We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful sanctuary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Havelock Place Bungalow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Havelock Place Bungalow to your Saves list
The Havelock Place Bungalow
6, Havelock Place | Colombo 5, Colombo, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 86 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Peaceful sanctuary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed for one night on our way from galle to dambulla. The staff were very friendly and helpful and good with the children. It is lovely and quiet refuge away from the hustle and bustle of the city but a short tuk tuk ride to everywhere. The food was delicious. The children loved the swimming pool. The rooms are old fashioned, but the beds are comfortable. I would have liked a mosquito net, but I forgot to ask for one.
I would have liked to have spent some more nights in Colombo as it is an interesting and vibrant city. I would recommend the havelock place bungalow to my friends and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a really fun bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
havelockplacebungalo, Owner at The Havelock Place Bungalow, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.We would have gladly provided a mosquito net if you only asked.
Looking forward to seeing you back at The bungalow someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    73
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
50
109
19
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

A big thank you and hello to everyone at Havelock Bungalow. Our stay there was boutique luxury but also very homely. It really is a little gem in the city and I would recommend it if you are not into staying at the big hotels. It is hidden away in a beautiful overgrown garden with water pools and and lovely courtyard garden. The villa is understated colonial style and very elegant. Staff were wonderful and swiftly sorted out anything we requested. We had our 3 three year old daughter with us who loved it and still calls it it 'her holiday house' as she was so comfortable playing around the garden, the water and chatting to staff who were all so sweet to her. Our room was beautiful, elegant and comfortable. The food was fantastic. Breakfasts were perfect in good portions and a relief from large buffet meals that you often get in hotels. The homemade ice-cream flavors were delicious. We are really missing the bungalow and this will be my place to stay in Colombo for years to come. Sending everybody our very best wishes!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Down to earth peaceful colonialstyle place, with polite personal service and a kitchen well above the average. Friendly and wellinformed managers. You feel relaxed and at home is little old school hideaway in the middle of noisy fuming Colombo. Good value for your money.

Best wishes,
Janek and Tara.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We travelled from India to Sri Lanka and we booked ourselves 2 rooms at this wonderful place for 3 nights. Lovely old fashioned rooms which are tastefully done with lovely common areas in which one can sit and read. Breakfasts are great and served in a lovely outdoor patio which is very relaxed and informal. We ate dinner one night at the hotel and that was excellent- lovely home made ice cream as we!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed at the Havelock for 2 nights at the end of our month trip and loved it. It is located down a quiet tree lined street and surrounded by lovely gardens. The room was decorated in a lovely way and was extremely comfortable. Dinner in the outdoor garden was of high quality - and the homemade icecream there are no words to describe it. It you want somewhere quiet and peaceful away from the hustle and bustle of central Colombo this is the place - although a little difficult for taxis to find it is worth the 10 minute trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Havelock offers a good value retreat in Colombo with the main area of Colombo fort just 20/25 away in a tuk tuk. Retains an air of an old colonial villa though we felt the rooms were a little jaded and in need of some improvement. Charming garden area for a great breakfast. Did not eat there in the evening as only one Sri Lanka option was available on the dinner menu which was disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Wonderful place to wind down in when arriving in colombo. Friendly and helpful staff fantastic bathrooms. Delicious food.lovely shaded seated area. Bedrooms very comfortable especially mattresses. Com

Room Tip: Charming outdoor bathrom in room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
havelockplacebungalo, Owner at The Havelock Place Bungalow, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time off to review our property.Hopefully we will see you back at The bungalow someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Havelock Place Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Havelock Place Bungalow

Address: 6, Havelock Place | Colombo 5, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Havelock Place Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Havelock Place Bungalow Hotel Colombo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Havelock Place Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.