We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colombo Opulence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Cinnamon Grand Colombo to your Saves list
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 252, 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Colombo
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Colombo Opulence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We chose to stay here for our last 2 nights in Sri Lanka before heading home. The check-in process was really slow. They were quite busy at the time and we were asked to sit on the nearby lounges to wait for our check-in to be completed, which we did happily with our welcome drinks in hand. And wait we did, until my husband asked them what was taking so long. We were taken to our room, which had all the creature comforts one would expect from a Cinnamon hotel. There are lots of chic little shops in the foyer for those last minute purchases, be they jewellery or homewares. Crescat Boulevard is just next door, with a few excellent tea stores for a take-home momento. Loved the fact that there are 17 restaurants from which to choose to have lunch or dinner, together with a tea lounge and a coffee lounge. Food is meant to be this hotel's speciality but breakfast was a disappointment. We were shown to a table with a soiled tablecloth and which had not been cleaned. Having failed to get the attendant to clean it up, we were moved to a new table. The food was good with a mix of Western and Sri Lankan breakfast favourites (the bircher museli shots are lovely) but not as great as we had been led to believe. The check-out process was similarly slow, and the airport transfer we had booked when we made our reservation was not processed. Overall, a good hotel with all the creature comforts but could do with some fine tuning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for taking the time to post your review.

Let me at the outset sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay with us. The problems you encountered are not in keeping with the high standard that we try to maintain at all times, and you can be rest assured that corrective measures will be taken.

We are glad though, in spite of these issues, for your words of praise on our rooms, location and dining options and do hope you would give us another opportunity to indulge you with more of our facilities and cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    663
    184
    62
    53
See reviews for
308
526
121
510
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were a group stayed as 3 families with teenage children. The staff was very good and friendly. The hotel was excellant and the food options were good. overall a good experience. While one of the member who came late night had some delay in chk in, it was otherwise a very pleasant stay

Room Tip: Ask for a lake facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your feedback. It’s a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the dining options as well as the cinnamon hospitality.

Whilst we apologize for the issue with the delayed check-in, we do look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I wanted to write this review to give an idea to all the reviewers and of course for the Management at Cinnamon Grand Hotel. Even though this might be just one situation, Cinnamon Grand must take special efforts to TRAIN THEIR STAFF INORDER TO RESPECT THEIR LOCAL CLIENTS than respecting foreigners first.
1. I had my wedding at Cinnamon Grand Colombo in Feb 2013. The reception went well and i and my husband drove off for dinner, to a nearby restaurant, in the night. On our way back, we noticed that the car parks were full and I got down from the car to call in for valet parking , while my husband waited parked outside the lobby area.

I went to the the valet and told him whether I could get the service done? He shrugged and told me to go and ask "THE OTHER SIR" (who was also a valet) who quickly went and took over another car, while this man also went someother way, completely ignoring my request.

2. The reception staff is also not very friendly and TILL we went and asked for the complements (vine and complementary cake and fruit basket), they DID NOT send it to the room.

3. You should First take steps to discipline your staff..... and worst of all,in the morning, when we went and sat for breakfast, even though we requested for tea a couple of times from a couple of waiters, nobody brought it to us for a long time, until my husband requested one waiter and told "How many times do we have to tell you guys to bring a cup of tea?, Try to pay equal attention to the local customers than catering to the foreigners only". We also pay the SAME AMOUNT OF MONEY.
Lateron, we went to Jet Wing- Vil Uyana, for honeymoon, and then we figuredTHAT IS WHAT YOU CALL SERVICE.
Even though I have travelled a dozen times around and out of the country, this is the worst ever service I ever actualy got, even after paying such a big amount to the hotel.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny". Reception halls are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are concerned with your comments regarding the various issues you have faced during your stay with us and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and ill feelings this has caused you. It is our policy to treat all our valued customers alike, irrespective of their race, religion or colour and we strictly abide by this policy. However, please be assured that we will certainly inquire into these issues and take strict disciplinary action where necessary.

