We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in nice surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Namaste Salaam

Namaste Salaam
Solomi, Dushanbe, Tajikistan
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 55 Restaurants in Dushanbe
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Groningen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good food in nice surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is the only Indian/Nepalese restaurant left in the town, now that te Delhi Darbar on Rudaki has closed down. It offers all the great well-known Indian dishes in a nice setting on the first floor (unfortunately they do not serve thali).

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    26
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Serves Yummy Indian Curries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

It was a welcome break to be able to devour some delicious Indian curries and dal with nans over lunch -- our first Indian restaurant encounter in Central Asia. The place was packed with office goers and other locals. It looked like we were the only tourists there. The service was quick, and the waitresses were very friendly and courteous!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scot on the run
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Reliable refuge in the city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Good quality and good selection of Indian food. I like the biryanis, though order a curry as well - perhaps to share - otherwise a bit dry. Specifically ask for spicey if you like it hot. Beer on tap, Baltika 7 and Carlsberg.
I usually don't like televisions in restaurants but I must admit it was bliss sitting in an air-conditioned room, on a sweltering day, with a cold beer and a hot curry watching Andy Murray at Wimbledon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Excellent food, very good service, good range of alcohol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Delicious!! The best Indian food I have found on my 10,000km drive through China and the 'Stans so far! Our favourite dish was the lamb rogan josh, tender lamb (and for once, not mutton!) that almost melted in your mouth in a delicious curry sauce.

They also have a good drinks list including a choice of two red wines by the glass - not always easy to find in Central Asia.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astana, Kazakhstan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Reliable Indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A regular travelers to Dushanbe we have eaten on a number of occasions in Namaste and always enjoyed it. Service has been speedy and good, and we have not suffered any ill effects after eating there - not always the case in Dushanbe! There is a wide choice of dishes and the portion sizes are good. Friends living in Dushanbe rate this as the best and most reliable restaurant there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Namaste Salaam also viewed

Dushanbe, Tajikistan
 
Dushanbe, Tajikistan
Dushanbe, Tajikistan
 

Been to Namaste Salaam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Namaste Salaam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.