We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful,fantastic place to stay in Colombo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taru Villas - Lake Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Taru Villas - Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
20 Alvis Terrace, Colombo 03000, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 80 Colombo B&B and Inns
Citta della Pieve, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful,fantastic place to stay in Colombo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Everything about Lake Lodge was fantastic from the very moment we arrived. The staff were so friendly and helpful, they went out of there way to assist us in every way. After staying in Sri Lanka for 5 weeks and trying at least 15 different places this hotel was voted our best hotel by far. Seelan is a real gem and a tribute to the 5 star service that you receive.
Congratulations to all the staff.
Anthony and Antonella from bella Italia.

Room Tip: All you need to do is book a room everything else is top quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    150
    28
    9
    7
See reviews for
53
252
36
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed one night in Colombo - hotel so fab nearly didn't want to leave it to explore the city. Restaurant staff are very friendly and service in general is very good. I definitely recommend the Sri Lankan breakfast. Great location, had cocktail at sunset at Galle Face Hotel by sea and then could walk back to hotel for delicious dinner in Lake Lodge. If you appreciate good design this is definitely the place to stay in Colombo. Hats off to the architect, builders and other designers involved. Even the plates and cutlery have been designed beautifully. The attention to detail is somthing else. Smooth concrete walls, beautifully crafted hardwood furniture and this along with the most relaxing music ever makes you quickly forget you are in a busy city centre. I highly recommend Lake Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This was my first stay at Lake Lodge and it certainly wont be my last. It is well located to many key spots in Colombo and is a short walk to Galle Face Green. The staff were exceptional helpful and friendly. The breakfast choices were excellent and provided plenty of choices without having a buffet. All the food was great. I am looking forward to my next stay there already.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is a great modern guesthouse, stylishly decorated and recently refurbished with helpful and friendly staff.
The restaurant has a limited selection of dishes but everything I tried was well prepared and tasty. Certain items for breakfast must be ordered the previous night.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room with a balcony if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Our first hotel on arrival and a good place get used to it all. Very friendly, welcoming staff at reception and in the restaurant. The room was modern, clean and had all the things that make it good, fridge, good shower, nice toiletries, bottle of water etc. the food at the restaurant was great. Good position in town.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnet
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I only stayed one night but could have stayed more, lake lodge is a good central location for Colombo although a little tricky to find though that could have been down to the taxi driver. Super modern, clean comfortable great food helpful staff thoroughly recommend it if your using Colombo as your starting point for the rest of Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We only stayed one night before our flight home but wish it had been longer. We had the garden suite which has it own private entrance, little courtyard garden and outdoor sitting area.
The communal roof terrace is very nice and we had a delicious curry there in the evening. Our flight was very early the following morning so we didn't get to experience breakfast although they kindly made us a sandwich to take with us. Only down side was we didn't have hot water - but certainly not the only hotel in Sri Lanka without it !
If we return to Colombo we will be very happy to use lake lodge again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taru Villas - Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taru Villas - Lake Lodge

Address: 20 Alvis Terrace, Colombo 03000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in March 2009, Nayantara Fonseka, also known as Taru, helms the re-opening of Lake Lodge, a 13-room Bed & Breakfast Budget Hotel that has been owned by her family for over 40 years. Down a quiet residential lane in the heart of commercial Colombo, Lake Lodge was one of the first accredited Tourist accommodations in Sri Lanka, which Taru has refurbished with her usual creative flair & inimitable style. Your ‘home away from home’ while in Sri Lanka, whether for a few days of holiday or a month on business, Lake Lodge will be run in the typically friendly yet professional manner that she successfully spearheaded for several years with her Taru Villas boutique hotels.•12 + 1 stylish ensuite Double Rooms with all modern conveniences (King sized beds, AC, H/C Showers, and Cable TV etc).•FREE – Wi-Fi •Spacious Lounge areas + 2 large terraces with view over park & lake. •Breakfast Bar•As well as providing our guests with a delightful lunch and dinner menu, our Chefs are also available to prepare any meal to your individual requirement•Licensed Bar. •Guest Laundry, Left Luggage, Safety Deposit, Fax, Airport Transfer, Taxi Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Taru Villas - Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Colombo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taru Villas - Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.