We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Cinnamon Grand Colombo to your Saves list
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 252, 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Colombo
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We ate the freshest sea food and had the best time ever here. Thanks for taking care of us. We got to pick our own fish and they cooked it the way we wanted. We also had fresh juice. For those who visit, dessert is good at the Hilton afterward.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are delighted that you had a good time and enjoyed the dining experience at the Lagoon restaurant. Thank you sincerely for the wonderful comments posted on TripAdvisor.

We would be more than delighted to have you visit us again, for sheer indulgence of more of our Cinnamon hospitality and an opportunity to experience more of our dining options.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    665
    185
    62
    53
See reviews for
308
528
122
512
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coonabarabran
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Large resort with all services and amenities typical of a modern hotel anywhere. Restaurants, poools, bars, ets, and concierge to organise trips , taxis, etc. Various rooms with views (dearer) or internal rooms cheaper. Located in a central part of Colombo. Breakfast was slow unless you went to a restaurant , Restaurant meals wer nice especially seafood. However we enjoyed staying at the Casa Colombo better as it was boutique, and more of a Sri Lankan experience. However it suited us as we were there for the World Cup twenty20 cricket

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your feedback.

We are glad that staying with us during the World Cup twenty20 cricket was convenient and we do appreciate your words of praise on our amenities, location, restaurants and food.

We hope you will stay with us again, maybe in the near future, to experience more of our dining options and indulge in more of our cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

check in is slow, room is average, we called twice to find out what time breakfast started and were told twice 6:30...which upon entering the breakfast area we found out it was 6 am which was a disappointing as we had a trip planned and wanted to leave early, and as you WILL find out that 30 min makes a huuuuge difference in getting out of the city...
We tried canceling our reservation for after our road trip and were told that we couldn't do it at the front desk!! I asked if I can't do it here then where in the world would I be able to cancel my reservation at the hotel that I am standing in?? and was told that I had to go online and cancel it there...so now I had to go to their website and search for a supposed place were you could cancel the reservation which I couldn't find, so after speaking to 5 people (30 min) I was told they all of a sudden COULD do it...clown show
Also having an armed guard at the entrance of a hotel kinda, just kinda makes you feel a bit uneasy...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your review on TripAdvisor.

Let me begin by sincerely apologizing for the severe inconvenience experienced by you, during your stay with us. The problems you encountered is not in keeping with the high standard that we try to portray at all times; However, I would request you personally, to give us another chance to truly experience the grand indulgence of Cinnamon Grand.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed for 4 days from 22nd Dec in Cinnamon Grand. Booked the Premium Suite and is really value for money. Enjoyed every bit of our stay in the Spacious well equipped luxurious suite. The room had huge glass windows overlooking the entrance of the hotel and a bit of the sea. Internet was free of charge and the room service was excellent. Wifi internet connection was of a reasonable speed. Food was great with numerous restaurants. We could also order room service Pizza from the adjacent Italian restaurant. Room service was reasonably priced. The suite had 2 toilets with a living/dining area and work space/pantry. The Bedroom was huge.

Particularly enjoyed the shopping mall adjacent to the hotel, though the food in the mall food court was below average. The hotel was full of people with so many activities for Xmas. The Xmas buffet was sumptuous. We also witnessed an Xmas choir band during our stay.
The hotel staff and room service staff was very experienced and courteous.

Children's play area adjacent to the bar was very basic. Swimming pool was good but crowded at times. Gym was equipped but needs modern workout machines.

The hotel is centrally located with Galle sea face at walk-able distance.

Watch out for the Gem exhibition Tuk-Tuk guys, incidentally they always tend to give you an impression that there is a great Sri Lankan gem exhibition which is just about to end with few hours left for your shopping! You would realize that this gem exhibition scam would lead you to a gem shop, who are just waiting to con you.

Room Tip: Excellent corner suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable 4 days stay with us. Indeed it was gratifying to read your complimentary review on TripAdvisor; and thank you for appreciating our facilities, location, restaurants and food. We are also glad you enjoyed the Christmas singers, being part of the activities specially organized during the Christmas season.

We do appreciate your constructive comments, as well as your warning to guests about scammers and look forward to having you stay with us again, to experience more of our facilities and indulge in more of our cinnamon hospitality.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Visited this hotel in the first week of December 2012 . The decor of the hotel especialy done or christmas was beautiful. the check in process was smooth and the Rooms are well appointed. Breakfast was average, service there was a bit slow. the highlight for us was the restaurant "the lagoon". Simply superb seafood. Service and food was excellent. Wifi connectivity in the rooms and restaurants was good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and your positive feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for appreciating the décor, rooms and service and most of all for enjoying the cuisine at our sea food restaurant, Lagoon.

We look forward to your next visit to the Cinnamon Grand Colombo, hopefully for a longer stay, for yet another indulgence of our Cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

my time at cinnamon grand was great. the hotel connect to the mall and you can walk along the beach in the evening. ok breakfast the room was excellent, clean and I spent my last day in the executive lounge as the room was fully booked and I had to leave for airport at 3 am.
Also has a Thai restaurant in the hotel, it was remind me of Thai food after away from home for a week! but I didnt had one :(

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

We are delighted that you had a great stay with us and thank you for appreciating our location and amenities on TripAdvisor. As regards your comments of a Thai restaurant, we are sorry but we do not have a Thai restaurant. However, we do have several restaurants and hope you will be able to experience them when you stay with us again, maybe in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Excellent hotel, try the executive floor for that extra service. The staff are very well trained and attentive and the facilities are superb even in the English bar Cheers. Look no further book here for a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for your stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your recommendation on TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure to note that you were very satisfied with our amenities and food as well as our attentive staff. We appreciate your recommendation of our executive floor.

Whilst thanking you for your stay, we look forward to welcome you back to the Cinnamon Grand, should you visit Sri Lanka again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Address: P.O. Box 252, 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#2 Business Hotel in Colombo
#3 Family Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center.Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access.The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill.To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub’, and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices.There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard.Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinnamon Grand Colombo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.