We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another glorious experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Colombo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Colombo to your Saves list
Casa Colombo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Galle Rd | Bambalapitiya, Colombo 4, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Colombo
Singapore
1 review
“Another glorious experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

Being a frequent visitor to Sri Lanka, Casa Colombo is my home away from home. As Sri Lanka being a safest destination in the South Asia, I decided to take some of my colleagues to SL on a business trip and without second thought I decided to stay at Casa. As my colleagues were making their maiden visit to SL, Case Colombo gave them the pleasingly different experience of their life time. They were impressed with innovative design and the outstanding level of service with an attentive staffs during our short stay (2 nights). All the suites were amazing and clean with all the facilities a business traveller would love to have. The suites are very clean and big. The bathroom was spacious with a bathtub and extremely clean. Crisp linen and comfortable beds. Personal computers, Ipod, LCD and a closet in the room, helping you to keep the suite tidy.

The staffs were nice, and very helpful. None of us felled that we are away from home as every one of us were given a personnel butler, who ensured our stay in Sri Lanka was wonderful.

Highly recommend this hotel for design fanatics, excellent personalised service, the lobby, the bar and the suites are worth the experience.

Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    158
    27
    15
    16
See reviews for
61
396
33
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

The service from arrival to checkout was top notch. We stayed in a corporate suite what a wow, what a design, is that “must see” type of suite with every gadget imaginable. Your own private butler! The outdoor T republic was delightful to use specially at night under the stars and the food was superb. The staff remembered us by name and nothing was too much trouble. It was our first stay at CASA Colombo but have visited in the past for social events like using the restaurant or celebrating our birthday. Honestly speaking staying at CASA Colombo gives a whole new meaning to “customer service” and “attention to detail”. We will be back defiantly, thank you guys for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

We've been dicovering Sri Lanka and stood at Casa Colombo for our some days in the city.
What a great adventure with everyone taking care of us and so comfortably. The hotel is so creative but all commodities and service are at the top. A living dream...

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Stayed here one night - it was supposed to be a birthday treat but it turned out to be a huge disappointment for both of us. We arrived a sunday evening - all the restaurants were closed. No room service - we had to go out of the Hotel to get a meal.
We were given a room - the first thing that happened when our butler was showing the facilities, was that the TV fell down from the wall - they used 20 minutes to hang it up with a hammer - and only a temporarily and bad solution. I noticed that the floor was not clean - the sofa was stained and sticky to sit in - we had to put a towel over it before we could use it. The bed linen was dirty and used - we actually had to throw the pillows away because they smelled of other peoples sweat! Gross!!!!!!!
What was working was the bathtube in front of the bed and the small pool on the terrace - but the jacuzzi outside had only cold water. The mini bar was empty - luckily we brought our own wine and DVDs. But there was no snacks, no free water. In the morning there was no one to make breakfast for us - we had to go to work, so we were up early. No one there to check us out. I would absolutely not recommend this hotel to anyone - there are plenty of other fancy hotels in Colombo that are better. The management should really rethink their whole concept - my experience is that this is really unserious business, managed by someone who doesn't care about the Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, June 22, 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay back in November 2009 posted in April 2010

It was sad to read that your birthday was not as enjoyable as it should have been with us and we apologize that we fell short of your expectations.

I am saddened by the review as it is of unimaginable content and close to impossibility, but I like to assure you that cleanliness is one of our priority and there is no way that we have given a suite with dirty linen. I am unable to verify what happened as your stay seems to be 6 month ago, nevertheless, whatever happened during your stay, it seems we have failed you and that in itself is something we regret.

As we do with all feedback we will certainly review your points with the entire team so that we can continue to make improvements where required and again our apologies that you did not enjoy your time with us.

Perhaps you will give us another chance and I personally assure you, that you will have a memorable experience which we are known for.

Yours Sincerely,

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indonesia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

I came to know Casa from the various internet information, including their home web. And unlike other web, whereby the picture image on the web is totally different then the reality, this one does not apply. Because this one is exactly the same and even better. It's quirky, eclectic, unique, one of a kind!

The room I booked in was the Traveller Suite. I stayed there for a couple of nites in February, and came back again in March. The casa domo, Kumara, was a big help, efficient and remembered what time to wake me up, what I would have for breakfast, after work, etc.

The bedroom is huge, spacious and complete with electronic gadget, WIFI, Ipod docking, audio, rotating TV. They would also let you stay with no additional cost if you would need for a later check out and provided that room is available.

It feels like staying at your own home, whereby you can relax and not having a waiter attending to you all the time, but as a matter of fact, they do!

Food is good, plenty of choice for a vegan like me. I love their home made hoppers for breakfast, including the side veggie curry and various sombol for accompaniments.

Going around from this place to various city attraction is easy too. I can always stop a tuk-tuk right outside the mansion, or call a local cab.

I am coming back for my year end holiday!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, CZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

We choose this hotel on the net, because we like the style. Working as a decor stylist and a photographer, we wanted something special. The moment we arrived at Casa Colombo, we appreciated every moment. Great welcome, personal butler Kuma, beautiful suite so spacious and well decorated, we enjoyed the food in the resto, a breakfast on the terrace, hidden swimming pool. GM Mr.Horst is the best! The best room we've had anywhere on our travels for such a reasonable price. We would recommend it and if we are back in Colombo, definitely be staying in CC)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

My Family and I went to Sri Lanka in October on 2008, after a grueling couple of months at work. This vacation was much needed. The Hotel is bang in the heart of the city and is not too far from the Airport. The sheer structure is magnificent! The approach the white polished lane, with an antique car parked at the entrance ( i asked if i could use that around town - but was told that, it's a decorative item!) the waiting room was a verandah, with lovely cane furniture. We had 2 munchkins traveling with us aged 10 and 5. They simply loved the landscape and pool. The Pool has pink tiles, with silver balls to play with - Amazing! They had lovely cabanas and deck chairs... The Best part of the hotel was the room! -Large - Trippy... Gold! The Bathrooms has old school bathtubs, amazing sinks and a lovely view. There was every conceivable gadget / device / remote control in my room... The Kids simply loved that... the walk to other rooms, made me experience the trippiest yet sober visual... a passage, which has art neon colors, with a uv light, and funky tassels! Superb - I say! Dinner was in this plush dining room, with crystal chandeliers, high ceilings, and the sky with stars painted on the ceiling... the food was heavenly... i remember lusting for the dessert! Colombo overall is no great shakes.. but one must visit, experience the casa colombo, visit paradise road, and then go on ahead to other parts on Ceylon ( I much prefer that name!)

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colombo

Address: 231 Galle Rd | Bambalapitiya, Colombo 4, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Colombo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#4 Family Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 200 year old mansion restored and converted to a retro-chic hotel with 12 exclusive designer suites, 2 trendy restaurants the stylish bar and tea garden, and a pink pool. Guests looked after by private Domos and transfers done in vantage cars or helicopters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Splendia, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colombo Hotel Colombo
Casa Hotel Colombo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Colombo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.