We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT PLACE TO STAY AND UNWIND” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taru Villas - Lake Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Taru Villas - Lake Lodge to your Saves list
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
20 Alvis Terrace, Colombo 03000, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 80 Colombo B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT PLACE TO STAY AND UNWIND”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Really great design. Comfortable rooms and great service. Also very well located.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    150
    28
    9
    7
See reviews for
53
253
36
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

My partner & I stayed here for 2 nights when we arrived in Sri Lanka.
We arranged for a driver to pick us up from the airport (at 2am) which was very smooth.

The hotel is great, small and clean. The rooms were pretty much spotless, comfortable bed as well. Only problem was there was a pretty strong, bad smell in the room - we couldn't figure out where this actually came from, but it was bad.

During the week it's also quite noisy from all the school children, fire crackers & loud speakers, but not an issue if you want to get up & go sight seeing.

Overall wonderful stay, good breakfast & nice staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

We stayed in Lake Lodge the night after arriving in Colombo. As the city is very smoggy, hectic and overcrowded we were extremely happy to arrive in the quite and peaceful Lake Lodge.
The hotel only has about 10 rooms and besides includes very spacious social areas, like lounge and restaurant. Our room was very spacious, extremely clean and a lot of attention is given to details. It was equipped with TV, A/C, bathroom en suite with shower and a comfortable queen-size bed.
Staff was very friendly and caring.
And above all, it is not expensive at all for what it is - we paid around 50 USD for one night including breakfast.
In the evening we had a comfortably spicy curry on the roof-terrace and it was just delicious - one of the best curries we then had in our three weeks in Sri Lanka.
If you look for the perfect and relaxing stay in Colombo, then do not miss the Lake Lodge - enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

I was blown away. This is a super stylish, modern, ultra clean boutique hotel. A million times better than one of the big hotels. Includes bfast. Rooms upstairs are best. Only shortcoming is no wifi.

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms upstairs by booking early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

The best kept secret in colombo! The food is simply superb and the service is extremely personal. Definitely a place I would recommend to anyone looking for a getaway or a holiday in sri lanka. the rooms are extremely comfortable. Definitely worth the money you pay!

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

This place is fine if you're passing through for 1 night but don't expect to sleep much.
It's located adjacent to a large senior school with hundres of screaming kids who arrive at 7.30am each morning. The sleeping pleasure is further added to by the appaling build quality with nothing to dappen even the slightest sound travelling between rooms.

Don't accept a room on the ground floor at any cost as these are built around the kitchen and unless you want to hear about the contents of everyone's breakfast then give it a miss

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Lake Lodge at the beginning and end of or holiday, we arrived at 03:00am at the airport and the drivers was there to greet us, at that time of the morning we were at the hotel within 40 mins, when we pulled up and the gates opened there was a 'wow' from us both. We had booked the Garden suite, amazing, small court yard, with Huge Bird of Paradise plants growing along the wall. the room is beautiful, with the most comfortable bed, amazing bathroom and small sitting area. We had breakfast served on our own terrace, lovely fresh fruit platter, yogurt, juice and toast and preserves, the coffee was not that good but hay, everything else was superb. We were so impressed we had dinner on our private veranda as well.

Location is superb for getting around Colombo, all in all a great experience we will defiantly be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taru Villas - Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taru Villas - Lake Lodge

Address: 20 Alvis Terrace, Colombo 03000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in March 2009, Nayantara Fonseka, also known as Taru, helms the re-opening of Lake Lodge, a 13-room Bed & Breakfast Budget Hotel that has been owned by her family for over 40 years. Down a quiet residential lane in the heart of commercial Colombo, Lake Lodge was one of the first accredited Tourist accommodations in Sri Lanka, which Taru has refurbished with her usual creative flair & inimitable style. Your ‘home away from home’ while in Sri Lanka, whether for a few days of holiday or a month on business, Lake Lodge will be run in the typically friendly yet professional manner that she successfully spearheaded for several years with her Taru Villas boutique hotels.•12 + 1 stylish ensuite Double Rooms with all modern conveniences (King sized beds, AC, H/C Showers, and Cable TV etc).•FREE – Wi-Fi •Spacious Lounge areas + 2 large terraces with view over park & lake. •Breakfast Bar•As well as providing our guests with a delightful lunch and dinner menu, our Chefs are also available to prepare any meal to your individual requirement•Licensed Bar. •Guest Laundry, Left Luggage, Safety Deposit, Fax, Airport Transfer, Taxi Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Taru Villas - Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Colombo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taru Villas - Lake Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.