We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere, would come again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 41 Sugar

41 Sugar
Rooftop Gymkhana Pool Complex | No, 41 Maitland Cresent, Colombo, Sri Lanka
+94 77 739 7818
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 348 Restaurants in Colombo
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, would come again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Lovely setting, nice relaxed atmosphere, quick and efficient service. reasonable prices. Jazz band most nights, place gets busy later on. Would come again.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    14
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food, but way too loud music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The location, food and ambience is excellent. Sitting in the open balcony with a cool wind blowing is always a pleasure. We love this place. But the band is way too loud. They now pipe the band's music even on to the balcony, so there is no getting away from it. Conversation is very difficult. On the night we were there, everyone was seated outside, which obviously means that very few are interested in the loud music. Soft background music, where conversation is possible, is always welcome. I hope the Management will look into this.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mittagong, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very cool bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We came by this venue by chance as we were looking to go to another bar (Clancy 's) in our guide book that was now closed. This place was great, a very stylish bar with great views and very chic looking patrons. We didn't eat here however we discovered from chatting with other patrons, that a restaurant we ate at earlier that night elsewhere in Colombo (also called Sugar) is owned by the same company. We had a good experience at that restaurant. We'd recommend visiting this bar and the other Sugar restaurant/wine bar in Colombo.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zahran z, Social Media at 41 Sugar, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hi Melody,

Glad you enjoyed the visit and Thank you for the lovely review :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good service even on a weeknight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This bar has great ambience. Their cocktails are yummy & food delectable. Lovely music & attentive service. Centrally located in Colombo. Good place to chillax.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zahran z, Social Media at 41 Sugar, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hi Amali,

Glad you enjoyed the visit and Thank you for the recommendation :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“fab cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

found this bar/rest. by chance..went with group off a cruise ship...Rooftop is great.fab view's and very cool.. we didnt eat just tryed out the hennesy cocktails.......not the cheapest...most of the people there were mid 20's early 30's..seems its the place to be.....spoke to the manager who said they have another bar in Sri lanka. we didnt have time to check it out....we went to disco. and we were the only one's in there but it was mid week...seems sat. is the best nt....there isnt a lot of seating on roof mainly around bar..but there is another room where you can eat inside... One problem we had couldnt get a taxi when we left. asked staff who said they had ordered 2 but they didnt arrive...managed to get 3 tuk tuk's...If you arrive by ship you will have a problem getting any taxi /tuk tuk to go near to ship ..most cant go in to the very large working port area..so expect a good 20 min walk..............

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 41 Sugar also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to 41 Sugar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 41 Sugar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.