We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand lobby, ok room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cinnamon Grand Colombo to your Saves list
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 252, 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Colombo
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Grand lobby, ok room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on a business trip. I was really tired as I've arrived very late in the night, however I was greeted warmly by the staff which warmed my heart. The lobby looks very grand and I can see that a lot of functions are held here even on my 2night stay.
The room was however less impressive. Basic design with basic amenities.
Hotel is linked to a small mall hence can do some shopping.
The pool is huge! Enjoyed a swim there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We appreciate your kind feedback on our hospitality and very glad you enjoyed a swim in the pool. You may wish to know that we have an executive floor that greatly facilitates a business stay. Perhaps on a future visit you may use this facility and enjoy more of our cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    667
    185
    62
    53
See reviews for
310
529
122
512
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We visited the Cheers Pub during our recent vacation in Sri Lanka. We were very disappointed with the service & the quality of food we received. We were a group of 9. Having given our drink orders three of us in the group decided to share a bottle of beer. The Waiter who took the order informed us that we were not able to do so & that he could only give us two glasses for one bottle. We travel frequently across the world & have dined in establishments far more prestigious than here & have never heard such a comment. We insisted that we wanted to share this bottle between the three of us. When the drinks arrived amongst the other drinks there I
were two bottles of beer with three glasses, with both bottles opened. We were naturally not pleased with this course of action taken by the waiter despite us having told him that we only wanted one bottle. When we asked him about this he appeared to be totally flustered. This is in no way acceptable given that this was a restaurant in a 5 star hotel & one expects the staff to be able to speak & understand English. We were forced to drink two bottles of beer which we clearly did not want to that evening.

When dinner was ordered, only one of us wanted to have a starter. However when the food was brought there was no distinction between starters & main meal. All the food was brought at once & the main meal of the person having the starter was also brought at the same time & left to go cold. Is this acceptable in any restaurant? The remaining food was no better. I chose the steak sandwich. What a mistake! I have never come across something described as steak that was of such poor quality. It was totally uneatable & tough. The worst steak I've had. My husband & daughter ordered fish & chips. Again the worst that we've had. The batter was so thick & oily that the fish was hardly noticeable. Furthermore the fish was tasteless. All in all a very disappointing experience from a restaurant in a leading 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Luckily did not stay here so can't comment. Given the experience in other locations within the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for visiting the Cheers Pub at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your feedback.

We are concerned about your comments regarding the food and service at the Cheers Bar. The issues you encountered are not in keeping with the high standard that we try to portray at all times and we do sincerely apologize for the disappointing experience you have had. Whilst we thank you for bringing this to our attention, please be assured that we will certainly inquire into this matter and take immediate remedial action.

We sincerely hope this incident will not deter you from visiting us again.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Nice hotel in a good location in Colombo. It has all the facilities that you would expect of a hotel of this calibre and was spotlessly clean. Great selection of eating in the hotel and the pool area is very nice. My main gripe is just that the hotel was overpriced. We paid €345 for a two night stay with breakfast for two. Noise from outside the room was also an annoyance given the design of the hotel with rooms placed around a central atrium.

Room Tip: Good for business traveller or no limits on a holiday budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and we were delighted you had a good stay.

