We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel reasonable rate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Colombo City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Colombo City Hotel to your Saves list
Colombo City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   33 Canal Row | Fort Colombo 01, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 80 Colombo B&B and Inns
Phuket, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel reasonable rate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Good hotel reasonable rate.but we check out from there staying 1night there since our interest was to move into a hotel located in peacfull area.I mean busy.middle of colombo is very busy with businesses and people.staying in a colombo city hotel was not our interest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    36
    55
    35
    48
See reviews for
17
54
43
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed there from 13th till 16th of September. Because of Cricket World Cup all the hotels in Colombo were full booked and I had to stay there. They charged me and my colleague for a twin room 96USD, which is not cheap.
The first we got, was bad. They changed it, but the second room was dirty. Bath room was full with hairs. I had to say 3 times, what to do is.
Personal unprofessional. Breakfast just bad.
Summary : DO NOT GO THERE!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panadura, Sri Lanka
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I went there yesterday with couple of my friends for dinner after a movie. Following is the experience :
1. We requested the beverages ordered to be chilled, but it was served normal and the waiter said that it is chilled (probably has a neural malfunction). We had to ask for ice and then only he brought it.
2. Fried Rice was half cooked and tasted like dirt.
3. Fish dish smelled like it was not washed and cooked did not taste fresh.
4. French fries smelled the same as the fish. probably they fried it in the same oil.
5. Took a very long time to deliver the food.

Room Tip: Do not go to this place to enjoy food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

It was mostly good, but some things bothered me - their breakfast, and their lift. The former was a bit shabby, and the latter - smelly! The room however, was just right. We were on a budget, and it was rather good, with a view of Sri Lanka's World Trade Center, and a bit of the sea. The rooftop also offers a good view of the Gall Face Promenade - very close from there. Also, its just by the Dutch Hospital where you can spend hours with people you love.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okayama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed here one night and their filtered water (they assured me it wa ssafe) made me so sick I couldn't leave the room. The room was noisy with a constant tapping of rain water (the manager knew of the problem in room 412 but despite there being other empty rooms they gave me the room anyway), the shower floor was 2cm deep like a pool (he knew this too), the room smelled awful and the airconditioner did not work. Stay here ONLY if you have no other choice. I gave it one point because I couldn't give it minus.

Room Tip: Don't let them give you room 412
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

So we got picked up from the airport on time and someone was half awake to take us to our room, the sheets and towels were clean and the bed was fine. The curtains block out the light well.
I had read the reviews on trip advisor so I was expecting the worst so you could say we knew what was coming.
The room is shabby and is desperately in need of a refurb. Tired dirty walls, dirty lampshades, a fan that goes like a helicopter or not at all and the bathroom though adequately sized had several curly black hairs stuck in various places.
In all rather what we had in mind, though one thing did take us by surprise and that was the bizarre music playing through the bedroom ceiling speaker controlled from reception. Turns out you have a master control in the room to disable it so do, unless you like a bit of dirty dancing or under the sea music at top volume at 8 am. It is noisy too with people wandering up and down the corridor all morning clattering about.
The reception is strange, it's just a desk with clutter all around it, none of the card keys appear to have room numbers and the receptionist stuck a bit a masking tape on ours and wrote the room number on it
In all an absolute rip off but we booked last minute and just couldn't find anything else available taking online bookings. Don't do it unless you really have to!
Oh if you like us end up being forced to stay here- don't get the airport pickup as getting a metered taxi from the airport is much cheaper- by 50% in fact, (should be 2250r, rather than 25us$ that we paid).
Oh one thing that was quite good was that I left something in the room and they found it and kept it for me for when I came back to Colombo.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Good location and clean room. But in my opinion the hotel gives low value for the price, compared to other Sri Lanka hotels I have stayed in. When we needed help from the hotel staff, they were unfriendly and not at all interested in giving us any service.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colombo City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo City Hotel

Address: 33 Canal Row | Fort Colombo 01, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colombo City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colombo City Hotel is located in the heart of Colombo right opposite to the World Trade Center Twin Towers and the old Dutch Hospital,now converted to a modern shopping complex which is a world heritage site, it is also walking distance from the old parliament. A short stroll from the hotel and you will find your self amidst historic buildings and the Colombo port. This is the ideal location for business travelers and people who want a taste of the metropolitan. With 51 rooms and a wonderful rooftop restaurant/bar offering value for money food, beverages & sprites. This hotel is star classified by the tourist board and is offering affordable accommodation at the best location in the City of Colombo and is a great choice for most travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Colombo City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colombo City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.