We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent guesthouse on Silk road” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mirzo Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Mirzo Guesthouse to your Saves list
Mirzo Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mirzo Guesthouse
Sagban 95, Tashkent 100002, Uzbekistan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 26 Tashkent B&B and Inns
Bukhara, Uzbekistan
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An excellent guesthouse on Silk road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Mirzo guest house was our first solution for accommodation in Tashkent and it was bullseye!
The 4 bed dormitory and 2 bed room are built in traditional style, with wooden carvings on the ceilings, and with allmost century old furiture with many handcrafts - like in museum. Nevertheless, beds are new.
Owner is well educated historian, and his talks about Uzbek history, given in russian, are unforgettable. His son speaks good english, and booth are friendly, professional and allways can give advices for tourists. For as, their advices inpruved our travelling around.
Guest house is located close to Chorsu bazaar (our recommendation for lunch), and metro station which is in the same line as the main train station.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    6
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
9
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A very friendly welcoming (so long as you don't speak to the mother) family budget guest house in Tashkent old town. The rooms are good and clean. The dormitory room is the most beautiful dormitory I have ever slept in! The owner and his son, Oybek, offer invaluable advice regarding Tashkent and Uzbek culture in general. Convenient to the metro, the bazaar and good eating options. Small breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We booked this hostel prior to our visit to oezbekistan, and overall the experience was excellent. We were picked up at the airport, the son of mirzo spoke good english and helped us changing money. We arrived at nine in the mornng, but could already enter the room with no extra charge. We stayed in a double with shower, toilet and airco. Breakfast was good, location close to chorsu bazaar was convenient. We stayed two nights, a very good start for a visit to uzbekistan

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tashkent, Uzbekistan
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We arrived on May and spent 5 nights here.
Great guesthouse, cozy environment and fast wifi.
Oybek (the son of the owner) can speak great English and he is also very friendly can give traveller great advices. It is nice sitting in the garden and listening to the owner's rock style solo with Dutar.
We would really like to revisit this guesthouse if we come back to Tashkent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Wasn't able to get a room in a hotel, therefore, end up with this option. Arrived this GH at 10pm, checked into a triple room with 2 single beds+1 sofa bed. The room is spacious, with air-cond & heater, but toilet is not very clean. There is no window either in room/toilet, except, there is a glass panel on top of the entrance door that could be opened up, we therefore opened it after showering, for fresh air!
While we rushing to go on bed after a tiring flight, someone knocked on our door at 11:30pm, (10mins after we switched off light), first, asked to close the "window" (??), then asked us to switch room because the triple room that we were staying was actually booked out. We were very tired and just about to sleep, so, I was very reluctant to agree to move to the dorm room (no more triple room) even though discount was offered, I wouldn't have checked into this GH if I knew I need to stay in dorm... but, we seemed have no other option. Honestly, I was very mad about that. Anyway, I chose to forgive them the next morning, until this incident happened:

We have a late train to catch at night, so, we checked out at 9am, then inform the owner that we would like to keep our backpacks with them. He immediately told us that keeping backpack is fine, but toilet & shower "will be closed" for our usage. We asked to get a shower before leaving, he then quoted us US$2/person.
OMG, a GH with shared bathroom normally won't charge extra in this case, but they chose to rip the customer off though! Not to mention we actually arrive at 10pm, checked out at 9am! We gave up arguing and agreed to pay.

Btw, the shared toilet+bathroom is not very clean, and it is shared by 5 peoples who staying in dorm. The breakfast provided was nothing to excite either.

Pro: free wifi, hot water, location is good (walking distance to Chorsu Bazaar & metro station)
Cons: cleanliness not meeting expectation, no fresh air in room as no window, attitude

**If somehow you are staying in this GH, walk out from the GH, go to opposite road, turn right and walk towards Chorsu Bazaar direction, after 200-300m, you will spot a small/tiny local restaurant with pink color painting on your left, it is a must try place, they serve the best Lagman we have ever tasted in Uzb! We went twice!

Room Tip: Ask for room with window, if there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We arrived later in the evening, and were offered a double for 118000s. The building has recently been renovated, apparent by the old items sitting in the courtyard. The basic double room has twin beds and an attached bathroom. It fit us. There is consistent, free wifi. Breakfast was basic: 1 boiled egg, tea, bread, cheese. Our initial impression of the owner was uncertain and I can see how others could be put off. However, as we attempted to talk with him, he was a very kind, caring person who runs his business properly (ie, only som, must have registration). His english is limited, but his son speaks english well.
We had a very late train out of Tashkent and he allowed us to stay at the guesthouse without issue till late in the afternoon. It led to a very enjoyable conversation with the owner and other guests. The owner is a history professor at the university and is an Uzbek tourism/history expert. If you choose to stay, get him talking about Uzbek history. It will be interesting.
Rooms within Uzbek are pretty similar, but if you want a good personal interaction, this is a good place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

it was a last minute reservation, am struggling to find a budget place to stay in Tashkent. Lucky me i found this Guest house. I stayed in private twin room with attached bathroom, occupied with basic amenities, free Wifi and free breakfast. The owner of the guest house Mr Murad was a helping hand, he helped me a lot in Tashkent, with direction, safety precaution, where to go, what to do, and best place to shop. The owner and his family was very welcoming and kind. This guest is located near the main road, so there's no problem with transportation. Metro is around 500m, or you can take a taxi around 4000-10000 sum (2-5usd) according to distance travel. Worth the money you paid.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mirzo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirzo Guesthouse

Address: Sagban 95, Tashkent 100002, Uzbekistan
Location: Uzbekistan > Tashkent Province > Tashkent
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Tashkent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Mirzo Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirzo Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.