We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Party is always on...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cinnamon Grand Colombo to your Saves list
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 252, 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Colombo
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Party is always on...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

It is one of the popular hotels in Colombo and also for hosting wedding banquets. The rooms in the new wing are quieter but for breakfast it is better to be at the main restaurant. Internet access is exceptionally good.

Room Tip: Pool side facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo. Your kind feedback is much appreciated and we look forward to welcome you once again, to enjoy more of our Cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    668
    185
    62
    53
See reviews for
311
530
122
512
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

the hotel is enormous, has two pools , and at least four restaurants. we ate in two of them and they were both very good. I liked the bar by the pool under the huge tree, and theresturant adjacent toit. The service is good, not too personal been so big, but good quality for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your valuable feedback on our facilities and services. We are glad you had a good stay and look forward to welcome you again sometime in the future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Large hotel with beautiful Christmas decor. Very centrally located, with the Crescat shopping centre adjoining the hotel and about a 5 minute walk to the beack (across the main road). No sea view rooms from the hotel however some lake view rooms available.
Seems to be in the inplace for everyone in town as it is constantly buzzing. Lots of very good restaurants with great food and reasonable prices. Buffet breakfast was fabulous - food selection was different every day. Iced Coffee to die for in the lobby cafe.
Great service esp housekeeping and restuarant staff. Will definitely recommend the hotel to anyone looking for quality/service.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your review and for your recommendation of the Cinnamon Grand Colombo. We are delighted you had a lovely stay and appreciate your encouraging feedback on our services and facilities as well as our food offerings.

We look forward to welcome you to yet another memorable stay, maybe in the not too distant future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Excellent service and smiles from all the staff and always helpful.
Two lovely swimming pools and plenty of restaurants cafés and bars to choose from.
The only thing I would say to be aware of, is if you leave the Hotel for a walk,be aware that someone will come up to you and start talking and tell you they work at the hotel. Then they say theywill show you where you are looking for as a kind gesture of course, Then all of a sudden a tuc tuc comes along as you are told it is some way off and before you know it you end up paying not only the tuc tuc but the
Supposedly hotel worker. Apparently this is what they all say as that makes you talk to them.Then they drop you off just before your hotel so they are not seen.
So just be cautious we got caught the first time but not the second time we left the hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms I believe are good as they are around a central atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your kind review. It is a pleasure to know that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed our service and facilities as well as our hospitality.

Thank you also for your warning, which we trust would help many a tourist to be on the alert outside the hotel. We look forward to having you stay with us again to indulge in more of our services and cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

It is located on Galle Road in the main commercial area of Colombo. It is about 5 mins walk from the sea shore but you cannot view the sea from the hotel. It has a residential tower on one side and a shopping mall on the other. The check kin was quick and I was offered a cold towel and a welcome fruit drink when during the process of checking in. The reception area has a coffee shop attached and is buzzing with activity. The hotel has several restaurants serving different cuisines like Italian, continental, Indian, sea food etc. The room was relatively small but modern and well furnished with a study table, a lounging chair and table and a 32 inch Samsung LCD TV which showed a selection of channels. A ironing board and steam iron is also kept in the room. Bath robes and slippers were also provided. The mattress quality is very good and you can select pillows of your choice. The AC controls worked well. The bathroom was small but had a bath tub and a shower enclosure. This hotel is very popular for weddings and you can observe a Srilankan wedding from the lobby covered with sound proof glass as the weddings are held in a central square at the ground floor level. The break fast has a good spread available. I had booked a hotel car for airport drop and was surprised when the driver asked me to pay the toll of Rs 300 on the expressway as this was already included in the advance payment made to the hotel. When I refused to pay the driver paid up but the hotel should look into these attempts to extract money from customers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your detailed review of the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your valuable feedback on our facilities, services and dining options. Thank you for bringing to our attention the issue you had regarding the toll on the expressway.

If you had booked the taxi from the hotel, then the toll is included in the charge. We would therefore greatly appreciate if you would send us more details via the email address given below, such as your room number, name and the dates you stayed with us; in order to investigate this further and take remedial action.

We trust this will not deter you from staying with us again if you do visit Sri Lanka in the not too distant future.

Best regards.
gm.grand@cinnamonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Cinnamon Grand is a luxury 5-star hotel, and charges like one, but doesn't deliver the appropriate experience. To be clear, our experience wasn't poor - it was more like slightly-above-average, but it wasn't in line with what we expected. Here's the good, the "ok", and the bad:

Good
- Grandeur: the lobby, and scale of the hotel, give it a sense of grandeur, albeit a little in need of a makeover
- Liveliness: the hotel has an undeniable buzz about it - it would be see a crazy amount of activity even at midnight, and not in an unpleasant way
- Location: pretty close to most of the things you want to see in Colombo

Ok
- Rooms: clean and comfortable, but small-ish, and in need of a makeover
- Food: very large number of choices, but mostly mediocre

Bad
- The service, which was generally inefficient. They weren't able to help us with travel matters, made billing errors, had tedious check outs, etc.
- Lacks the sea views that most of its peer group enjoys

Overall, I'm afraid I can't recommend this hotel at a USD 200+ price point. And with the plethora of new properties coming up (Shangri La, ITC, etc.), Cinnamon Grand runs a serious risk of getting beaten down unless it pulls up its socks.

Room Tip: Choose rooms in the wing away from their open "functions" area, as it tends to be very noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your review.

Whilst appreciating the time taken to post your review, we are sorry to learn about your disappointment. Please accept our sincere apologies and be assured that we will certainly investigate into your complaint.

For this purpose it would be appreciated if you will kindly send us via the email address below, the relevant details pertaining to your stay and the specific issues you faced, to facilitate the investigation.

Best regards
gm.grand@cinnamonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I was in Sri Lanka for a leisure trip. I stayed over in the hotel for 3 days and it was top notch.

A warm welcome, a very friendly staff, nice rooms, restaurants with amazing lip-smacking food. The buffet breakfast was not repetitive and was new each day. I experienced the very best of hospitality.

I also landed up meeting a few international cricketers there, who were touring against Sri Lanka.

Will definitely be staying at this hotel every time I visit Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo. It’s a pleasure to note that you have enjoyed your stay and our hospitality. Thank you for your compliments on our facilities and food.

It would indeed be a pleasure to welcome you to yet another indulgence in our services and cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Address: P.O. Box 252, 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#2 Business Hotel in Colombo
#3 Family Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center.Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access.The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill.To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub’, and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices.There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard.Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinnamon Grand Colombo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.