We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a lazy afternoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Lavinia

Mount Lavinia
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 89 things to do in Colombo
Attraction details
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good place for a lazy afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

An excellent place to hang out a lazy afternoon, and jump in the pool when it gets too hot. Don't order coffee but cappuccino otherwise you might end up with a local brew.....

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    201
    71
    17
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

A lovely beach, though too crowded at busy times, would suggest to go on weekdays, and water seems to be cleaner at that time too.
If you are a single white woman, you may get hassled a bit by young men, but mostly they are harmless in my experience. People will also try to sell you things and you need to be a bit assertive.
Sri Lankan women swim fully clothed, and whilst white women in bikinis don't seem to attract particularly undue attention, all the other white women I came across on the beach (not too many) were with their husbands or boyfriends, and as I was on my own I didn't feel comfortable undressing, so ended up just dipping my toes in.
Lots of restaurants and cafes, somewhat overpriced, but the food I tried has been nice.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Buffet dinner at Lavinia. Great location facing the sea and historic building. Enjoyed the dinner at candle light since there was power cut due to earth day hour

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beggers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

To many beggers and pimps, don't go alone. If you are white you will not be left in peace.
Don't go at night as the locals will think your a pedo.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful seaside area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Its an absolutely terrific area if your a beach lover. The extravagant Mount Lavinia Hotel is also located in the area, which is one of the oldest 5 star hotels with an exquisite English feel. Great food accompanied by beautiful views.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Lavinia also viewed

 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Mount Lavinia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Lavinia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.