We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added City Palace Hotel to your Saves list
City Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amir Temur St., 15, Tashkent, Uzbekistan (Formerly Markaziy Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Tashkent
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“OK but tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was once the Sheraton Hotel and it would have been pretty special in its day - about 10 years ago. We stayed for two separate nights at the beginning and end of our time in Uz.and therefore had two different rooms. It still has comfortable rooms although the airconditioning did not work effectively in either room and with no opening windows - pretty stuffy.
Wifi is only in the lobby. The breakfast was pretty ordinary. The reception staff were helpful and spoke excellent English as did a few of the other staff. Location is Ok - you can walk to quite a few sights from here fairly easily. The pool and fitness facilities are quite good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    37
    37
    8
    6
See reviews for
2
16
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I am a regular guest in Tashkent. This time I was froced to change hotel; usualy I stay in Tashkent Palace (best value hotel in Tashkent, or in Radisson). Due to a some fair in Tashkent this week my office reserved me this one. It was closed for few months, because of bancrupcy of former owner. That is the reason of changing name of hotel from Markaziy to City Palace. Beside name nothing has changed. It was opened in 2004 I belivie as Sheraton, which left Uzbekistan 2008 or something. Rooms are real spacioues and well designed, but hotel would need a bit of refurbishing...sheets and towels are clean, but a bit tiered.
There is no internet conection in rooms, but wireless is working fine in hotel lobby. Breakfast is OK with posibility to get fresh scrambled egg or similar, yogurt, salads, fruit,....
It is not a bad hotel, but Tashkent have few better ones in same price range!

Room Tip: Take a higher floors, because of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I'm sure there are a few travel agents in Uzbekistan who are getting nice cuts from recommending this place- with or without discount. The prices charged are certainly a bit over the top. Breakfast is nothing special but you can eat as much fuel as you want. Its a shame they don't concentrate on cleaning the table cloths rather than putting bows on the backs of chairs and flirting with guests.
However, it is central, the rooms are pretty good, clean and quiet and although nothing special, I'm not sure it deserves such bad reviews. If you can negotiate a big discount you are probably doing OK.

Room Tip: Opt for high up and as far away from the lifts as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

I staid for 2 nights, past october, at this hotel, and it was an absolute decadent place. It started with the reception, were noone spoke english, and had did'nt care about the guests.
At the entry hall , there was at a corner , some chairs , and a table, and this was supposed to be 'the bar'. The restaurant was a dirty a rundown place, where the tablecloths,that were once white, were so dirty,and full of stains, and in a desgusting state. The service was terrible, and the food was uneatable. I'm really not picky about Hotels, but this was really to much.The room was just to sleep, and get out o there, right away. I would never stayed at a hotel like this, but I was dumped there by a travel agency ( East Site Travel ), that on the top charged me as a 5-Stars Hotel rate !!

Room Tip: Totally avoid the Hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

This used to be a Sheraton, and the rooms are evidently Sheraton house style. So, the rooms are comfortable, but that's where the similarity ends. I stayed in this hotel at the beginning and end of a trip that took me to other cities in Uzbekistan, so I noticed differences between rooms that revealed signs of minor faults that are not being noticed/reported, or repairs are not being made. The restaurant is no great shakes, even at breakfast where coffee is only available from the self service buffet in espresso-sized cups. Paying your bill is a shambles. The national fetish with bureaucratic paperwork can take ages, and if you plan to check out with a group and need a receipt, it's best to pay the night before you leave, or be prepared for a long delay. Most of the instructions in the hotel service manual have not been updated and are wildly inaccurate. For example, it claims that the hotel accepts all credit cards. However, it only accepts Visa credit or debit cards - along with most of the few other places in the country that accept cards.

Taking cash is best, preferably new notes - dollars are the preferred currency, but euros and sometime sterling are also acceptable. There were 2 ATMs in the hotel foyer, but neither were working at the time of my visit. The good thing about the hotel is the concierge service - they'll give you 15% more that the official exchange rate offered by the exchange offices in the hotel foyer - and still leave themselves room to make a 25% mark-up when they resell your bills on the street market. It's probably less dangerous for you to deal with them than to try to strike a better deal elsewhere. In any case, most prices in this country are very low by western standards.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

The room was ok as it was designed and furnished by Sheraton. Window was not cleaned from outside probably since last summer. Bathroom accessories average, breakfast was versatile, a lot of fresh fruit, vegetables, different pastries and salads, all prepared with Uzbek flavour so don't expect German-style pastry, but overall we enjoyed it.
The receptionist welcomed me with asking whether I was aware of their room rates:))) After I suggested to settle the room rate immediately she apologised but their Visa POS handheld ran out of paper.
Bell boy asked us every time he saw us whether we wanted to exchange money.
Regardless of the room service or bar menu, only one and the same chocolate cake seems to be served. It was ok on the first day, on the second day you could say it was growing older each day:)) On our way to the airport, the bell boy arranged a taxi for by asking his friend or relative to give us a ride, and the guy was terribly upset with paying him in local currency and not in USD.
Overall, this hotel and its staff do not do justice to lovely Uzbek people and country. So, Dedeman is just 50 meters across the street, even if you are overloaded with luggage it's worth the trouble, club sandwich is quite good:))

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Nothing good in this hotel, one night I came with one girl to hotel and she was carrying all her documents but first staff did t allowed her and after some time she came to me by paying to staff 25 usd separately.rooms and breakfast is not good at all. Room service is pathetic, they just want to trouble visitors. Plz don't go in that hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to City Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Palace Hotel

Address: Amir Temur St., 15, Tashkent, Uzbekistan (Formerly Markaziy Hotel)
Location: Uzbekistan > Tashkent Province > Tashkent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tashkent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — City Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your City Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Markaziy Hotel Tashkent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.