with a complementary orange juice and snack while we were checking in. The room was ready immediately and was very clean and quiet with an amazing view. Minibar had a really large selection of beverages and snacks, the bed was very comfortable and the shower was very relaxing.
The occasion for my trip was my birthday, and upon my arrival back to the hotel from visiting Istanbul there was a cake, 2 glasses of white wine and a card from the hotel congratulating me, this was a very nice surprise especially since the room wasn't even registered in my name, so they are very attentive to the guests.
The spa in the hotel is very nice too, there is a small sauna and steam room and while we where there for the weekend there weren't that many people at all, so it was practically like a private spa. I didn't do any treatments but there was a wide variety and the prices were reasonable.
The breakfast was also very nice, is was situated on the ground floor with a view of the Bosphorus river, since the hotel is slightly on a hill and with a wide variety of food. There was everything from traditional turkish cheeses, pain au chocolat, a lot of dried fruit and delicious turkish coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice. The staff was very friendly and fluent in English.
The location of this hotel is very central for that side of Istanbul, it's located right in Taksim Square, a 5 minute walk to the metro or a 10 minute ride to the old town. There is a huge shopping street located close by on which there are currency exchange points, restaurants and many stores. Also the majority of the modern restaurants are close by the hotel.
Overall, my stay there was amazing and I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially since the prices were great for a 5 star hotel and it definitely deserved every star!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if you get the park view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I recently had the extreme pleasure of spending a night at the Gezi. My room had the most incredible view of the Bosphorus and when I woke up in the morning watching the ferries cross the Bosphorus river whilst I dreamily lay in bed.

The hotels staff were very polite and friendly but do need to brush up on their local knowledge of what is on and where. However the waiters were fantastic and the breakfast in the morning was delicious.

I really enjoyed the spa which although small was very private and extremely good.

I loved the rooms and their layout and as the Havas Airport shuttle was just across the park ( some 25 metres) the whole experience was easy clean and perfect

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Spent 4 days in this hotel recently.. The hotel is very nice . Nice design, very good service. Everybody is very kind and helpful. Spent 4 wonderful days there with another person...On the negative side i would just point out taht the rooms are not so big as hoped and that we had to keep the curtains down almost all the time in order not to have people looking into our room. For sure there will be other rooms that allow you more privacy, so i guess we were a ittle unlucky under that aspect... But all in all, i would recommend the hotel, especially if you can find a good deal....

Room Tip: choose a room not looking into the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights in October 2011. The hotel is a great choice for anybody visiting Istanbul. The room was comfortable, spacious, clean, and modern. The staff was polite and helpful. The hotel serves a great complimentary breakfast. Finally, there is a very posh spa and a good gym in the hotel, my wife got a massage that she was very happy with. My only small complaint is the location. The hotel is within walking distance of all the action on Taksim square which is great. However, the hotel is located on the “ugly” side of Taksim square where the pedestrian area gives way to a lot of cars and traffic. So stepping out of the hotel is not a thrilling experience, but you only have to walk for about 3 minutes to get to the hip areas of the city. The hotel is also a hike, but a doable hike, from the number one tram line which leads right to all the major tourist sites in the old city. All and all a very good choice.

Room Tip: I got the garden room which has a little patio area, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011 via mobile

Don't get lured into booking in this hotel going by the hotel's claim to be five star. Far from it. First shocking star it earns when you arrive for check-in. Lobby so small, your wife, unless petite, cannot stand next to you. Second star of shock: Room so small that you and your wife squeeze in it. It earns third star by having not a single chair of any kind in the room. Third star when you are ask for any tea during free breakfast (other than Turkish) they ask you to pay. Room Service earns a star too by leaving 2 complimentary water bottles one day and then on other days, depending on their mood. One genuine star it sure earns: its central location right next to Taksim Sq.  

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaanIren, Manager at Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
First of all we never claimed that we are a 5 star property, in fact our legal status is “Boutique”.
This classification may not be defined in some online sales channels and so they define us as five star.

Despite other hotels, we have chairs in front of our reception desk and our guests can sit during check-in process. They also served fresh fruit juices and chocolates (every guest) as a part of our welcoming procedure. As a result, our guests’ wives can sit together with their husbands, instead of standing back.

Our smallest room size is 25 sq meters for garden& park view rooms and 28 sq meters for Bosphorus view rooms; which we believe cannot be defined as small regarding international standards.
We do also have larger room types. Also, we do have chairs in every room.

We serve tea, coffee, fresh orange juice and water during our breakfast service free of charge.
However, if herbal teas or different coffee types (cappuccino, latte vs.) are ordered, they are not free just like in all international hotel chains.
There are 2 complimentary bottles of water are served in every room on daily basis. If we forgot we apologize for this.

And lastly, we do have records in our system and physical passport copies of every guest staying with us. However, we did not have any guests from Singapore on October 2011 :)
In fact our last guests from Singapore were on July 2011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gezi Hotel Bosphorus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gezi Hotel Bosphorus

Address: Mete Cad. No 34 | Taksim Square, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#38 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#84 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#84 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#120 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gezi Hotel Bosphorus 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at Taksim Square, right in the heart of Istanbul. Just steps away from the glamorous Bosphorus, Historic old town, shopping and business centers. We are one of the few certified Boutique hotels in Istanbul and a proud member of the DESIGN HOTELS CHAIN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Gezi Hotel Bosphorus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gezi Hotel Istanbul

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gezi Hotel Bosphorus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.