We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cinnamon Grand Colombo to your Saves list
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 252, 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Colombo
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for a week in January. It really is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, always smiling and seemed interested in doing their job. There are numerous restaurants at the hotel and the food is wonderful. Not too pricy either. The rooms are comfortable, the room service is swift and the meny is quite varied. The pool area could perhaps have been bigger, but it didn't really matter. The hotel has a beautiful garden with lucious vegetation and a lagoon with fish.

There is a small shopping mall in connection to the hotel (with a large supermarket in the basement). Also, in an apartment complex in the connection to the hotel there is a great fitness gym, which of course is free for hotel guests (there's a gym at the hotel as well, but it's not as large as the other one). There's also a taxi service at the hotel, which is very practical because you don't have to go into the street. I also felt that the security at the hotel was great, so I always felt safe.

I would definitely come back to the hotel. It really is excellent! :)

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    774
    210
    66
    60
See reviews for
357
614
136
561
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

As one of the few Americans to ever stay in this hotel, I'll add my two cents worth. After staying at 6 different hotels throughout Sri Lanka in a two week period, I'll rate this as the best of the lot. There are different qualities of rooms within this hotel and mine was not the best, having a view of a large empty lot. My companions had a view of the luxurious pool and had queen size beds compared to my two twin beds. Things we Americans look for are cleanliness, good food and good service so I'll address these areas. Cleanliness...excellent. The bathroom was definitely clean, no dirty grout around the bathtub, sink and toilet clean, the usual soap, shampoo, conditioner, shower caps included. However, there was only one bar of soap, not the usual two. But very clean compared to others we stayed at. Bed sheets and comforter appeared very clean. There was a coffee/tea service on a stand by the desk. Two bottles of complimentary water in the bathroom. A refrigerator with mini bar and lower prices for those items than I've seen at other hotels. 100 rupees for a coke, 400 rupees for a beer as examples. The cable reception on the TV was crisp and offered Fox News, National Geograhpics, and some English movie channels as well as channels in the local languages. I didn't test the room service but the prices for breakfast are unbelievably low offering American style breakfast items such as eggs and bacon with toast and juice. If I wasn't with friends I would have given it a try. Our stay included free breakfast and dinner in one of the restaurants downstairs. I don't remember the name. But the buffet was a fantastic deal with eggs cooked to order. Many items to choose from such as scrambled eggs, bacon, ham, large varieties of fruit, breads and such. Complimentary coffee/tea and juices. Dinner also had a wide variety of items such as crab, various meats, salads, breads, but drinks are not included except water and coffee. Everything was delicious by American standards. There are several restaurants in this hotel including a place called Cheers Pub and the London Grill. I tested the fried liver and bacon at Cheers for 350 rupees (about $3.50) and found it much to my liking. They also have Shepherd's Pie but I'll try that another time. The London Grill had Chateubriand (spelling?) for 6000 rupees, about $60. I wish I had more time to test the samplings of those restaurants. They are on par with any fine restaurant in the states such as Ruth's Chris Steakhouse. The service at Cheers and the hotel's buffet are slower than the typical American restaurant but better than the other places I stayed throughout the country. The hotel has a jewelry store, asundry shop with books and personal items you may have forgotten, a very nice coffee shop with inexpensive snacks, and all beautifully decorated. This is rated as a 5 star in this country.

  • Liked — Excellent restaurants, very nice accomodations
  • Disliked — Only one bar of soap in the room, view of empty lot on one side of hotel.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/ Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

We booked our room at the Cinnamon Grand the night before we went to Colombo. From the moment we arrived, it was fantastic. It was so good and so relaxing that we didn't see as much of Sri lanka as we'd planned!!!

The best bits:

1) The service- staff were outstanding everywhere in the hotel, really helpful but never intrusive. We saw the staff at the pool bar deal with a really obnoxious man brilliantly- they were lovely. Faultless service for a full 10 days.
2) The choice of food- all great restaurants in their own right, from expensive luxury to quick cheap cafes- fantastic
3) The use of the spa attached- I had it to myself most days- a sauna, jacuzzi, steam rooms, and hot and cold baths. Fantastic gyms too. I had a personal yoga class!
4) Room was super comfotable with nice tocuhes like chocolate and flowers on your bed at night and cinnamon scented toiletries
5) good location- i imagine esp for business travellers. It is one of the few hotels Ive been to that is 5 star for business and leisure
6) the lobby- great to have a drink and watch all the events and weddings going on there
7) the pool- beautiful and quiet
8) beautifully decorated for Christmas

One negative- the price of the hotel cars for day trips, nothing else!

  • Liked — everything, but especially the staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

I stayed here for 2 periods; one of 3 nights and another of one night. For the first stay I was in a standard room in the new wing with a sea view. For the second stay I booked a club room.

The rooms are similar in size, but with the club room you get separate check in, bottle of wine, welcome drink (including alcoholic choice), free internet, high tea, cocktail hour and breakfast. So you are pretty well looked after.

The hotel has a very good choice of restaurants (my favourite is TAO). The pool is large. Staff generally are good although I found the pool bar staff to be surly and lacking initiative. You could lie in the sun for hours without being approached to take a drinks order.

Take care if you are using a credit card - they block an amount on arrival which goes onto your card IN ADDITION to your check out amount. The blocked amount then gets reversed a few days later. I discovered this when I could not use my card subsequently as it had reached its limit.

This is my choice of hotel in Colombo.

  • Liked — Location; room; restaurants
  • Disliked — Pool bar staff
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bombay
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

The Cinnamon hotel is a great buisness hotel which has great great rooms,great food and staff that are always willing to please.The buisness lounge is extremely comfortable with very flexible hours.The Cinnomon hotel is also great if you are travelling with your kids.The Lagoon restaurant is a great restaurant with great food and even better service.the best buisness hotel in colombo on my list
cheers

  • Liked — THE EXECUTIVE FLOOR
  • Disliked — SOME OF THE STAFF YEARNED TO BE TIPPED
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

Booked a 1 bedroom suite for an incredibly low price and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Excellent location , newly refurburbished and spacious rooms and excellent restaurants.

Service in Sri Lanka doesnt seem a priority and although Cinnamon was not as bad as the other hotels we stayed at in Sri Lanka, there were definate areas to improve on ( 2 calls to a department to get things done seems to be the norm in Sri Lanka!!!)

Definately better than its competitors in Colombo!!

  • Liked — Spaciousness of Rooms
  • Disliked — Delay in attending to needs
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2008

Just back from a week on business in Colombo. A secretary at one of the firms we met insisted that we stay there vs. the Hilton- and she was definitely right. Very pleasant stay. Everything worked. Looked better than the lobby of the Hilton.

This is a solid, 4 star business hotel. The renovated rooms are clean, fresh and light, but compact. No steam irons available though. We used an outside car service; the hotel allowed us to post this charge to our bill with no fuss.

The new gym in the adjacent building was not half bad, although could have used more aircon/ventilation. The restaurants are all very good, except for the coffee shop in the morning, which is busy, drab, and mediocre. Tao has tables by the pool that are great.

I don't understand why there are complaints on the internet price; it was actually far cheaper than in most countries where I go on business.

  • Liked — Clean, fresh, good business hotel
  • Disliked — Coffee shop
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Address: P.O. Box 252, 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#2 Business Hotel in Colombo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#5 Family Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center.Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access.The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill.To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub’, and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices.There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard.Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinnamon Grand Colombo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.