We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goofed a bit and then made up” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Save Saved
You added Cinnamon Grand Colombo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
P.O. Box 252, 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 27 hotels in Colombo
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Goofed a bit and then made up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Despite an email confirming my room the week prior to my visit, the room was not available immediately when I reached the hotel. There was no explaination offered later either.

If I am still giving a 4 out of 5 for the hotel it is for the excellent food, the service, the decor, the room- all more than made up for it.

Good location too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Let me at the outset sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you were faced with on arrival. We can assure you that corrective measures are being taken to ensure that there are no repetitions of similar situations.

We are glad though, in spite of this issue, for your words of praise on our food, service, amenities and location and do hope you would give us another opportunity to indulge you with more of our facilities and cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    608
    544
    153
    52
    45
See reviews for
245
447
97
421
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had our wedding at this hotel and got a complimentary room for one night. My family and friends have also stayed here. Most times, the staff at reception are friendly and helpful. The restaurants are great as there is a lot of variety. The location is great as it is next to a shopping mall and close to most places and you can also find transport easily. The rooms are nice and it is a good value for money. Only negative thing is that this place is always crowded. People just hang around and it is never quiet. But I would generally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are indeed delighted that you chose to have your wedding at the Grand and enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your compliments on our amenities, service and choice of restaurants. We are also glad to hear that Cinnamon Grand is no new location for your family and friends too.

We take this opportunity to wish both of you a great future together and look forward to having you stay with us again, maybe for a longer time, to indulge you with more of our facilities and cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Lobby is impressive and very lively with a constant stream of people. Choice of many restaurants and foods, though limited options for vegetarians. Rooms are good, though dusting and cleanliness should be improved. Attached shopping complex and supermarket is very convenient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

Whilst appreciating your compliments on our amenities, location, restaurants and food, we do thank you for your valuable comments on TripAdvisor, which would help us in our endeavour to provide the best possible experience to all our guests, and help us serve you even better.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cinnamon Grand, should you choose to return, maybe in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed here for a 5 day business trip in Jan 2013. The hotel is located right off Galle Road, between the US Embassy and Galle Face Hotel. The entrance is quite grand, as is the main lobby. I had read about the arrogant staff and I encountered him immediately at the reception desk. The young man checking me was indeed a bit of a horses' rear. I requested a high floor, near the corners. He said something about me booking my hotel room through Expedia. I was promptly given a room on the 4th floor, right next to the elevator, in the center of the building, with a view of a parking deck and air conditioner. I called back down and was told that was all that was available. I suppose he was above discussing this when I was at the desk. After a couple days here, it became apparent the hotel was only about half full.
That said, he was the only employee I enountered that wasn't delightful. Everyone seemed so eagar to please and made me very comfortable during my stay.
The room was pretty standard, with nothing special about it. It could have been in any 3 star hotel in the modern world. The bed skirt was absolutely filthy and the furnishings were a little tired, but other than that the room was clean and was kept that way during my stay. The hotel as a whole does seem a little tired and could probably use a facelift, if they want to be considered a 5-Star hotel. DO NOT EXPECT THIS TO BE LIKE THE WALDORF ASTORIA, THE DORCHESTER, FOUR SEASONS, OR TAJ PALACE, OR YOU WILL BE DISAPPOINTED.

I dined at several of the restaurants in the building and they were all good and offered pretty good service. The London Grill is the best and by far the nicest. It's the only fine dining on the property. There is an English style pub called Cheers that offers pretty typical pub food. However, the beer selection is pretty limited. No Harp, Double Diamond, Stella, Guinness, or New Castle to be had (GASP). They do have a few beers from the US, a couple from Germany, and 2 local beers. Echo offers Italian fare and isn't bad. The free breakfast is about as generic as you can get. Not bad, but certainly not special.
The internet is a little slow, but free.
The showers here are nice and hot, which isn't always the case in the region.
The gym here is fantastic and the pool is nice.
You must use your "Do Not Disturb" sign here. I didn't the first day and was interrupted what seemed like every hour for something.
The mall next door is pretty useless.

