We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Colombo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Colombo to your Saves list
Casa Colombo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Galle Rd | Bambalapitiya, Colombo 4, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Colombo
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Boutique Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hidden away from view of the busy thoroughfare that is the Galle Road, The Casa Colombo is right on trend.
Traditional decor blends effortlessly with quirky design and provided everything we needed in the right place, fully functional and sartorially pleasing. This is a very comfortable hotel. Added to that the attention of your very own concierge who can advise on where to go and what to see, but also orders transport and takes you personally to the shops and this is a pretty up-market experience.
The hotel building is apparently quite old and colonial in style. It seems to have watched the City of Colombo grow up around it and that is the only irritant. There are no views beyond the hotel compound because you are surrounded by taller buildings. However inside the buildiong the frosted glass windows prevent that being a real problem and the interior and poolside courtyard style makes everything feel very comfortable.
After dark you can see some real genius behind the hotel's design working with their lighting throughout the hotel and grounds. Even on two very wet nights when there in the Monsoon, the reflections and light plays through glass and over water were extraordinary.
The blend of different modern and traditional elements really works and the food served in the restaurant follows a similar theme, with the meals we had (2 X Breakfast, 1 X Lunch & 1 X Dinner) reflecting a good range of choices from the really fabulous traditional Sri Lankan food and International options.
This is a great place to start or finish a visit to SL which should ease you into the pace of life there in a very comfortable way.

Room Tip: Room 3 has windows on two sides being on the corner of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
You have WOWed us with your review of CASA Colombo. We are very grateful for your wonderful comments and thank you from the bottom of our hearts. More than anything, we are pleased to have been able to give you a stay like no other, and look forward to more visits from you in the future.

Yes, evenings at CASA Colombo is a unique experience on its own, and we are happy to note that you have enjoyed it. We do hope you were able to enjoy a refreshing cocktail and some cool music inside the “Glass Cube” Zaza Bar, with the water trailing along its walls.

Thank you for all your lovely comments. See you soon.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    169
    33
    16
    17
See reviews for
69
430
35
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed staying at Casa Colombo. Great design throughout the entire hotel! From the lobby to the swimming pool to your room, it's a unique & memorable experience in this colonial villa. My assigned butler took good care of me and made sure that I felt at home. Great Happy Hour and good selection of cocktails. Definitely worth visiting. Nath

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
There is nothing more pleasing to us than knowing that we have succeeded in giving you an enjoyable and memorable stay at CASA Colombo. Thank you for a lovely review.

We are glad that you have been able to experience the uniqueness of CASA Colombo and that you have been able to sample everything we have had to offer you, from the Pink Pool to the retro chic rooms to the uniqueness of the Zaza Bar.

We do look forward to seeing you again at CASA Colombo and for the opportunity to wow you once again.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Very funky hotel with boutiquey decorations. The bar, pool and restaurant are nicely decorated and impressive. Definitely worth the experience staying in something so different.

The rooms are really big and the tub and sitting area are incredible. Very luxurious and the staff make you feel at home. Recommend it to anyone going to Colombo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review and recommendation. We are glad you have had an enjoyable stay at CASA Colombo.

We believe in giving you that very personal experience at CASA Colombo, and making you feel right at home with us…. like being with your family. That is certainly what you are to us once you walk through the gates of CASA Colombo. We love nothing more than taking care of your every need and helping you to relax and unwind by pampering you in luxury.

We would love to see you again at CASA Colombo. Come back soon.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We live in Colombo.... however we go to the Casa Colombo for a quiet relaxing evening. You would never know that down the end of the narrow raodway was a piece of paradise. Loved it - will always be going back there to relax and unwind. The building is absolutley wonderful too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We loved reading you review of CASA Colombo, and are so pleased that you had a wonderful time whilst with us. Thank you.

We are indeed thrilled to note that you were able to have a quiet and relaxed time at CASA Colombo, and certainly this is what we endeavor to achieve with our lounge music and peaceful surroundings. We love it that you will be coming back to us, and are looking forward to seeing you again with much anticipation.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Best hotel ever!!!
I hesitate with other hotel with a see view ( Lavinia) but I'm really happy of my choice!
Better than big hotels as Hilton, Courtyard,... Because you have a personal service that you can't find in other hotels.
Really helpfull staff, big room as in your dreams, decoration of the hotel perfect, amazing food, perfect internet connection, nice garden with amazing swimmingpool. Staff arrange everything for you and all the times with the smiles.
Nothing bad. I would recommend this hotel to all people who want to visit Colombo.
Thanks to Colombo staff who made my stay unforgetable.
I'll for sure come back in thisnotel without any doubts! Moreover, they won the prize as the best boutique hotel in the world! It's not for nothing that La casa colombo is the first choice of trip,advisors members

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
What an amazing review of CASA Colombo! Simply fantastic! We were nothing short of thrilled to read your wonderful comments, but also humbled at the same time, since your review takes us back to the time when we were all involved in the loving restoration of CASA Colombo.

Those were trying times for us, and everyone worked exceptionally hard, and it is so rewarding to note that we have achieved what we set out to be…. The best Boutique Hotel in the World! We owe it all to wonderful guests such as yourself.

We are so happy that you have had a memorable stay with us, and to note your promise of returning to us. See you soon and take care.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We only stayed one night to prepare for our travels round Sri Lanka, but would have been happy to stay much longer.
The hotel is tucked away from the main road in an excellent location, and was the perfect start to the holiday.
Original decor, great facilities, fantastic large bedrooms and a very helpful and friendly butler that went out of his way to accommodate all our needs and help us plan our onward trip.
There is also a lovely outdoor area with swimming pool and spa if you have the time.
Would definitely stay again if I went back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for some lovely comments in your review of CASA Colombo. We have shared them with our entire Team.

It is thrilling to note that we have been able to give you a fantastic experience whilst at CASA Colombo, and taking care of your every need is our way of ensuring that your stay with us is as relaxing and comfortable as possible. We do hope you had a chance to unwind a bit at the Zaza Bar or in our famous “Pink Pool” before your departure.

We would definitely love to see you again at CASA Colombo. Please come back soon.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Casa for the 2nd time in June. I didn't think it could be better then the first but it WAS.
Our Suite was so big and again was filled with all the Wow that out first visit offered. It is great to come back to Casa after a busy day of sight seeing, and relax on the veranda with a cold drink and laugh about the days adventures. Our personal Domo was Arrun he was there to check us in at 1.30 am after our long flight. Arrun was so helpful, he did all our bookings for cars/tuk tuks and restaurants. Casa and Arrun certainly made our stay in Colombo more memorable.
I would recommend Casa Colombo, even for just one night you won't want to leave!!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
You have certainly WOWed us with your review of CASA Colombo, and we are happy to have been able to WOW you with CASA Colombo. It is a real pleasure to note that this is your second visit with us, and we look forward to many more.

Our idea of having a personal domo for you whilst you are at CASA Colombo is to ensure that you do not have to worry about the little things like your vehicle bookings etc, and you have more time to relax and enjoy the peaceful ambience of CASA Colombo.

We are also very sad every time a guest leaves our beloved hotel, but we take heart in the fact that we will see you again very soon.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colombo

Address: 231 Galle Rd | Bambalapitiya, Colombo 4, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Colombo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#2 Family Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 200 year old mansion restored and converted to a retro-chic hotel with 12 exclusive designer suites, 2 trendy restaurants the stylish bar and tea garden, and a pink pool. Guests looked after by private Domos and transfers done in vantage cars or helicopters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Casa Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colombo Hotel Colombo
Casa Hotel Colombo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Colombo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.