We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, not worth the price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Cinnamon Grand Colombo to your Saves list
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 252, 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Colombo
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Average, not worth the price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Not really my idea of a luxury hotel. It's not as good as it's hyped up to be.

Avoid the smoking floors at all costs - despite what the front desk say, the rooms still smell like old cigarettes.

We had a view of the a massive air conditioning unit. Not exactly romantic.

The only things I like about this place was people watching, TRUNK and the coffee shop.
We could never get a seat in the restaurants in the mornings....so go around to the Courtyard one - the staff are fantastic and doesn't feel like a watering hole in the jungle.

The guy in the business centre was very helpful and friendly.

Don't waste your money staying here if you're expecting something that you'd consider 'luxury' at home.

Room Tip: Have a look at a few places / rooms - you could probably find something of better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We have noted your comments on TripAdvisor and regret you did not find our service and facilities satisfactory. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you faced and hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you again.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    662
    183
    62
    53
See reviews for
308
525
121
510
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very arrogant staff at front desk. Hotel doesn't not respect to comment put in booking. Do not count loyalty, ask you fill up the form every time instead of pull put the profile from the system. No matter you are first timer or returning guest.
I requested a room to be in a higher floor but not available. I asked it again check in staff told me no other room available. Upon enter the room, right outside the window, there are movers moving heavy items with noisy wheels moving. It was middle of the night, 2am! I called the duty manager and when they come to the room and suggest me to move to a higher floor. Wait a min, i just been told no other room available. They even offer me to just use the room to sleep and keep the luggage in the original room as they do not need the existing room.
Hotel booking were done through the official website not from a travel agency. Why details and request were not sent to the hotel?
We made booking for 2 rooms, we been charged different price upon check out. When we inquiry for the differences, without checking on the system simply tell us it is the additional charges. We have to call the duty manager again. Wait a min, shouldn't this guy who talking to us is the supervisor of the check out desk??
You can imagine from check in to check out we have to go through these.
No choice, instead of hardware, this hotel is the latest available in Colombo. However like i complain before, all shower hose in the bath room are broken. Shower screen could not be close and end up with a full water bath room. This time happen again!
Hotel F&B outlets are good and that's all about it.
Wait for the rest of the hotel coming up with new renovation and new built hotel down the road like Shangri La in two years. We can all forget about this hotel by then.

Hotel booking were done through the official website not from a travel agency. Why details and request were not sent to the hotel?
We made booking for 2 rooms, we been charged different price upon check out. When we inquiry for the differences, without checking on the system simply tell us it is the additional charges. We have to call the duty manager again. Wait a min, shouldn't this guy who talking to us is the supervisor of the check out desk??
You can immagine from check in to check out we have to go through these.
No choice, instead of hardware, this hotel is the lastest available in Colombo. However like i complain before, all shower hose in the bath room are broken. Shower screen could not be close and end up with a full water bath room. This time happen again!
Hotel F&B outlets are good and that's all about it.
Wait for the rest of the hotel coming up with new renovation and new built hotel down the road like Shangri La in two years. We can all forget about this hotel by then.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

Whilst appreciating the time taken to post your review on TripAdvisor, we are very sorry to learn about your disappointment from check-in to check-out. All the issues you faced are not in keeping with the high standards that we try to maintain at all times and we will certainly investigate into your complaint and take necessary action to ensure this does not happen again. As such we shall be grateful if you would send us more details of your stay, such as room no, names, and dates etc., to the email address given below.

Once again we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and we do hope you will get back to us with the details.

Best regards
gm.grand@cinnamonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Completely awesome experience, We stayed here for almost 4 days, this was just completely unwinding trip, got a good deal from my existing supplier, and the choice for stay is excellent, got the room at the 4th floor, Excellent house keeping and great food, Indian restaurant is moderately okay on the indian menu, but the continental buffet is excellent, with wide range for all. Overall the Hotel is simply superb and location for relaxation and business is best, as it is on the galle road, walkable to beach, neighborhood is good, rear side lake is good for brisk walk in the evening, gym is decent.

Room Tip: Take high floors, Pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are truly delighted that you had an awesome experience. Thank you for your words of praise on our facilities and services. . In our endeavour to provide the best possible experience to all our valued guests, such impressions as yours are definitely an encouragement to us.

