We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT SERVICE AND AMAZING INTERIOR” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Park Street Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Park Street Hotel to your Saves list
The Park Street Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 20 Park Street, Colombo 02., Colombo, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Colombo
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT SERVICE AND AMAZING INTERIOR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We paid a visit to this hotel for our meals only when entering we were given a warm welcome and we escorted to the Restaurant promptly by Prageeth the Manager on duty and we were taken care of very well and warmly.At the entrance of the restaurant we were greeted by the restaurant members warmly and made them us seated comfortably.Our order was taken and attended promptly.I would love to patronize this lovely hotel again and again with my family and friends when ever possible.Undoubtedly i can recommend this lovely place whoever who pass by please drop in and see the difference i bet you will never encounter such a lovely service and people from anywhere.Without lovely people who have been working there this attempt would not have been reached.

I inspected a few rooms there including the suite at the entrance they are outstanding.

Room Tip: Outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales and Marketing at The Park Street Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Maheshi,

It was truly wonderful to read your review and to hear one of our guests compliment ‘The Park Street Hotel’ in such a refreshing manner. Thank you so much for the comments posted.

We at the ‘The Park Street Hotel’ are extremely pleased that you and your dinner party felt comfortable and relaxed with our service, as that is what we strive to accomplish every single day. It is nice to know that the staff succeeded in pleasing you and your compliment will be passed on to them without fail.

The doors at ‘The Park Street Hotel’ will always be open to you and we do hope that you do visit us again and grant us the chance to accommodate you soon.

Thanking You,

Jaime Thomas
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    34
    12
    0
    5
See reviews for
21
77
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

One of the best places we have ever stayed in the world. Simply elegant! This hotel knows what to do without overdoing it. Centrally located in the ciy. Has a happy staff where some of the hotels in Lanka do not have. Food was great but located very closer to some of the very good restaurants also.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales and Marketing at The Park Street Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Chris,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor, it is truly refreshing to read such wonderful comments from one of our guests.

We are extremely pleased that the staff and food lived up to your expectations and succeeded in satisfying your needs.

We hope you do return to ‘The Park Street Hotel’ and give us the opportunity to serve you and your companion once again.

Thanking you,

Jaime Thomas
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wandering through Europe
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here on arrival in Colombo at the start of our tour of Sri Lanka. Beautiful converted house, large high-ceilinged rooms and a pretty inner courtyard.

The hotel is in a quiet street in the "best" district of Colombo and for a one night stopover is fine. As there were no restaurants nearby, we ended up eating our meals in the hotel. The food was ok, especially for a first night in Colombo, but comes off poorly when compared to our subsequent meals in Sri Lanka.

One thing we found very odd was the waiter's insistence we pay cash for the drinks and food - perhaps elained by the lack of a receipt!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales and Marketing at The Park Street Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the lovely comments comprising of such valuable feedback. Firstly let me thank you for compliments paid to The Park Street Hotel as a whole, we are truly glad that the property proved to satisfy you in some aspects.

With regard to the food, we whole-heartedly apologize to you and your companion. We will definitely work on improving in this area.

Finally regarding the incident related to the payment, we’re conducting investigations with the property in order to identify what has transpired and this matter would be paid immediate attention from our end so that it isn't repeated in the future.

Again we would like to thank you for your comments as we consider it extremely valuable feedback which aids us to better our performance as a whole in the future and provide an excellent experience to our guests.

We hope you overlook our shortcomings during this stay and urge you give us the chance to offer you a better and improved service next time.

Thanking you,

Jaime Thomas
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We only stayed here for one night straight off the plane from London so we were very tired and it was heavenly to arrive at this beautiful, calm oasis in central Colombo. Would like to have stayed longer. This hotel is built around a lovely colonial building surrounding a courtyard garden with a great swimming pool. The rooms are huge with every amenity you could wish forand (everything worked including TV and WiFI which was not always the case at other luxury hotels in sri Lanka). The staff are charming and welcoming. You can eat anywhere around the courtyard and pool or there is an air conditioned dining room. Food was good and very good value. There is a cosy bar and a large lounge area. Also a gym but we didn't get that far!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales and Marketing at The Park Street Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for the wonderful feedback which you have stated on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that The Park Street Hotel proved to be satisfactory in every angle and made you and your travelling companion feel comfortable throughout your stay.

