We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, poor service ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Road Galleries - The Gallery Cafe

Paradise Road Galleries - The Gallery Cafe
2 Alfred House Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka, Colombo 00300, Sri Lanka
+94 112582162 / 112556563
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 323 Restaurants in Colombo
Price range: $12 - $52
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
edinburgh
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The black pork rice and the cakes are good. The service is a major let down. Took too long to get drinks and food. Very difficult to get attention of waitering staff! Ambience is good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    225
    55
    27
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Superb double chocolate cheese cake. Disappointing capuchino's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The title of my review says it all. The ambiance is great. The food delicious. But for good coffee you really have to go elsewhere. All of it is a bit overpriced if you ask me. And although I do not mind having a drawing of a naked man in the (men's) bathroom, I (personally) rather see that naked woman that is hanging in the ladies! (perhaps they could be swapped :-)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Good for a family evening meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Friday at 7 PM we arrived, 2 adults and 2 young children, without reservation. This was no problem for the professional and friendly staff. We got a nice table and excellent service througout the meal. 

Food was delicious, drinks cold and surroundings beautifull. 

We are aware that families with young children are not favorite guests at all good restaurants. (We usually don't have time/patience for several courses, we don't drink expencive vines or drinks etc.) At Gallery Cafe we still felt welcomed. Our waiter took special care in the children's shared course so that it was served beautifully on two plates and in child-friendly pieces (we had pork chops). This sort of consideration is highly appreciated. 

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lovely ambiance & food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I simply loved the ambiance in the night but the part indoor area get bit crowded even on a week day, so my preference goes on the outdoor seating. Good selection from the menu & you can rely on the preparation & the presentation to be perfect to your desire. Value for money & a nice place to chillax with good food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Top quality food, service and ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

The Gallery Cafe is a charming place. The decor and ambience is very good, service was very friendly, and the food was if high quality. Serving sizes are a little small for the price, and the food did not come quickly, but these are small quibbles against the overall experience

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradise Road Galleries - The Gallery Cafe also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Paradise Road Galleries - The Gallery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Road Galleries - The Gallery Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.