We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo to your Saves list
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mawatha | Colombo 02, Colombo 00200, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Colombo
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

Great hotel with lovely pool for the children. Good service and lovely food.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    331
    118
    46
    28
See reviews for
162
222
56
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
farnham common
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
140 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We were lucky enough to be put up by our airline in this hotel when our flight was cancelled because of the snow closing Heathrow.

Small room which was probably kept for emergencies. Could have done with a dust.

Lobby was lovely, had Christmas carols with free drinks, mince pies etc which was nice.

Lovely pool.

Buffet was excellent.

Nothing near to the hotel to visit without getting in a tuk tuk.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

My family and will do our best not tostay here again. On the bad-side, for what you pay (which is not cheap) the service is poor, the rooms are not that well kept or renovated and the lobby is a crazy disgrace.

The best bits about the hotel are: the chinese restaurant Long Feng is excellent. Deliciious food and excellent service. Contrast this with the Thai restaurant next door where they took 45 minutes to bring out one dish and then it was cold.

The cinnamon group really needs a complete overhaul.

Will try the Hilton next time.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

We arrived at this hotel and there were drums and flutes and a wedding going on. very colorful and very nice indeed.
We checked in, the staff was super efficient and really friendly (on the contrary to cinnamon grand) Rooms are clean but bathrooms are really small and the furniture looked really old.
Next morning coming down the elevator we could hear the noise on the ground floor before we reached it, it was crazy, elevator doors open and it looked like some shopping mall, so many people, and more drums and more flutes and more weddings. lol and everything was so loud.
Breakfast was really good though, great food, great service. but the people just kept coming, many business meetings around the lobby area lots of people and well.. just busy and loud.
The staff is great and the food is great, but if you like it quiet in the mornings and during breakfast (like i do) then you will hate this place. lol But if you are just going to sleep over and catch the flight the next morning, then it should be ok (they have good rates)

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

amazing hospitality ,superb rooms,nice interiors,a warmth welcome,wow what a nice place it is

Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We have stayed in this hotel some years ago and returned as it was so good. I was not happy with the standard of the room and moved rooms. This hotel was in the process of renovation and it is needed (hence the relatively low rating for value and cleanliness) The foyer and retaurants had been completed and the food was wonderful. It was varied and the service was excellent. The spa treatments were some of the best I have had. If you book make sure you have a room that has been renovated and you will not regret your choice of hotel. All the staff are exceptionally helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel during our stay in Sri Lanka.
The check-in was slow but very friendly and welcoming.
The room was wide (35 sqm) but worn out: carpets and chairs were full of stains, bathroom had mold on the tiles.Renovation of the rooms is underway, and there was a lot of noise coming from the works above us during the day which made it impossible to stay in the room without having a headache after 30 minutes. We saw several other guests complain about the noise.
We enjoyed the pool that is very large, heated (we were there during the Christmas 2010) and very clean. The poolside retsaurants and bars are also very pleasant.
The breakfast was the best we had in Sri Lanka with lots of local specialties as well as
continental.
Overall, i would avoid staying at this hotel for a few months until the works are finished. the rooms will be at par with international standards and you will avoid the noise.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo

Address: 115 Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mawatha | Colombo 02, Colombo 00200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#4 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#5 Family Hotel in Colombo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#9 Business Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked the Best Five Star City Hotel by Sri Lanka Tourism, Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo is the epitome of indulgence and elegance. Overlooking the tranquil Beira Lake, the hotel offers completely refurbished rooms. Its inimitable blend of luxury, personal attention, sincerity and warmth gives you the opportunity to operate at your own pace and in your own space, regardless of whether you are visiting for a business luncheon or dropping in for a quick coffee; planning your dream wedding or organising a conference; attending to important business or on a well-deserved vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo Hotel Colombo
Trans Asia Colombo
Hotel Trans Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.