It is a great achievement to have yet another happy guest at our hotel and that the Deluxe rooms inclusive of all amenities, wifi and the TV suited your expectations. We are also glad that the staff and food succeeded in adding value to your visit.

Thank you once again for visiting The Park Street Hotel, Please feel free to return for a longer stay and provide us with the opportunity to accommodate you in the future.

Thanking you,

Jaime Thomas
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Excellent hotel , renovated Old wallawwa , Took the Saleh Suite , close to 1000 sqf of space , pleasing decor and very helpful and attentive staff. will stay again. Please have alook at the photos I have added

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales and Marketing at The Park Street Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Ahmed,

Thank you so very much for visiting our hotel and for your review which you have been kind enough to post on Trip Advisor.

We at The Park Street Hotel are extremely glad that everything from the properties décor to the ‘Saleh’ suite to the staff was able to please you and encourage you for a future stay.

Thank you once again for the lovely comments and we hope to have you visit us soon.

Thanking you,

Jaime Thomas
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at The Park Street Hotel. The main part of the hotel is a former residence that has colonial beauty and charm. (In fact, it’s the birthplace of Sri Lanka’s first president.) As you enter, you’re greeted by a stunningly beautiful foyer and then continue on to a lovely courtyard with a relaxing pool. The service is friendly, eager-to-please and attentive. The restaurant serves delicious food in a beautiful outdoor setting. The rooms, housed in a newer building, are very large, but they’re still comfortable. The shower is also very big. The bed is comfortable, wi-fi is fast and reliable -- much better than the wi-fi at other hotels in Sri Lanka. The hotel is located down a quiet street, but still close to the city center. And just a short tuk-tuk ride to the iconic Galle Face Green and historic Galle Face Hotel. The Park Street Hotel is highly recommended for a memorable stay in Colombo.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales and Marketing at The Park Street Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

First and foremost let me offer you my heartfelt thanks for the beautiful comments that you have taken the time to put up on Trip Advisor. The whole team at The Park Street Hotel is immensely pleased that your stay at our property was enjoyable and succeeded in suiting all your expectations.

As you have mentioned in your review the property is indeed a refurbished colonial residence and has a rich history attached to it. Renovations carried out haven’t completely changed the architectural design but has still kept the authentic feel intact.

We are glad that you found the property to your liking and in addition to that, that you also found the food and service up to your standards and the rooms inclusive of all amenities and in house facilities made your stay even more memorable.

Thank you so much once again for choosing our hotel and we hope to have the chance to accommodate you in the future.

Thanking you,

Jaime Thomas
Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Wendel, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Big (partly new) rooms, very friendly staff, good breakfast, quiet location while located in the middle of Colombo. Based on a historical house, renovated. Some big rooms at the rear later added. Good swimming pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nishani R, Sales and Marketing at The Park Street Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the comments that you had taken the time to state on Trip Advisor and we are glad that you find our hotel and staff satisfactory as we strive to deliver a profound service to our guests.

As you have mentioned the Hotel itself is indeed a historical house which belonged to an aristocrat in the past and is now refurbished into a boutique hotel in the middle of Colombo.
We at The Park Street hotel are pleased that you had an eventful stay at our property and do hope to see you soon.

Thanking you,

Jaime Thomas
Sales and Marketing
The Park Street Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Park Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Street Hotel

Address: No. 20 Park Street, Colombo 02., Colombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Park Street Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Street Hotel, Colombo an escape within the city which is situated in Colombo. Although it is in Colombo it IS an "escape" because once you come in, the city morphs in to the background. It is a 250 yr old colonial bungalow and adjoining stores/warehouses that occupy an extent of 2 acres of land in the heart of Colombo. is now the newly refurbished charming, friendly 12-room boutique hotel. The Park Street Hotel, conveniently located approx 30km from the airport, provides her guests a beautiful boutique accommodation in Colombo, as either a base from which to explore the island or a few days shopping or to absorb some distinct urban Sri Lankan culture at the beginning or end of their trip. Ideal for the knowledgeable world-traveler, and anyone wanting a more authentic Sri Lankan hotel experience other than the only other "Big/Chain Hotel" options in Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Park Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Park Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.