We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Quick Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moon River

Moon River
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Improve this listing
Ranked #211 of 320 Restaurants in Colombo
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Food and Quick Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Very good food and really quick service. Wide range of food choices with a great environment for dining.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    16
    18
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Earth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food and fast service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I have been to this restaurant at least 10 times. the Quality food is consistent, never a long wait and reasonable prices.

Some of my favorites are kohkong, fish curry amazing and the soups are also really good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“A must see in Savannah with a name Ike this!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Definitely worth a visit just to say you've been there! Some good beer choices and a reasonable menu, but the service ( mid afternoon) was "just ok". We had beers and appetizers, but it seemed to be a challenge to get it right for the waiter. Still....would recommend stopping by.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Excellent Tofu Dish!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Very good Chinese food and I had the best Tofu dish at this place. The place can get crowded. Excellent service and recommend this place highly for a business or a family meal..

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We were not given the correct pack!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I was at Moon River a few days ago, and that was my 4th or 5th time at this restaurant.It was obviously a busy night, as it was crowded and there were several dinner parties taking place in the private rooms.

We ordered 3 dishes, and were happy to see that the portions were large enough even for 3 people. The service staff were helpful and attentive, and understood our orders correctly.

Only 2 events marred the night, one of which is that the lights kept on going off through our dinner, probably due to a power overload. It kept on disrupting the nice dinner, and I felt it was dangerous as there were servers walking around with trays of steaming food, and little children were all over the place. You never know when accidents can happen.

Also we wanted some of the leftovers to be packed up (there was a large amount) and asked one of the servers to do so. He was rather distracted but brought us our box, which we didn't check but just took with us as we walked out.

It was only when we got home that we realized that they had only packed a little bit of the rice that was left, and nothing of the chicken and pork dishes. We just made it a point to call the restaurant and bring it to their attention, and apparently the server has given our food to a different party of patrons.

Anyhow, the staff member we spoke to mentioned that they will ensure that no such incidents will take place in the future, and asked us to return. Lets see if they keeps their promise!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moon River also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Moon River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.