We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for North Indian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mango Tree

The Mango Tree
No. 82, Dharmapala Mawatha, Colombo, Sri Lanka
011-7620620
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 317 Restaurants in Colombo
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good place for North Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Mango tree is situated in an easy to access place in Colombo and it is not that hard to find. Parking is a bit of a problem but once you are inside the cleanliness and ambiance make up for it. The food is extremely good and the service is also admirable. Price is a bit above par compared to other similar Indian restaurants. A definite must go place for sure

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    127
    47
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Yummy Indian Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I went there with my buddies for lunch in October 2013 and following to that and we had quite a lovely experience. The food was nice, served well and delicious. And it's value for money also. I'd recommend this place if you want to go for Indian food at a hygienic place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very good North Indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My family and I love this restaurant. We use to live in India and feel the Mango Tree gets it right every time. They also have a stand at ODEL, a popular clothing store in Colombo.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mango Tree”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is an excellent restaurant that is very well run and provides authentic Indian food at an affordable cost. The taste is simply delicious and the choice is varied to entice even the most jaded traveler. I would recommend this for anybody who loves to try the rich flavor of Indian food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, null, Sri Lanka
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Year after year, simply EXCELLENT!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I have been coming to The Mango Tree since it opened its doors and the service and food continues to be top quality. Their drinks are really good- value for money- and the sweet lassi is simply great. I am a fan of Indian food and sometimes I get disappointed but it has not been the case for this restaurant and its vegetarian and non vegetarian dishes. I have not tasted the desserts yet and their new BBQ option. I have come for lunch mostly but for dinner you can enjoy nice soups and a nice variety of nans. It is always full so parking can be a bit of a problem. And also the sometimes do not have a good cup of masala tea, but they can be forgiven for their heavenly meals. the service is quite good and you can get a good idea of what to order and the correct portions. Nice ambiance. Better to call to book a table before.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mango Tree also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to The Mango Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mango Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.