We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Queens Cafe

Queens Cafe
Duplication Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
0094112508345
Improve this listing
Ranked #233 of 284 restaurants in Colombo
Price range: $10 - $15
Restaurant details
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Horrible Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The staff at Queens are least bothered about whats happening with the customers. We were not welcomed nor were we given menus wen required. The staff were not friendly. This place has become worse over the last few years from what it was. I definitely would not Recommend this place to anyone. They have a pool parlour on the floor above. The submarines which is supposed to be the main attraction has nothing special in it. The menu said Rs 345 for a submarine but wen the bill came it was Rs 600 for each submarine. What a rip off.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

34% Recommend
    4
    8
    12
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Menu needs to be updated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I think the standard of Queens cafe has gone down a lot more than i actually expected! Each time I go there, it seems to get worse.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good place....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Food is nice and though there's no much variety, you can find something to eat. Submarines, Nasigoreng. Indian Dishes with Nan or Paratha and Chine dishes are good. Even drinks are good. Affordable prices and the atmosphere is good.....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food Choice for Value - in Colombo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I have visited the places over 100 times for many years and I would say they provide nice choice of good food definitely for reasonable price. There are daily visitors as well as foreigners visiting the place. Situated right next to Bertitish Council. Just facing Duplication Road and having parking slots.

However it is not a place to cover if someone is doing a city tour, but a good place for someone who stays few days in Colombo and looking for a reasonble priced, variety of foods. Serve Indian food and Rotties and Dosai as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“used to be a good , but not anymore”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We go to this place when ever we have class during lunch . The service was not good , the food was ok . But the kitchen was looking very unhygienic - no idea of going back again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queens Cafe also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Queens Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queens Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.