I thought the place to be "pretty good" and would stay here again. Based on what I saw, the extra $ for the upgrade to the executive area (9th floor) is probably worth it and what I will do that if I stay here again.

**If you leave this hotel by foot, you WILL be approached by a tout on the street. I have been approached over half the times I left the hotel on foot and have been just traveling a few blocks in both directions to either the Embassy or the beach beside the Galle Face Hotel. This is no fault of the hotel, as it is off their property (they do a good job of keeping them out). You will also see these people any where in this area Taj, Galle Gace, Hilton etc because this is where the tourist and their $ are. Do your research and know what scam to look for, or you will get taken here. In only 5 days, I have been approached the the gem stone scam, the "let's have a drink" scam, and the "ride to the festival" scam. If you're a frequent traveler, you will notice these immediately, but people that don't travel as often need to use extra precaution.

Room Tip: **If you leave this hotel by foot, you WILL be approached by a tout on the street. I have been appr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for taking time to share your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

Whilst it is heartening to note that you have enjoyed some of our facilities and services, we are most concerned about the bad experience you encountered on the issues mentioned. In order for us to look into this matter and take corrective action, we would really appreciate if you could kindly send more details with regard to your stay, such as your name, room number, dates you stayed etc., to the Director, Rooms Division via his e-mail address indicated below.

We do thank you for your valuable comments which would help us in our endeavour to provide the best possible experience to all our guests, and help us serve you even better. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cinnamon Grand, should you choose to return.

Best regards
chris@cinnamonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sèvres
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have stayed many times at Cinnamon Grand during both business and turist journeys. The hotel is very well located at a few walking minutes of Marine Drive and Fort area on one side and shopping Colombo on the other side. During the day, the hotel is visited by many Sri Lankan people coming for seminars or various events and that is giving a very good ambiance while at evening it is more calm. A lot of restaurants inside the hotel provide a great choice of cooking experiences without leaving the resort.
The swimming pool might be the biggest of Colombo and is very nice to relax or have a drink & sandwich.

I would recommend to stay at the Executive floor (9th) where you will enjoy a lot of complimentary services among which the Executive Lounge which is providing private breakfast, tea time and cocktails.

No surprise when reaching Cinnamon Grand = you can go and enjoy!

Philippe M.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for patronizing the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your complimentary review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us and we appreciate your words of praise on our location, facilities and choice of restaurants. We also thank you for your recommendation of the executive floor with its facilities and services.

Whilst thanking you once again for your patronage, we look forward to welcoming you to another grand indulgence of cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Well, i enjoyed everything that cinnamon grand had to serve me and my family. The food was great and so was the drinks. The service was really good. And even the evenings down by the pool was really nice with the lovely atmosphere and the band was lively and fantastic. But the only issue was the furniture where the band plays, it wasn't that comfortable. other than that everything else was fantastic.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo, and your appreciative review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased you enjoyed everything the Grand had to offer you and your family and we do thank you for your words of praise on the food, beverage and service. We are also glad you enjoyed your evenings by the pool; however, we will certainly look into the issues you have commented on.

We do look forward to welcoming you to the Cinnamon Grand again to indulge you with more of our facilities and cinnamon hospitality.

Best regads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amritsar, India
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

A stay at the Cinnamon is Grand indeed. The property is amazing in its ambience. The adjoining Mall makes it an even better experience, and adds to the fun of the visit. The food is phenomenal as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are pleased at your appreciation of our property and its grandeur and thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed the cuisine and look forward to having you stay with us again to indulge you with more of our facilities and cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel
Cinnamon Grand
Address: P.O. Box 252, 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Colombo
#4 Family Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center.Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access.The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill.To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub’, and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices.There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard.Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinnamon Grand Colombo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.