We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms, nice pool area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Park Street Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Park Street Hotel to your Saves list
The Park Street Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 20 Park Street, Colombo 02., Colombo, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Colombo
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Spacious rooms, nice pool area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Park Street Hotel has good big rooms. Large comfortable bed, sofa, desk, large bathroom with rain shower and bath. Good linen etc gives this a high grade on comfort.

Apparently the two suites in the original Dutch house (where reception etc is) are even better.

The pool is refreshing and large enough to do some lengths, and the bar area around the pool is good. Good snacks, good drinks, friendly people. It's got a nice atmosphere in the afternoon, but doesn't get overly lively.

I'd heartily recommend this hotel with one caveat. At the time of our stay we had the feeling that it was time for some "touch-ups", a fresh coat of paint etc.

The location is good near some interesting sights and close to good restaurants.

Room Tip: The two suites are supposed to be something special
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    34
    12
    0
    5
See reviews for
21
77
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bendigo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Stunning rooms....great pool.....great service, the only place to stay in Colombo.....great location to restaurants

Room Tip: Absolutely the best boutique hotel in colombo....What can you say, the staff led by Anthony were abs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

As a twentysomething couple visiting Colombo for the first time, we wanted a 5-star hotel to be our base but fancied something more intimate and boutique than the more commercial and impersonal names such as Cinammon Grand, Hilton, etc. Park Street hotel was right up our alley.

PRO's:
1. Huge room - feels more like a mini-apartment, although without kitchen facilities. Very grand feel to the room, with high ceilings, oversized wall canvases above the huge California king-sized bed and raised bedroom area (two stairs lead upto the bed).
2. Large jacuzzi tub - looked great although we didnt use it. Bathroom, with rain shower and decent water pressure, was most enjoyable
3. Colonial chic design employed throughout the hotel - simple, smart and evocative of a bygone era. Paintings of past Sri lankan leaders adorned the entrance hall
4. Food - breakfast spread was comprehensive and tasty, including all types of eggs, fresh fruit, yoghurt, excellent coffee etc.
5. Total Privacy - due to the small nature of the hotel (i believe only 12 rooms), at times you feel like you are the only ones staying in the hotel. This also helps with the >>
6. Service - as a couple we felt like we had 5 attendants we could call upon for any particular service. All staff were generous with their help, advice and their smiles
7. Pool - a modern, beautifully lit pool - looks great at night. Not huge but large enough to swim lengths and its design adds a lot to the "modern-colonial chic" feel of the property.

CON's.
Not many, but I would say:
1. Area - not much going on in the immediate vicinity, although a 5-10 minute tuk-tuk ride will have you in Colombo city centre. Local restaurants to recommend include Lemon, Curry Leaf, and any of the restaurants at the Tintagel.
2. Too quiet? At times we felt like the only guests on the property. This can be nice if you are after total seclusion and privacy, but the hotel isnt equipped to be the kind of place where you stay for 3-4 days at a time without leaving - i.e. its not a resort as such. However, truth be told we've come during off peak season so Im sure it feels a little busier during Nov-March.
3. Services - no money change service, so make sure you change your cash at the airport. Our invoice was prepared by hand in a wood-panelled office with ceiling fan, reminiscent of the 1950's - charming but not very efficient in todays day and age

OVERALL:
Would definitely recommend this hotel purely on account of the room, the pool and the service. If you're looking for a quiet place, this is the one for you. But if you want to feel closer to the action and want a more resort-type feel to your stay, look to one of the larger hotels right in the city centre.

Room Tip: Room 2 - huge, and walks out onto the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

I had been to Sri Lanka for my friend's wedding. It was a pleasant surprise he had arranged this room for me and another friend of his who had come from UK.

We were there two days before the marriage. There was so many things happening around us with new set of people around us. But this hotel was serene, and a proper relaxation retreat for us. Cannot forget the huge size of the room. The old look blended with the new amenities. First time we had a jacuzzi in the bathroom. I have never seen a jacuzzi in a room. It was worth it as I spent some time boozing in the jacuzzi.

