We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Beds The Regent

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added City Beds The Regent to your Saves list
City Beds The Regent
20 Regent Building | Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mw, Colombo Colombo 1, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 86 Colombo B&B and Inns
Самара, Россия
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Its right place to stay in Colombo for 1 or 2 night.
Best free Wi-Fi in Sri Lanka.
They don't serving food - but u can use kitchen in common area, and its a lot of restaurants near.
The rooms is small but clean and with a huge bed, view to a Buddha Temple, and shower with hot water.
Pedestrian access to main attractions and railway station.
Very friendly staff!!!

In Europe this type of hotels called hostel =)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eshan A, Owner at City Beds The Regent, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear dreeeamdj thank you very much for choosing to stay at City Beds The Regent and we truly value your positive feedback. It is always a pleasure to have such wonderful guests like you staying with us. Glad to hear that you found our wifi useful. We hope that your entire holiday in Sri Lanka was memorable and hope to welcome you back at City Beds again soon. Happy travels!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    57
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
7
100
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were arriving late and just staying overnight in Colombo before catching an early morning train from Fort station so wanted somewhere nearby that was clean. City Beds The Regent was perfect for us and we could easily have stayed there longer - Fort Station is a 5-minute walk down the road, the bed, room and en suite were all very clean and comfortable, the hot shower did the trick to wake us up in the morning, and the staff (especially Eshan) very helpful answering all our questions very promptly before we arrived and he sorted us out with a pickup from the airport too which took away that hassle. All this for a fraction of the cost of the 4/5* hotels nearby - recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eshan A, Owner at City Beds The Regent, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear RSL80 even though your stay was short, it was great to have met you guys. Thank you so much for the lovely comment on our page with the positive feedback and encouragement. In terms of being helpful, we at City Beds thrive in order to offer exemplary customer service to all our guests, this is our mission. We find that if we offer this service along with the basic hot water shower, ac rooms and a clean environment, we would be able to satisfy all our guests.
Thank you once again for your lovely feedback, it's always a pleasure to have you at City Beds. See you again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

On arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome and a smell of cleanliness. We were shown to our room which had everything we expected, refreshing air con, clean bathroom, hot shower and was throughly clean throughout.

We met the owner who was extremely helpful (and cute) and he gave us excellent advice on costs of Tuk Tuks and places worth visiting. The wifi was good and we felt safe and secure.

Would recommend especially with the excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eshan A, Owner at City Beds The Regent, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi Laura, what can we say, so happy to know that you enjoyed your 2 day stay us here at City Beds The Regent. We do thrive on the quality and cleanliness of the room. We aim to provide the best service and give out useful information about the local whereabouts to all our guests. Thank you for the positive feedback and it is great to know that you found the location and staff convenient and helpful. Very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koblenz, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at city beds for two nights and we really enjoyed the place.
The staff is incredebily friendly. The room are simple and everything was very clean.

The guesthouse is central located (less than 5 min. to walk to the World Trade Center).

A great stay for a fair price!

Room Tip: We had a room with a small bathroom (with hot water) which was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eshan A, Owner at City Beds The Regent, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Jens H - we are so very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything perfect!!! As you and many others have mentioned, we at City Beds -The Regent thrive on providing all our guests with very clean rooms, this has to be the expectation from every traveller. As you did stay with us for two nights, I'm sure you enjoyed the fact that it is located centrally to all the major sites in Colombo city. Hope to have you back again soon. Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gijon, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

They have all you need when arriving the country: first stop the capital a must to test the nation feelings; location (top), pricing (excellent value/cost), facilities for backpackers and young(adventurers) honeymooners, friendly staff and professional management.
Also a perfect last base for a goodbay to Sri Lanka after a rough county ride feel again the confort and friendship.

Room Tip: . " Book in advance, it's small."
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eshan A, Owner at City Beds The Regent, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Pelayo - Thank you for the lovely review. It was a pleasure to have met you and the gang here at City Beds - The Regent and it was definitely great to welcome you not once but twice. As you very rightly mentioned, we do offer all our guests a central location in the city in order to make it easier for them to visit the near by attractions and also rest up after a rough journey around the country. We most certainly hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Most places in colombo are over priced so we decided to give this place a try: only needed a room for a night and close to the train station. We are verry happy we got to this place cause not only that it met all our needs, we had a great time with eshan and karu. Thank you guys!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eshan A, Owner at City Beds The Regent, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dearest Dotan - What a wonderful opportunity it was to welcome you and your wife on your honeymoon here in Colombo. We not only thank you for choosing City Beds, but we also thank you for the wonderful reviews you have given us. We do price our property in order to make it affordable for everyone. Our theory is encourage travelers from all walks of life to stay with us and save on accommodation whereby they would be able to do more around the city. It was also great to be able to show you and your wife around the city of Colombo on Friday night in order for you to experience the night life of Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

A very nice place to feel Colombo. Estrategic location, very helpful staff & cute and clean rooms in its simplicity. Special mention to Eshan & Karu for their hospilaty and help during our stay. Good value for money.

Room Tip: chosse an a.c. room if it is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eshan A, Owner at City Beds The Regent, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hi Gabriel - Thank you so much for the special mention to myself and Karu. We truly enjoyed taking care of you and the rest of your mates on your short stay in Sri Lanka. Glad that you enjoyed our company as we did yours and also we are happy that you found our location so central to all the major tourist sites in Colombo. As you have mentioned about our clean rooms, I would like to say that one of our highest priorities here at City Beds - The Regent is the cleanliness of all our rooms and bathrooms. We know how important it is for everyone, whether they travel on a budget or not, to have a clean environment. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to City Beds The Regent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Beds The Regent

Address: 20 Regent Building | Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mw, Colombo Colombo 1, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right near the Old Dutch Hospital Complex and Hilton Colombo, City Beds The Regent is a small little budget accommodation unit that offers travellers everything basic and necessary for an affordable option. We are right opposite the Lake House building and have 5 rooms which are all air-conditioned and have their own en-suite. We offer free Wifi, tea & coffee and always up for chat regarding what to do around the area and city, In most cases you will be able to join us along in most of our daily activities around Colombo that are designed to showcase all our guests, how NOT TO BE A TYPICAL TOURIST in Sri Lanka. We are a registered, licensed and approved budget motel by the Ceylon Tourist Board and amongst all our staff have a wealth of knowledge in creating wonderful memories and experiences for all our guests who stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your City Beds The Regent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Beds The Regent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.