We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colombo's Finest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Cinnamon Grand Colombo to your Saves list
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 252, 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Colombo
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Colombo's Finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Much like our beloved Kate Middleton, The Cinnamon Grand oozes class, opulence and beauty without being too up 'oneself'. At less than £100 per night (for the hotel, not the Duchess... ahem), you'd be hard pressed to find a better 5* bargain anywhere in Asia. Possibly the world.

With over ten bars and eateries to choose from; a fully decked out spa; a shopping mall and numerous sports facilities (including tennis and squash courts and a large swimming pool), you'll be sat wishing you'd booked a longer stay at the Cinnamon.

The rooms are decked out to the tee, a highlight being the "choose your own pillow service", where you can select what type of pillows you would like, from feather to ultra soft contour to ensure you get that good nights sleep.

This hotel exudes five star class and all at B&B prices. We realised this most at breakfast, where we were faced with a fresh juice and smoothie station; alongside pastries; full English and Sri Lankan breakfast choices, and an egg station where "eggithing" is possible - couldn't resist :)

For value for money, facilities and service the Cinnamon Grand wins hands down as the must stay venue in Colombo. If you're tossing up staying here or the Galle Face, choose here (and go for cocktails at the Galle face).

Room Tip: worth asking for an upgrade to a premium room (it's often the same price as a standard)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your inspiring tribute on TripAdvisor, which was a delight to all of us at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo. We are so glad your stay was both enjoyable and memorable.

Your words of commendation on our facilities and service, as well as our dining options and food, and of course our famous “pillow menu” are an encouragement to us as we endeavour to provide the best possible experience to all our valued guests.

We take this opportunity to thank you for your high recommendation and look forward to welcome you again, to yet another indulgence of cinnamon hospitality, should you visit Sri Lanka in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    662
    183
    62
    53
See reviews for
308
525
121
510
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed one night in the Cinnamon Grand and wished I could have stayed more. The room was comfortable and had everything I needed. There is even a small shopping centre right next to the hotel which is very convenient.
I normally always judge a hotel by its staff, and I was not disappointed, everyone was super friendly and went out of their way to answer any questions I had.
The breakfast buffet was very good, lots of choice. Oh and the coffee shop in the lobby serves good coffee and decent cakes and pastries. I would stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for staying at Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

It was a pleasure reading your review on TripAdvisor and we are glad you had a comfortable stay at our hotel, though just for one night; and enjoyed the facilities, food and our friendly staff, and even the shopping mall next door.

We are glad you will stay with us again and look forward to the pleasure of indulging you with more of our cinnamon hospitality, perhaps in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Amazing place and location. Everything was perfect about this place. Food, service, staff, rooms all up to the mark. Front desk staff accompany us to the room during check-in was noteworthy.
Will definitely be cinnamon grand on our next visit.

Room Tip: If you are specific about view from room, specify your interest during check-in. I got a room facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are so pleased you had a wonderful stay and found everything perfect and upto mark. Your complimentary review is a great encouragement to us, as is your promise to return.

It will certainly be a pleasure to welcome you back, to enjoy more of our facilities and cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed at this establishment on the night of my arrival at Sri Lanka & last two nights prior departure. Room Numbers were 506 & 629 respectively.

I was on a family trip with my spouse and 2 year old daughter.

I have read positive reviews on this property prior to my visit so expectation was already high. And yes, this high expectation was met in every instances and surpassed at times.

From restaurant service to pool attendants to housekeeping to reception to bell services, all were very professional and cordial.

Nice breakfast spread, good number of restaurants for dining options and adjacent Crescat Shopping Center makes this a very accommodating location.

One little set back was the age restriction at London Grill restaurant (16+). However, the host at the restaurant was very professional about it and took our order for dinner to be served as room service. None of those entree`s are offered in the room service menu.

Not sure when I will be visiting Sri Lanka in the future but one thing is for sure, Cinnamon Grand will be my address while in Colombo.

Room Tip: Rooms between *15 to *25 in each floor offers a great pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review after choosing to stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

It was such a pleasure for my team and I to read that we had indeed met with your high expectations and even exceeded at times. It is a delight to learn that you have been well served by our staff, and thank you for your words of praise on our service. No doubt the staff are very pleased to have ensured guest satisfaction. In our endeavour to provide the best possible experience to all our valued guests, such impressions as yours are definitely an encouragement to us.

