We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cinnamon Grand Colombo to your Saves list
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 252, 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Colombo
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Superb breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

There are so many reviews of this hotel, that I will keep mine short.
This is a luxury hotel, and you will get what you expect. We had no reservation, and the walk-in price was 204 USD net for a "standard" doubleroom incl breakfast. And what a breakfastbuffet!
I have never experienced anything like it. Amongst other things I counted 27 different warm dishes and five different types of danish pastry. Awesome!
Of the hotel restaurants I can reccomend the italian. The Village was a total rip-off. Cozy atmosphere, but 6000 rupies net for some roti and curries is insane.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your kind review.

We are very glad that you had a good stay and enjoyed the breakfast buffet in particular. Thank you for your detailed and complimentary feedback on it. We hope you would stay with us again to experience more of our facilities and cinnamon hospitality, if you do visit Sri Lanka in the future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    772
    210
    66
    60
See reviews for
357
613
136
561
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Beds were a huge issue even after changing rooms. Staff was friendly and overall it was really nice but paying what I did one would expect the beds to be wayyyyy better than what I was given. I really wanted to give the place a higher rating but not being able to sleep on a decent bed was a huge issue.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your feedback.

Whilst it is heartening to note that overall you had a nice stay, we regret that you were unhappy with the beds. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused as a result. We sincerely hope this issue will not deter you from staying with us again, if you do visit Sri Lanka in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here the last few nights prior to heading back to the States. The kids thought this was an amazing hotel. The dining choices were just above and beyond. Had the opportunity to dine at most of the restaurants here and I was quite amazed how wonderful the food was. The staff is very friend and made the stay quite inviting. Excellent choice in Colombo.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

It was such a pleasure reading your complimentary feedback. Indeed we are most delighted that you and your family enjoyed the stay, especially the dining options and thank you for your recommendation.

We do look forward to welcoming you for yet another memorable stay with us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Cinnamon Grand is one of the finest hotels in Colombo and is highly recommended to corporate guests. The hotel has a very serene touch to it. The service, as of any other five star hotel, is excellent. More than the service, the reason to stay in this hotel is to have a truly five star experience along with the good food offered at all of it's highly rated restaurants.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your complimentary review and especially your recommendation of the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are delighted that you had a great stay with us and appreciate your compliments on our hotel, service and food offerings. Thank you once again for the confidence placed in the Cinnamon Grand and we look forward to delight you with more of our hospitality, on your return.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We chose to stay here for our last 2 nights in Sri Lanka before heading home. The check-in process was really slow. They were quite busy at the time and we were asked to sit on the nearby lounges to wait for our check-in to be completed, which we did happily with our welcome drinks in hand. And wait we did, until my husband asked them what was taking so long. We were taken to our room, which had all the creature comforts one would expect from a Cinnamon hotel. There are lots of chic little shops in the foyer for those last minute purchases, be they jewellery or homewares. Crescat Boulevard is just next door, with a few excellent tea stores for a take-home momento. Loved the fact that there are 17 restaurants from which to choose to have lunch or dinner, together with a tea lounge and a coffee lounge. Food is meant to be this hotel's speciality but breakfast was a disappointment. We were shown to a table with a soiled tablecloth and which had not been cleaned. Having failed to get the attendant to clean it up, we were moved to a new table. The food was good with a mix of Western and Sri Lankan breakfast favourites (the bircher museli shots are lovely) but not as great as we had been led to believe. The check-out process was similarly slow, and the airport transfer we had booked when we made our reservation was not processed. Overall, a good hotel with all the creature comforts but could do with some fine tuning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for taking the time to post your review.

Let me at the outset sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay with us. The problems you encountered are not in keeping with the high standard that we try to maintain at all times, and you can be rest assured that corrective measures will be taken.

We are glad though, in spite of these issues, for your words of praise on our rooms, location and dining options and do hope you would give us another opportunity to indulge you with more of our facilities and cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were a group stayed as 3 families with teenage children. The staff was very good and friendly. The hotel was excellant and the food options were good. overall a good experience. While one of the member who came late night had some delay in chk in, it was otherwise a very pleasant stay

Room Tip: Ask for a lake facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your feedback. It’s a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the dining options as well as the cinnamon hospitality.

Whilst we apologize for the issue with the delayed check-in, we do look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I wanted to write this review to give an idea to all the reviewers and of course for the Management at Cinnamon Grand Hotel. Even though this might be just one situation, Cinnamon Grand must take special efforts to TRAIN THEIR STAFF INORDER TO RESPECT THEIR LOCAL CLIENTS than respecting foreigners first.
1. I had my wedding at Cinnamon Grand Colombo in Feb 2013. The reception went well and i and my husband drove off for dinner, to a nearby restaurant, in the night. On our way back, we noticed that the car parks were full and I got down from the car to call in for valet parking , while my husband waited parked outside the lobby area.

I went to the the valet and told him whether I could get the service done? He shrugged and told me to go and ask "THE OTHER SIR" (who was also a valet) who quickly went and took over another car, while this man also went someother way, completely ignoring my request.

2. The reception staff is also not very friendly and TILL we went and asked for the complements (vine and complementary cake and fruit basket), they DID NOT send it to the room.

3. You should First take steps to discipline your staff..... and worst of all,in the morning, when we went and sat for breakfast, even though we requested for tea a couple of times from a couple of waiters, nobody brought it to us for a long time, until my husband requested one waiter and told "How many times do we have to tell you guys to bring a cup of tea?, Try to pay equal attention to the local customers than catering to the foreigners only". We also pay the SAME AMOUNT OF MONEY.
Lateron, we went to Jet Wing- Vil Uyana, for honeymoon, and then we figuredTHAT IS WHAT YOU CALL SERVICE.
Even though I have travelled a dozen times around and out of the country, this is the worst ever service I ever actualy got, even after paying such a big amount to the hotel.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny". Reception halls are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are concerned with your comments regarding the various issues you have faced during your stay with us and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and ill feelings this has caused you. It is our policy to treat all our valued customers alike, irrespective of their race, religion or colour and we strictly abide by this policy. However, please be assured that we will certainly inquire into these issues and take strict disciplinary action where necessary.

Whilst thanking you for bringing this to our attention, we sincerely hope you will consider staying with us again so you could experience the true cinnamon hospitality.

With best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Address: P.O. Box 252, 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#2 Business Hotel in Colombo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#5 Family Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center.Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access.The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill.To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub’, and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices.There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard.Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinnamon Grand Colombo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.