We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graham brennand” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Siam House Thai Restaurant

Siam House Thai Restaurant
No 17, Melbourne Ave, Colombo 4, Sri Lanka
2595966
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #159 of 317 Restaurants in Colombo
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Graham brennand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Went with 3thai people ,food was good,service average especially as the restaurant had only 5tables with customers.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    53
    29
    8
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good thai food in Bamba”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We visited late night for dinner and got seated right away. We ordered vegetarian spring roll and tom yum soup to start with. It wasn't super quick but it was worth waiting for. We ordered Vegetarian Pad Thai (Medium size - which was big enough for two people), and Thai Green curry. They both tasted good but somewhat different from authentic thai food. Green curry was a bit more on the sweet side. (Green curry had caju, if i remember right).

As far as price was concerned, it was a bit on the higher end but not too expensive. Overall, I enjoyed the food - especially the soup.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice place, But foods are not worthy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The atmosphere is not bad and the service also good.
But the foods are not up to the standard and they are not tasty enough as we expected. We spent more than Rs. 25000 for 12 people, and at the end all of us are really disappointed regarding the foods. So that means, simply the foods are not worthy for the money spent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Expensive...but Good Thai food!:))”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is one of those places where u will have a mixed feeling at the end of the day! 'Cos the food u get here is good. For someone who has tried 'true' thai cuisines, dishes here match tad-to-tad! They have this 'spicy Kadju' serving and MAN...It was so good we had to order it twice!!!! All in All, good food...but have to say, come with a BIG price tag! I mean it when i say BIG!:D Anyways, I do not hesitate to dine here again!:)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Place to have a Thai meal in Colombo...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We had diner with our friends recently .. Red chicken curry was nice ..Tom yam sea food soup was great too.. However staters , cuttle fish and rice noodle dishes were average..NOT as good as cinnamon lake Thai Restaurent.. Prices seemed to be quite high too ..private dinning room we found cockroaches :((

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siam House Thai Restaurant also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Siam House Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siam House Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.