We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Siesta Pub & Restaurant

Siesta Pub & Restaurant
Amir Temur, 98, Tashkent 10053, Uzbekistan
+998 91 190 99 39
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 111 Restaurants in Tashkent
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Cozy restaurant with wide range of meal and drinks. European and local cuisines, free wi-fi, draught beer, local & imported wines, delivery/take away; Apropriate price and good quality. One of the best pasta and steaks in the city
Lower Mainland, BC
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Decided to try out this restaurant due to all the rave reviews on Tripadvisor. Needed a good meal after 19 days on the Pamir Highway. Ambiance very nice but the meal and service were horrible. There were only 3 occupied tables when we arrive but we waited over 1-1/2 hours before our meals came. I ordered the lasagne which arrived still frozen in the middle and Ihad to send it back. The server told me there was nothing wrong with it until she stuck her finger in it before agreeing to take it back to the kitchen. Who knows what they did with it in there. The stuffed chicken breast was dry and the beef medallions came in 4 pieces each the size of a 50 cent coin. We were given a complmentary plate of fried potatos. There was no apology by the manager for the very slow service and poorly prepared food when we spoke to him. I was shocked he mentioned the good reviews he was receiving from Tripadvisor. Not recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SIESTA_PubRestaurant, Owner at Siesta Pub & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear ShilohinBC
We constantly track our consumer feedback and talk with our guests. We always show a great respect to our guests, but we should state that Your review is totally biased and untruthful.
It looks like when football referee shows a red card instead of yellow for the foul committed!

You have visited SIESTA on 6th of September and believe me, that was the only one negative feedback we had in that month. You were 3 persons with the table in a private room, at the same time we had another 5 tables occupied taking into consideration that capacity of our small restaurant is 10 tables and one private room, i.e. we had 60% occupied tables and also two take away orders at that moment You entered the door. Moreover, we had one 10 person table with guests from Japan and their order which was made right before Your order had a wide range of totally different dishes to cook and it had affect to some delays in the kitchen.

We had 2 English speaking waitresses that day for 6 occupied tables which surely gives good service to our guests.

You have looked through the English menu and decided to share between yourselves several dishes and asked to get them at the same time. The order consists of: still water, draught beer, lasagna, chicken with prunes, beef medallions under gorgonzola sauce and two side dishes (spinach with garlic and fried potatoes).

1. Time delay. To our big sorrow we served Your table having 55 minute delay for dishes ordered. No doubt that time running faster when You are waiting for something, but delay was not ½ hours definitely. However, we are very sorry about delay occurred. It’s pity that You were leaving back and we had no chance for another dinner at SIESTA and You could change the mind about food and service.

2. Food. Apart from all other dishes, we cook lasagna in advance and hold them in refrigerator. Right upon the order we heating it and serve to the table. That lasagna was not heated very well, and we are very sorry about that. Lasagna did not have optimal temperature inside but our waitresses never and never touch the dish by fingers!!! We trust our guests feedback by word! You cut lasagna for three pieces and found that it was not so hot inside and told serving waitress. She immediately report the problem to the chef and we decided to serve another complimentary lasagna to Your table and it met Your demand and taste preferences, plate was empty. Regarding chicken with prunes: chicken is quite dry meat comparing to beef sirloin which You had as medallions. The size of 50 cent coin is 32mm whereas each medallion you had is not less than 75mm and weight 200 gr. all 4 pieces together (the photo of this dish is available on this site). Moreover, when I came to You to tell my apologies about delays and lasagna I had a feedback that medallions were pretty good and tasty.
3. Complimentary items. Apart from complimentary lasagna we served complimentary plate of melon. We do not serve complimentary fried potatoes to guests at all!
Finally when You got a bill You refused to pay for one of lasagnas and we kindly excluded it from the bill. I came to Your table third time and apologized once again.

We have a one rule: Our Guest is always right!!! At the same time, we expect to receive honest and non-biased untruthful feedback with a clear picture.
Hope You will visit us again some time when You come to Tashkent city and wish You good positive travels over the world.
Sincerely Yours,
Aziz Sagdullaev
SIESTA Pub & Restaurant owner






`
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    12
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This place is just opposite the International Hotel and serves wonderful food and excellent service.Food was prepared as per our request and we would like to mention a special thanks to all the staff over there. Currency in Tashkent (cyms/ suums) is very hard to carry and we hadnt enough in our pockets.( You see a dinner for two would cost around 90,000 cyms/suums which is just about 35usd and my pockets were bulging carrying that kind of cash all day). The staff were very accomodative and i rushed back to my room and paid them the balance i owed them. Bye

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“BEST MEAL IN OUR CENTRAL ASIAN TRIP!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We walked over 1/2 hour from Dederman hotel to frind Siesta restaurant, based on Tripadvisor
reviews. Peter and i had the best meal of our 11 day trip. Our steak (I had filet mignon) was delicious and except for the wine, it was all great. The grilled vegetables were very well prepared as well. We were surprised that the restaurant wasn't busier with such good food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Oasis in Tashkent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

After many days of shashlik and plov in Uzbekistan, we decided to try Siesta for a change of food. It's a delightful little place, with a good menu choice, and everything is cooked from fresh ingredients to order. The Siesta chicken and spaghetti bolognese were very good, and the tiramisu and brownie were excellent. The sweet red wine was a new experience!

We had a chat with the owner, and other people in the restaurant, and had a very pleasant evening. The owner even called a taxi for us.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great quality and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

A great restaurant right opposite Bodomsor metro stop, the other side of the street to the large hotels. The steak was superb quality, cooked well and the equivalent of around £7 - i'd have paid at least £30 in London for something similar. They have a light and a dark draught beer which is apparently brewed locally with German technology. Both are good! My friend has a pasta dish which was apparently really nice. The service was spot on - attentive but not intrusive. It was quiet but it was only a Monday night. Would absolutely recommend this place for good quality, excellent value good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siesta Pub & Restaurant also viewed

Tashkent, Tashkent Province
Tashkent, Tashkent Province
 
Tashkent, Tashkent Province
Tashkent, Tashkent Province
 

Been to Siesta Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siesta Pub & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.