We are looking forward to welcome you, when you visit Sri Lanka and stay with us again, to indulge you with more of our facilities and cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jomtien Beach, Thailand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My spouse and I stayed at the Cinnamon Grand for two nights while touring in Colombo in late-April.

Amenities/Common Areas:
The spacious lobby, atrium and reception areas were decorated tastefully with fragrant fresh flowers, cozy furniture and always seemed to be bustling throughout most of the day. When we took afternoon tea at the Tea Lounge and the staff was very attentive without being overbearing. I found that although the common areas were very spacious I didn’t feel that it was empty, but rather welcoming.

Breakfast:
The spread is excellent with a huge variety of South Asian dishes (curries, milk rice, hoppers), cheeses, bread, meats, etc. The only thing I found lacking were green vegetables that weren’t raw or prepared in a curry. No stir-fried vegetables, no sautéed spinach.

Room Description:
The bed was very comfortable. During the evening turn-down service, there was an option of choosing from four different kinds of pillows like foam, goose-down, etc. The pillows in our room were already goose-down, so I didn’t take advantage of service. Wi-fi didn’t work so well later in the evening for both nights we were there (slow). Some items that I found useful in the room, ironing board and iron (didn’t have to send shirts out and wait for them to be ready). The bathroom didn’t have a douche by the toilet, which I’m so accustomed to in Asian hotels. Despite this, the quiet away from the noisy city outside, the cleanliness and comfort of the bed outweighed the minute shortfalls.

Conclusion:
The Cinnamon Grand is an excellent hotel. I would stay here again next time I’m in Colombo.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are so glad you had a super comfortable stay with us and enjoyed the room, amenities and food. Thank you for the wonderful comments made about us, both the positive and the negative, which are indeed, invaluable to us.

We truly appreciate the recommendation on TripAdvisor and look forward to welcoming you again, maybe for a longer stay, to indulge in more of our facilities and cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was a large hotel.The staff were friendly and polite and we were brought a whole complimentary cake and fruit which was lovely. The buffet breakfast was great - rooms clean and pool looked lovely (we didnt get a chance to try it). Our driver took us on a city tour – the Colombo museum was very good and it is also worth seeing the Pettah but it can be very busy. We visited Galle Face Hotel for cocktails / dinner and would highly recommend it. It is an old colonial hotel – the food was superb – though you might feel it expensive compared to the local street restaurants you may have eaten in (£50 for 2 courses for 2 people – well worth it!!).

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your kind review.

We are delighted that you had a great stay and also very pleased you liked the hotel and staff as well as the food and hospitality. We do look forward to welcome you back, for a longer stay maybe, to delight you with more of our facilities and cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

very conveniently located. i have lost count as to how many times i have met friends over coffee at the coffee stop, lunchs at chutneys and dinners at cheers. a big fan of taking my relatives who come from abroad to show them around nugu gama ( a must check out of srilankan game/rural lifestyle, staff very very friendly when it comes to showing you around)
Another prominent feature one needs to check out has to be the sunday brunch buffet at taprobane, the variety of food is jus amazzing.
Another very good memory of cinnamon was when we went to taprobane fore my moms dinner all i mentioned was its my mom's bday pls do something special and low and behold the manager walks up with a beautifully decorated plate with cake and a greeting written in chocolate..my mom was very happy, ever since been very satisfied with cinnamon's service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for being a faithful fan of the Cinnamon Grand Colombo, and a loyal guest.

We are delighted to know that you have been enjoying the culinary experiences at several of our restaurants. Thank you for your words of praise on cinnamon’s service as well as the Sunday brunch buffet at the Taprobane and of course, our typical Sri Lankan village restaurant, Nugagama.

It is very gratifying to note that you have been a loyal patron of the Cinnamon Grand and we trust you will remain so, even in the future.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Address: P.O. Box 252, 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#2 Business Hotel in Colombo
#3 Family Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center.Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access.The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill.To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub’, and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices.There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard.Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinnamon Grand Colombo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.