The marriage was arranged in the same hotel and the food is great. Though it can be challenging for vegetarians, there is a restuarant right next door which serves amazing Continental food. Very near to Gangaramiah temple and city center.

It was one of my best stay!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estepa, Spain
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

The Park Street Hotel has so many things going for it. Its location in a pleasant, peaceful area, within easy walking distance to some major attractions and shops (Odels, Paradise Road). It is also right next to the prettily renovated Park Street Mews, where there's a great café for afternoon cake and coffee and a modern ayuverdic spa & shop.The beautiful old mansion that forms the entrance and core of the hotel. The surprise of the whopping great modern rooms on the other side of the courtyard. The excellent pool. The restaurant (décor, menu, the lot) has just been given a total makeover by a New York-based Sri Lankan wunderkind (Chef Charles) and the food was delicious, plentiful and beautifully presented. Service is friendly and attentive and the small team go out of their way to be helpful. We were a little surprised when they served us hideous supermarket toast bread at our first breakfast. But we created a song and dance and home made bread appeared next morning. Now the restaurant has had its "before and after" treatment, it is time for the rooms. They are a bit tired. The large-scale, powerfully coloured paintings on the walls only serve to highlight the scuffs and stains on the bare paintwork and the modern sofas need re-upholstering. Also what about some new towels? They all bear the name "Taru Villas". Was this the hotel's previous incarnation or did they buy a job lot from a bankrupt neighbour? Toiletries, tea bag box, bath robes - all "Taru Villas"! Not good. But the good things outweigh the grouses and this was a lovely place to end our 2-week Sri Lankan holiday. And thank you for the complimentary bottle of wine with our dinner! Another example of wonderful Sri Lankan hospitality.

Room Tip: Eat in their restaurant. Use the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

We have just returned from a fascinating 2 weeks travelling the length and breadth of Sri Lanka.
Park St Hotel was everything we needed. Stylish renovation of a beautiful old bungalow, with excellent open air restaurant overlooking pool, huge bedroom with couches and massive bathroom. On arrival the manager sat us down and presented us with refreshing cool towels and fruit juice - after a long day travelling it was the the perfect touch.
Everything we asked for was attended to immediately with a smile and we were given a late check out without having to pay extra. Nearby you can walk to a fabulous Italian/Sri Lankan restaurant, galleries and the best aevedic massage in Sri Lanka.
We did a bit of sight seeing in Colombo but mainly we enjoyed coming back to this hotel and relaxing in the beautiful surroundings. There is so much to see in Sri Lanka - so many different landscapes, it was just what we needed before heading home.
PS there were no weddings on when we were there - just check before you book as you could have the same problem in any small hotel in Sri Lanka

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

My boyfriend and I spent two nights at The Park Street hotel whilst in Colombo. The staff were really wonderful from start to finish. Incredibly friendly and helpful without being over the top. The room was great, had a real wow factor - lots of space and a very comfortable bed. The only let down would be bathroom - it's starting to look tired (however don't let this put you off staying).
Probably not the best value for money in Colombo - but a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Park Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Street Hotel

Address: No. 20 Park Street, Colombo 02., Colombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Park Street Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Street Hotel, Colombo an escape within the city which is situated in Colombo. Although it is in Colombo it IS an "escape" because once you come in, the city morphs in to the background. It is a 250 yr old colonial bungalow and adjoining stores/warehouses that occupy an extent of 2 acres of land in the heart of Colombo. is now the newly refurbished charming, friendly 12-room boutique hotel. The Park Street Hotel, conveniently located approx 30km from the airport, provides her guests a beautiful boutique accommodation in Colombo, as either a base from which to explore the island or a few days shopping or to absorb some distinct urban Sri Lankan culture at the beginning or end of their trip. Ideal for the knowledgeable world-traveler, and anyone wanting a more authentic Sri Lankan hotel experience other than the only other "Big/Chain Hotel" options in Colombo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Park Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Park Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.