We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy City Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renuka City Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renuka City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renuka City Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   328 Galle Road | Colombo 3, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Renuka)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 hotels in Colombo
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cozy City Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Perfect for business traveler. Very centrally located in Colombo 3.
Breakfast was nice and hearty. I would suggest however to book the new wing of the hotel.
Friendly door staff.
Dining options within the hotel are poor, only one restaurant, however lots of places nearby to eat.
My flight was delayed from Dubai and although i had booked a transfer, the driver was not there.
Room service menu at night was not something to writ home about.
Would recommend for short business trips.

Room Tip: Always ask to book the new rooms in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    115
    95
    29
    16
See reviews for
37
81
30
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

stayed in Renuka for 4 days, Check in was smooth and amenities were good. Rooms were clean in the newly refurbished area and modern. Wi Fi connectivity was good and it was free!!!! The only issue is that its slightly costly when compared to others of the same class and romm service menu was small. You need to go to their restaurant (which serves awesome Jaffna food) for having you meal if you need authentic Sri Lankan fare :)

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th Floor in the new wing have a nicer view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, España
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Good location and clean. Front desk staff not friendly but correct. The main problem is the Hotel manager, his name is something like Babu, is very rude and bad educated. He treats really bad his staff, and also his clients. I'll really would like to know who and why put him on this position, because it doesn't make any sense. I'll never come back to this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Me and my sister stayed at Renuka City Hotel for a week exploring Colombo. Our room was clean nice and spacious. The staff was friendly and helped us with whatever we needed. A minus point is that they charge for Wifi, don't know why. The biggest plus point has to be the location of the hotel, very centrally located. Another plus point was the breakfast; heavenly, simply amazing!

Room Tip: if you need internet don't use the wifi at the hotel, get it outside the hotel from an browsing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed in this hotel twice in 2012 (Nov-Dec) and generally I liked it. It is centrally located and close proximity of many restaurants and important places. Room are good with minibar, saftey box, tea coffee. However, I found it bit congested/small in size. Bathroom is good with required and good quality of bathroom amenities. Beds are very comfortable and I enjoyed sleeping quality. The breakfast is served at the basement restaurant, the only restaurant and bar. The choice of breakfast in continetal and local which is okay with limited choice. The hotel is at the Galle road and if the room is at the road side, it can affect the sleeping. In general I liked it but would prefer to explore more options.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing Galle road for disturbance less sleeping
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed for a couple of nights at Renuka City Hotel on Galle Road at Colombo in March 2013. The hotel, a medium-priced place, is well located, very well known, and maintains its standards of cleanliness and service.

The room was clean and functional. The toilets were modern and while hot water took a while to get, it wasn't too long as at some other places I've been to. The staff were courteous and helpful. The breakfast spread was adequate.

One interesting (or spooky) thing was that at least in my room (320), there was no way to lock the room from inside, and you stood the chance of being surprised by any staff with a pass-key. While I had no issues with it, I know people (esp. women) who would not stay in such a room. I'm not sure if all rooms were like this though.

The Wifi Internet was also a bit weird, but this is not the hotel's fault by of the service provider (Dialog Telecom)...if you forget to log out manually, you get locked out of the account and there is no way to get it back until Dialog's technical support resets it for you. This was very frustrating for me (but I was supported by a very helpful front-office staff).

The hotel is pricey, leveraging its reputation to charge high. There are other budget hotels on Galle Road which apparently offer comparable features at half the cost. For example, I asked for a car to the airport, and was told that it would be USD 37 (I finally called the cab which I had taken from the airport, and he dropped me back at USD 15).

In summary, a good bet if you are new to Colombo and do not want to take risks. I wish they would put latches on the doors though...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Hotel Renuka many times, its conveniant location, yummy Sri Lanka food, and great value for money means it is always our first choice when visiting SL. However this time we were both blown away by the new pool bar which just opened up in February 2013,

The view is unbelievable, it is actually shocking that you are right in the heart of Colombo because all you can see is the beautiful blue Indian Ocean. One of my favorite places to be in was in the new infinity pool which looks right out onto the Ocean, the white deck chairs, yummy cocktails, Sri Lankan bites and Ibiza tunes made hubby and I fall in love all over again.

The new gym which also faces the ocean is the best place to work out, I found myself hitting the gym more on this trip and my husband who is a fitness enthusiast was more than impressed with the gym facilities.

Bliss to me is sipping on a cocktail on the deck chairs at sunset, you really feel that you are in another world. After the sun goes down the pool bar still maintains its calm. Its the best place to wind down with a drink before heading out. The music, the cocktails, the sea breeze and the pretty lights around the pool create the perfect ambience.

My family and I have always loved Renuka hotel but the new pool bar has increased our impression. In two months we are going back to SL for a wedding and I can't wait to be back at that pool bar again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renuka City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renuka City Hotel

Address: 328 Galle Road | Colombo 3, Colombo, Sri Lanka (Formerly Hotel Renuka)
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renuka City Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Colombo, Renuka City Hotel is Colombo's premier business hotel, committed to providing guests excellent facilities at the best value in the city. Hotel Facilities Include: Air-conditioned Rooms with TVs (Local & Cable Channels), Mini Fridges, Safes, Internet & IDD Facilities. Other facilities: Breakfast Buffet, 24 Hours Room Service, Palmyrah Restaurant serving authentic Sri Lankan and Continental Cuisine, Two Bars, Business Centre, Free Wifi facilities in guest rooms and public areas, Conference & Banqueting facilities, Swimming Pool, Fitness Centre & Laundry & Dry Cleaning Facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Renuka City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renuka Hotel Colombo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renuka City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.