We very much appreciate your feedback on our hotel, location and amenities and particularly glad you enjoyed the dining options. However, we apologize for the inconvenience due to the noise from outside and hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again in the near future to enjoy the true indulgence at Cinnamon Grand.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Me, my wife and our 5 years old son stayed here for one week in August 2013. We booked a premium suite which was great. View to the pool. Arrived around 1 pm at hotel and Check-in procedure was very good, room was ready and we got a nice refreshing welcome drink.
Breakfast offer is overwhelming, a huge variety of asian and western food. Very impressing the hopper/dosa corner. Very tasty and short waiting tme .Son and me enjoyed hours at the pool with excellent service. Pool was never overcrowded and staff friendly. Also used room service which was excellent.Only short waiting time for such a big hotel. Food was tasty and staff very friendly. Special thanks to Shehan from Sales Dpt and Claude, Manager of Breeze Bar and
Taprobane Restaurant. We will come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
It is a pleasure to know that you and your family enjoyed your week’s stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We very much appreciate your kind feedback on our room, service and especially our food offerings. We also appreciate your compliments to the team, in particular those you have mentioned by name. Your commendation will certainly be conveyed to them.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to yet another memorable stay at the Cinnamon Grand.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night at Cinnamon Grand Colombo in August 2013, and I think that it is an average hotel that. Lacks charm. It's location is very central but mainly that's it. It is a big hotel with no personal attention whatsoever. It is very crowded and sitting at the lobby while waiting for rooms to be ready made me dizzy, because of the constant movement. Rooms are old, and need refurbishing. Room 465 had yellow water running from the shower and sink. We used the bathroom of the other family staying with us in room 464. Wifi connection was terrible. The only good thing about the hotel was the Lagoon seafood restaurant, which offers fresh sea food, cooked in so many different ways, a must try.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We regret to note you have not had a pleasant stay at our hotel and apologize sincerely for the inconvenience caused to you. We have taken particular note of the issues you have highlighted and will certainly have them rectified. However, we are glad you did enjoy your dining experience at the Lagoon.

Whilst appreciating your feedback, we look forward to serve you once again, should you decide to stay with us in the future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed there for two nights on business. With the odd arrival times into CMB, I arrived at 04.30am and check-in was quick, efficient and friendly which is not usual at all. I did get a nice and quiet room (standard) that was spacious and clean (the shower would need refurbishing but it wasn't bad at all - appliances a big outdated). Had everything I needed for a business trip. What I always appreciate is a fast and reliable WLAN which they had - complimentary. Also, what most others don't yet have - their WLAN supports multiple devices so one does not have to connect and disconnect constantly. Had lunch at the Lagoon restaurant - always a pleasure to chose from the fresh fish and seafood. Service was a bit slower than usual. Maybe something for the F&B manager to tackle. Had dinner at the Indian buffet - simply magnificient. As a European, loving meat, I must admit that vegetarin buffet I did not realize until my business partner had told me at the end that it was a vegterian selection - food was simply gorgeous. Breakfast: good selection but way too long waiting times at the egg cooking station. I was not that much in a hurry but the queue was unacceptable. Also, they might be increasing their breakfast service efficiency by cleaning up the used tables quicker. There is enough staff. They are very friendly but it appears the process should be managed better. As I had a 04.30am departure to Doha, Qatar, I went to bed early that night to check-out at 01.30am. Also then, quick and efficient. As always, in relation to the room rate paid, a very good place to which I would return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor, after your stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

Your impressions of our check-in and check-out service, the facilities provided and location are highly valued. Whilst thanking you for your comments regarding improvements to our service in the F&B area, we wish to assure you that we will certainly look into this aspect so that our guests could have the best possible experience.

Thank you once again for taking time to share your comments and we take pleasure in welcoming you back to indulge in our ‘Cinnamon’ hospitality.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Went for The Lagoon for their Sunday seafood lunch buffet. There are decent choices for starter, main and dessert. The food is delicious and is good value. Most of their starters and main courses are spicy, so for people who can’t stand spicy food there may be little to choice from.

We experienced something quite strange from the waiters though.. they seem to want to get rid of us quite soon. As soon as they saw that we stopped eating after a few dishes, they took our cutleries away, hinting that it was time for our dessert courses. Other 5 star hotel restaurants wouldn’t do that. Also, though it is a seafood buffet, it doesn’t seem that the restaurant is well equipped with cutlery for it. They have asked the few of us to share our cutlery for the crabs as they only have limited amount of them. It was ok for us to share as we are friends, but this wouldn’t be so convenient if we are having the buffet with clients/ customers. It does seem strange set up for a seafood restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your review on the Lagoon Restaurant at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are glad you enjoyed the food and appreciate your compliments. We also thank you for bringing to our notice the issue you faced. Please accept our sincere apologies and assurance that we will take necessary corrective measures to rectify this issue.

We do look forward to welcome you again in the near future, to enjoy more of our dining options.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Address: P.O. Box 252, 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#2 Business Hotel in Colombo
#3 Family Hotel in Colombo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center.Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access.The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill.To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub’, and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices.There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard.Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinnamon Grand Colombo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.