Whilst thanking for your review on TripAdvisor, we hope to have the pleasure of indulging you once again, on your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had booked non-smoking rooms (on the same floor) at this property over New Year's. We paid top dollar for all the rooms and even paid in advance in full two months prior to coming to Colombo. About a month before arrival we were asked to provide the guest details (along with passport copies). We also highlighted to the hotel that there were two expecting mothers and 7 children (from 10 years - 3 years) which they had the passport copies of as well.

When we checked-in to the hotel, we were all given rooms on the smoking floor and were not even told about it. When one of the pregnant mothers walked into her room she could not stand the smell of the room and we called the reception and the individual told us it was a smoking room.

We spoke to the Front Office Manager and finally had all our rooms changed to non-smoking rooms but on different floors. This hotel did not keep their word as per the reservation and the staff were not apologetic or anything. It seemed they were more important in making sure they have all their rooms filled at the highest prices as it was the New Years time.

So if you are traveling in a group beware of this hotel if you are going during a holiday period. They may screw you like they did us.

Room Tip: As them to give you rooms in the new wing and not the old / renovated wing. 4th floor in the new win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

Whilst appreciating the time taken to post your review on TripAdvisor, we are very sorry to learn about your disappointment and inconvenience over the issues you faced. However, it is pertinent to mention that it was not a direct booking with the hotel but through a Travel Agent.

Therefore the only special requests we received from your Travel Agent were “please allocate king size beds in all the rooms” and “flower bouquet and cake on FOC basis for 40th wedding anniversary of client”. There was no request for non-smoking rooms, neither was there any mention that two ladies in the group were pregnant mothers.

However, please accept our sincere apologies. Nothing is more important to us than regaining your confidence and we sincerely hope this incident will not prevent you from staying again at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo, should you visit Sri Lanka in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I visit Sri Lanka each year. On every visit we make sure that we dine at TAO restaurant at the Cinnamon Grand. The food is great and the staff exceptional. Each year we are greeted by the staff who never fail to remember us, quite remarkable given the number of people they would serve in a year. We are always made to feel as though we are VIP's. A special mention needs to go out to the head waiter Gayan Wakista, he is an exceptional waiter, he evens remembers what we like to eat!. Gayan is an asset to not only the restaurant but to the hotel as well. We look forward to seeing Gayan and the rest of the staff at TAO again this year.
If you are in town on a Thursday night make sure you indulge in the degustation menu, fantastic. I cannot eat shell fish so the staff ensure that these courses are subsituted for me, this wouldnt happen in many 5 star hotels.
Well Done to all. Wendy and Anil Guneratne - Melbourne Australia

Room Tip: We stay in an apartment so cannot comment on the rooms except to say that we have friends who stay a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for patronizing the Tao restaurant at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your recommendation on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the culinary experience as well as the exceptional service. In our endeavour to provide the best possible experience to all our valued guests, such impressions as yours are definitely an encouragement to us and it will be my pleasure to pass on your compliments to the Head Waiter, Gayan Wakista.

Whilst thanking you once again for your patronage, we do look forward to welcome you on your next visit.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

A very good hotel with the pleasant and friendly staff. I have stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and I really enjoyed it. The food at the hotel restaurants exceeded my expectations, it was just delicious. Spa facilities and massage were just great. The live classic music on the hall was superb :)). The staff (waiters, receptionists, room service, doormen, spa center employees, spa therapists) were always responsive and very attentive so I would like to thank each and all of employees of the hotel for the great job they do. I will definitely come back here:). A special thanks to Ms. Preethi who is the restaurant manager for her care and attentiveness.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

It is greatly satisfying for us to learn that our hotel has exceeded your expectations in service, facilities, comfort, etc., and we sincerely thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. Your words of praise are truly an encouragement, and we will certainly strive to provide the best possible experience to all our valued guests. Thank you also for the special mention of our Restaurant Manager Ms. Preeth, which we will be pleased to share with her.

Whilst thanking you for recommending us, we look forward to indulge you with more of our Cinnamon hospitality when you visit us once again.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is the best hotel in Colombo by far. They have over 12 restaurants to choose from, the rooms are in good condition and the price is not bad at all.

Its very very central and the service is great and the food at almost every restaurant tasted very good. The lagoon sea food restaurant is one of the best in Colombo in any category of restaurant.
Its by far the best sea food in town. The London grill is also great. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Address: P.O. Box 252, 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#2 Business Hotel in Colombo
#3 Family Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center.Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access.The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill.To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub’, and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices.There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard.Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinnamon Grand Colombo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.