We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably difficult to beat in Colombo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cinnamon Grand Colombo to your Saves list
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 252, 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Colombo
Surbiton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Probably difficult to beat in Colombo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Great choice in the city. Good service and feels very professional. Rooms are great, as is the food.

Nice pool area but could be more beds.

Very close to the sea for a good stroll.

Should imagine its hard to beat in Colombo

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your complimentary review.

We are glad you had a memorable stay at our hotel and do appreciate your recommendation on TripAdvisor. It would be our pleasure to serve you once again, at the Cinnamon Grand, should you visit Sri Lanka in the future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    668
    185
    62
    53
See reviews for
310
530
122
512
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ispra, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

It was a real pleasure to stay in Cinnamon Grand Colombo at the end of our holidays in Sri Lanka. What struck us first is a very warm and professional welcome. I wish I could have that in Europe:)

The room was not very big as you could expect from an executive room yet spacious enough. The design really nice yet simplistic which I really liked. A complimentary bottle of wine, mineral water, a bowl of fruit and chocolates were a nice surprise. The breakfast buffet was fantastic, you could choose from Sri Lankan breakfast (with roti and hoppers prepared freshly on request), classic English breakfast, smoked fish and cold cuts, fruit etc. The hotel has several restaurants with excellent value for money dishes and professional and very friendly staff. I hope to come back to Sri Lanka soon and also to stay in Cinnamon Grand Colombo. A real gem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo at the end of your holiday in Sri Lanka.

My Team and I were delighted to read your complimentary review on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased that Cinnamon Grand has met with your expectations and that you have had an enjoyable and memorable stay with us. Thank you for complimenting our breakfast buffet in particular and for your words of praise on our amenities, dinning options and of course, our cinnamon hospitality.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again, and to the opportunity of indulging you with more of our facilities and cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Incredible hotel with the highest of standards. Acres of marble in reception and obviously a very large and busy hotel.More business class than tourist class, although as tourists we were made very welcome and had a great stay.
Free wifi in room !!
First class restaurants/cafes offering great choice.
Very clean and comfortable room, although the TV was unwatchable due to bad reception on all channels ???

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are delighted that you had a memorable stay with us and did enjoy the amenities and hospitality. We are glad that you enjoyed our choice of restaurants and cuisines as well. Nothing is more important to us than the comfort of our valued guests and your feedback on TripAdvisor is truly a reflection of that achievement.

We look forward to your next visit to the Cinnamon Grand, maybe for a longer stay, for yet another indulgence of our Cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The last 4 nights of our holiday in Sri Lanka, we spent them in Colombo. This hotel is indeed very good, the room had all the necessary amenities (including cattle and tea and coffee bags). The room was spacious and the bathroom well furnished. There were plenty of restaurants within this hotel complex to chose from, although quite expensive. It is also located near a shopping gallery, but this fact does not add much as somehow basic. (nevertheless having a supermarket near the hotel is good for basic shopping needs).
Most impressive is the interior design of the hotel with large round (main lobby which has also an indoor fountain) or rectangular halls, with a lot of wooden railings and bridges.
Breackfast, although not so rich as in Beruwala (Eden Spa Hotel) still had a lot of variety of foods, fruits, juices, jams, pancakes, and of course curryes. Everything was really fresh and tasty. It was also a small corner with vegan stuff which is a very good idea, and actually is the first time when I see this (their carrot-celery juice was not bad at all, although, being in an exotic country, the papayas, pineapples and mangoes were more than excellent!).

Room Tip: I believe the rooms facing the pool are better and more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your complimentary review on TripAdvisor.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes indeed, the grandeur of the main lobby has been praised by many a guest and we do appreciate your compliments on it too. We also thank you for appreciating our amenities and dinning options.

We do look forward to having you stay with us again to enjoy more of our facilities and indulge in more of our cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Despite an email confirming my room the week prior to my visit, the room was not available immediately when I reached the hotel. There was no explaination offered later either.

If I am still giving a 4 out of 5 for the hotel it is for the excellent food, the service, the decor, the room- all more than made up for it.

Good location too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Let me at the outset sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you were faced with on arrival. We can assure you that corrective measures are being taken to ensure that there are no repetitions of similar situations.

We are glad though, in spite of this issue, for your words of praise on our food, service, amenities and location and do hope you would give us another opportunity to indulge you with more of our facilities and cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had our wedding at this hotel and got a complimentary room for one night. My family and friends have also stayed here. Most times, the staff at reception are friendly and helpful. The restaurants are great as there is a lot of variety. The location is great as it is next to a shopping mall and close to most places and you can also find transport easily. The rooms are nice and it is a good value for money. Only negative thing is that this place is always crowded. People just hang around and it is never quiet. But I would generally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are indeed delighted that you chose to have your wedding at the Grand and enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your compliments on our amenities, service and choice of restaurants. We are also glad to hear that Cinnamon Grand is no new location for your family and friends too.

We take this opportunity to wish both of you a great future together and look forward to having you stay with us again, maybe for a longer time, to indulge you with more of our facilities and cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Lobby is impressive and very lively with a constant stream of people. Choice of many restaurants and foods, though limited options for vegetarians. Rooms are good, though dusting and cleanliness should be improved. Attached shopping complex and supermarket is very convenient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

Whilst appreciating your compliments on our amenities, location, restaurants and food, we do thank you for your valuable comments on TripAdvisor, which would help us in our endeavour to provide the best possible experience to all our guests, and help us serve you even better.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cinnamon Grand, should you choose to return, maybe in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Address: P.O. Box 252, 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#2 Business Hotel in Colombo
#3 Family Hotel in Colombo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center.Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access.The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill.To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub’, and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices.There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard.Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinnamon Grand Colombo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.