Whilst thanking you for bringing this to our attention, we sincerely hope you will consider staying with us again so you could experience the true cinnamon hospitality.

With best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Good check in with early rooms availability given early morning flight.

Rooms were good and clean although slightly worn around the edges in the non-premium side of the hotel.

Service was very polite at all the areas of the hotel but the speed was extremely slow particularly with small children to feed. It was particularly frustrating when you can see your food but staff refuse to allow you to take it at the 'coffee stop'.

The selection and quality of food at the restaurant was excellent however with a small child the lack of all but one English pub restaurant until 7 was a bit of a shame.

Pool was clean and large with a good accessible baby pool adjoining the main pool.

Easy access to adjoining shopping mall and supermarket.

Check out was efficient and smooth.

Overall good but not excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are glad you had a good stay; however, we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you faced. Rest assured we will look into the issues you have commented on and take corrective measures to ensure our valued guests have a smooth and enjoyable stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back should you return to Sri Lanka in the future

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapel hill, north carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

in the heart of downtown Columbo. Rooms were nice sized, but, could use some refreshing especially the carpets. Restaurant selection and food was great. Staff excellent. However, be careful of scammers near the hotel on the main street. They will claim they work for the hotel, and will offer to take you shopping for sapphires. Clearly, something you want to stay away from.
Located next door to a mall with a grocery store, so you can stock up on any sundries you may have forgotten at home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your kind review.

We are glad you had a good stay with us and appreciate your compliments on our staff, choice of restaurants and food. We trust you will continue to patronize the Cinnamon Grand, and look forward to welcome you again on your future visits to Sri Lanka.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Lobby very welcoming. Service was excellent. There are several restaurants to choose from. We ate at Tao both nights - good choice of food and a variation was offered to our daughter with food allergy problems, good service and pleasant waiters. Room was large, very comfortable, clean and met our expectations.
A good place to end a holiday especially as the hotel is adjacent to a wonderful shopping complex to spend any leftover money!!

Room Tip: We had connecting rooms and both were immensely satisfactory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Cinnamon Grand Colombo, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We very much appreciate your feedback on our rooms, location, services and restaurants. We are also glad you and your family enjoyed the cuisine and hospitality at Tao.

Whilst thanking you for your recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you to enjoy more of our services and cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

There seem to be mixed reviews about the Grand Colombo from rave reviews to slating. Well I will be in the rave reviews. From organising a taxi at the airport to providing food and a speedy check in with cooling towel and juice this hotel has been nothing short of excellent.
I honestly think this is the best hotel yet I have stayed in and if this group ever decided to open a hotel in the UK then rest would have cause for concern.
The GM clearly employs people who are never mind the Job they are doing professionals.
The hotel is spotless and you cannot but be impressed by the central fountain atrium as you head to the lifts.
My room (337) is a deluxe room and I can't fault it, comfy bed, free wifi, water and a good view of the tempting pool outside.
The food courtesy of the Taprobane is fantastic, yes you have a wide range if other restaurants but I wanted a decent shot at Sri Lankan cuisine. And I got it here.
When a local recommends you try the restaurant you have to know its good.
The maître d (thangura) is another professional in the hotel and he and his staff provide excellent service and cuisine.
My summation is that should you wish to get a taste of Sri Lankan cuisine hospitality and professionalism you need to stay here.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review and especially your recommendation of the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay with us and thank you for your encouraging feedback on our hotel, services and facilities. We very much appreciate your compliments to the team, from the front office to our restaurants. They do indeed work hard to ensure the comfort and well-being of all our guests.

It is our endeavour to maintain our standing as the best city hotel and indeed will continue to excel in our efforts to do so. As such, it is encouraging to me and my staff to receive such compliments, and I will certainly convey your appreciation to them. Tharanga and his team at Taprobane, in particular.

We do look forward to welcoming you again, to indulge you with more of our Cinnamon Hospitality.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Address: P.O. Box 252, 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#2 Business Hotel in Colombo
#3 Family Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center.Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access.The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill.To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub’, and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices.There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard.Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinnamon Grand Colombo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.