We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, acceptable standards for the money paid” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Global Towers Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Global Towers Hotel to your Saves list
Global Towers Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Marine Drive, Colombo 00094, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Colombo
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good location, acceptable standards for the money paid”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The location of this hotel is good. Its on Marine Drive and faces the beach. Its well equipped with a restaurant and bar. The bar has karaoke nights during weekends. The check in is a breeze as the front desk staff try and accommodate you as fast as possible even if there was a bevy of us checking in at the same time. The bar is well stocked, but the bar menu is sparse and the food is not that great. If you dont want to go out much, even the 'Beach Wadia' bar right across the property which is good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    40
    62
    29
    18
See reviews for
45
30
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Staying with 3 couples we were assigned a 9th floor 3 roomed apartment. Nice clean rooms, great views, en suite with every room, nice lounge area. The A/C didn't work when we got to the room, took an hour for them to fix it but OK afterwards. Kettle in kitchen didn't work, took them an hour to replace it. We had to threaten to leave the hotel before above faults were attended to.

Telephone in the lobby outside our suite rang frequently with no one ever answering it.

Restaurant was good for dinner, fair prices and well prepared food. Breakfast buffet was dissapointing with fresh cooked eggs the only good thing available unless you like cold curry and stale pastries.

The wifi is free in the lobby (when it was working which was about half the time) but you have to pay to receive it in the room...not only that but at $8.00 per DEVICE per 24 hours this is ridiculous. Our party had 8 wifi devices in total, so two days internet would have cost $128.

Views from the front of the hotel are great but you'll get lots of train noise, especially morning and evening rush hours.

Room Tip: Great views from ocean facing rooms but very noisy trains during morning and evening rush hour. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel several times since I arrived in Sri Lanka in Nov 2012. I liked this hotel as it faces the sea and give an spectacular view. There are several restaurant around to choose and have fun. However, when it comes to services inside the hotel, I always had a complaints, especially on the quality of rooms as they promised. Since last 3-4 visits, I was not given the expected standard of room. Sometime, you don't find a safety box, TV, writing desk and sometime all in one, compacted in a very small room – making difficult to move. I have made this complaints and requested to have such improvement and hope when I check in again next time (next week), I will have no more complain. One big challenge here is the disturbance from the train moving round the clock from just in front of the hotel.
In addition, I would like to recommend the hotel management to teach some etiquette and principles of hospitality to their restaurant staff as every time, I visited the restaurant during the breakfast, I never saw anyone bothering even to ask if I need water or tea/coffee. Even to ask for something, one has to call them several times and finally when they come, they come with arrogant mood - no smiles at all. Looks like they are forced to work their.....but this should not be the case.

Beside these two issues, rest all okay in this hotel and I liked this very much.

Room Tip: High floor from the back side - not facing the road if you want to have quite sleep. In case you lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Worse hotel..thats the only one word is enough for this hotel to describe.pls ppl becareful dont waste ur money for this junk.front desk was not professional. Room was not for Two ppl at all its like a nest.no place to walk keep ur tiny luggage u can keep.pathetic

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

5 days of a very bad experience, internet pictures looked great, make sure that the kitchen is fully equipt with plates, pots and pans as well as cooking and eating utensil. .The staff telephone in the hallway never stopped ringing and sleep was impossible, bread van played music early in the morning and woke people up before day light. Be prepared to spend your own time cleaning and providing feed back.

Room Tip: Mae sure your room is clean and fridge and stove is working, also make sure that the kitchen is full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed here for three nights. As we were travelling as a family we took a three bedroom apartment. It was absolute value for money. To begin with,check in was smooth and guest friendly. Front office lady was real nice. The rooms were clean and fresh. The bathrooms too were clean and spotless. The view from the rooms were fantastic overlooking the Indian Ocean with amazing sunsets to gaze on. Global towers is located on marine drive and the iconic sea food Resturant of Colombo ...Beach Wadiya..is just opposite. On the whole a great place to stay with the family.
Flip side,kitchen though well equipped,smelled musty. No blankets here again. Also beds are all queen sized! A little passing train notice tends to wake you up early.

Room Tip: Take ocean facing rooms if you can bear a little railway noice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Good hotel to stay if you plan to get around Colombo on your own. Easy to hire three wheelers outside the hotel. The staff are friendly and the room small but comfortable. The food is priced reasonably but not that great. However there are other fantastic options around Colombo.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Global Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Global Towers Hotel

Address: 11 Marine Drive, Colombo 00094, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Global Towers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Global Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Global Hotel Colombo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Global Towers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.