We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent location, but ....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Uzbekistan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Uzbekistan to your Saves list
Hotel Uzbekistan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Musakhanov street, Tashkent 700047, Uzbekistan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Tashkent
Millom, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“An excellent location, but ....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is situated in the centre of Tashkent within view of the Tamerlane monument. The public areas are fine and the food OK but: the room was shabby with a very worn carpet. The shower was not properly fixed to the wall and other people in our party felt the rooms were actaully dirty. We were part of a tour party so we do not know the actual price paid, but the posted rates in the hotel of $150 - $180 for a double room seemes excessive. If situation is important you should certainly consider this hotel, but it really does not live up to 4* status.

Room Tip: When you arrive check out your allocated room carefully
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    101
    127
    40
    17
See reviews for
21
61
78
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel is a bit of a disappointment.
I stayed here on the first night of a 10 day tour of Uzbekistan. The first impressions of the hotel are quite good. Yes, it s a large hotel and so you do think that it will be a bit impersonal, but it looks out over the park housing the impressive monument of Emir Temur, and consequently has a feeling of being in a good location.
However, inside is where the hotel starts to disappoint. Our room was large with twin beds but was very old fashioned. Decor was dated and actually the room was quite grubby. The sheet on my bed was ripped - as if someone had slept in it wearing a belt and the buckle had caught. Surely house keeping would have changed this?
The bathroom again appeared not to have been cleaned properly for a long time - and in fact that was how the whole room seemed. It wasn't filthy - but needed a good "proper" clean.
The shower didn't work properly, but the aircon did so that helped keep the room cool.
Breakfast was a typical buffet and had a good selection.
We were due to stay here on the last night of the tour but due to a mix up we had to stay elsewhere. Initially we were pleased, but it turned out the new hotel was further out of the city and so we didn't have an opportunity to go back into the city before flying home. This actually demonstrated one of the benefits of the Hotel Uzbekistan - its location.
Is that a price worth paying for the hotels general poor standard? Probably, as we can put up with it for one night - but if i had to stay there for 2 nights or more i would choose elsewhere

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Look if you are going to stay in a four star hotel in this part of the world this hotel is a Good example of what to expect. The service was very good and the staff were helpful, could not fault them. The rooms are average but adequate and the beds are comfortable. I stayed here twice - at the beginning and the end of a tour of this lovely country. The restaurant is not cheap and they have gin but no tonic. In fact it is almost impossible to find tonic water in central Asia so if you want to bring duty free with you don't bring gin. They do make a great french onion soup.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel. Centrally located, a few steps away from the metro.It is an old Russian-style giant concrete block as a building and thus has no home-family feeling what so ever but again it has a spooky character. Rooms are spacious, the whole hotel is spacious. View was good at 16th floor. Average breakfast. No smile at the reception and they are not very informative either. However, there is a gentleman sitting at concierge desk (Mr Ernest) and he was very helpful to us in finding our way.Rooms are clean.Overall view; just ok for a 1-2 day stay;

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tassie tourers
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed here twice in August 2012...had read about flat screen TV's and white walls...not so. Dodgy electrics, water supply, drainage etc. Fine but not as described...had to 'run the water for 20-25 minutes if you want hot"...true. Nice foyer/entrance but very much a remnant of the Russian era.Staff at reception had a bit of attitude and did not pass on messages etc. Door staff and bar staff good. Food OK.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angles
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Well I have stayed in this hotel on 3 different occasions in the month of August and July of 2012. The air conditioners vary in strength and dont work very well.This hotel has NO POOL!!The gym LOL not bad if you are living in Soviet era Russia. The staff try, but this hotel is run down and need to be redone. Its old,carpet is stained,smell a bit musty and is NOT at international standards!! The hotels idea of free wifi is to have a very small area by the front desk where you get to share a signal with ten other people in a cramped very small area. Its a good deal for $50 a night but not for one penny more!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

If you are expecting a four star comfort, this is definitely not the recommended place to be. My first impression when I entered the hotel was the very bad smell of cigarettes (and I am a smoker). The staff is rude and unfriendly; if you pre-booked your stay via an online search engine and have pre-selected your payment method, forget about changing it when you check-in.
The rooms small, not expecting Dubai standards sizes, are fine; however when it comes to cleanliness, forget having clean bed sheets, or a bathroom without hair.

Room Tip: You don't need a non smoking room to stay in that hotel. All of it smells cigarettes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Uzbekistan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uzbekistan

Address: 45 Musakhanov street, Tashkent 700047, Uzbekistan
Location: Uzbekistan > Tashkent Province > Tashkent
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tashkent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Uzbekistan 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Uzbekistan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uzbekistan Hotel Tashkent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Uzbekistan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.