We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo to your Saves list
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mawatha | Colombo 02, Colombo 00200, Sri Lanka   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Colombo
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

The location was in the center of city. The rooms were well done and comfortable. The breakfast spread was more than adequate. The staff were friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay in this property in my next trip to Colombo

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for your five star review. We are delighted that you had a comfortable stay and consider Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo as a centrally located hotel. It is great that you enjoyed the sumptuous breakfast buffet at the Dining Room and indulged in our warm Cinnamon hospitality. Thank you for your assurance to stay with us again and we hope to see you soon.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    331
    118
    46
    28
See reviews for
162
222
56
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Was only at the hotel for 2 nights but the time spent there was a positive experience. Staff were very welcoming from check in to check out. The room had a fabulous view of the pool and lake. A shame it rained or I would have made use of the pool and poolside bar! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for your five star review. We are delighted that you had an excellent experience at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo and enjoyed our warm Cinnamon hospitality. We hope your next stay with us would be longer, so you can indulge in our range of facilities on offer. Thank you for your patronage.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I've stayed in this hotel a few times over the past few year on business trips and the hotel is getting progressively worse. This stay in the last time. The chair is stained, desk is just dirty scratched and overall the room is worn and not clear. There is a plate for fruit, no fruit is given but is just grimy. Housekeeping staff knock and just walk straight into the room. I'm a frequent business traveler and this hotel is clearly on the downcycle. Avoid it, and go to the Hilton.Once new hotels start opening the Cinnemon will certainly feel the competition. For USD200, the value for money here is not existent. Its too bad as the location of the property is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
I am glad I had the opportunity to speak with you before your departure and to know that you felt comfortable with our handling of your complaint. We appreciate and value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

It was pleasant surprise when we arrive to Cinnamon to see such a nice place.
Hotel is well located near the lake and all rooms with great view.
Check in was not fast as expected from property like this but polite.
Our room great,bathroom spacious.
Pool wonderfull,several restaurants with great food and nice atmosphere.
Real value for money.I recommend this place

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
We thank you for your time in reviewing us. We are delighted that you had a great stay at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo. It is lovely to learn that you liked our facilities and enjoyed the great food in our many restaurants serving authentic cuisine from across the globe. Staying in a “Premium” room overlooking the lake provides you with the ideal picturesque view and relaxation. We thank you for your valued patronage and recommending our hotel to other travelers. We hope to see you again when you next travel to Colombo.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The Cinnamon Lakeside is a lovely hotel with a fantastic pool and great restaurants. Our room was in a good condition and the food we had while there was lovely- both our evening meal and the huge breakfast selection. On check-in they brought us a glass of ginger beer which was a great touch after a long journey and, apart from a bit too much effort to up sell a more expensive room to us, the staff were really friendly. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo indulging in sumptuous food and the facilities on offer. Thank you for your patronage and your assurance to stay with us again is encouraging. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The bad:

We had booked Cinnamon Lakeside starting the night BEFORE our arrival as we were coming into Colombo on the Qatar flight from Doha landing at 3AM. I emailed the hotel a couple days before our arrival to make sure our room was preserved when we did not show up before midnight. The front desk manager assured me that our room would be kept for us.

Upon arrival at 4AM, we were checked in. In what was, in retrospect, a bad sign that we missed, our room number on our key wallet had been scratched out and replaced with another number. When we got to our room we quickly realized we were not in the Premium room that we had booked (because if you don’t have a room facing the lake…what’s the point of staying at this hotel...other than the fantastic 7 degrees North al fresco dining, that is) but rather a Superior room facing the road. We actually PASSED the room that had originally been written on our key wallet on our way and it was clearly a full view Premium room, the type we booked.

We called the front desk and it took some time to get the situation sorted. Around 4:30AM we were moved to a ‘Premium’ room…except rather than having a full lake view, it had a partial lake view. The only logical explanation was that the hotel had sold our Premium room when we did not check in before midnight and were trying to pawn us off on whatever room they had available. Frustrated, I dashed off an email to the front desk manager expressing my disappointment at their inability to keep their direct promise to hold our booked room and went to bed.

The Good:

So given that disaster, why am I giving the hotel 4 stars? Simple: everyone makes mistakes. The measure of quality is how one reacts to making a mistake.

When we arose we got a call from the desk manager who had read my email and was profusely apologetic for the disaster the night before. He placed us on the executive floor with a full lake view for the balance of our stay.

We typically do book executive floor when traveling, but it seemed a bit excessive when we were only staying one and a quarter nights of a two-night stay.

So the four stars were earned by:

1) The hotel compensating for its mistake, and
2) The truly amazing service we received as guests on the executive floor. The hospitality in the executive lounge was world-class. And I say that from experience in executive lounges all over the world. We were literally fawned over during the evening happy hour and breakfast the next morning. The experience made me sorry we hadn’t just booked the executive floor in the first place.

So yes, the hotel is a bit dated. The price reflects that reality. And yes, at check-in one must be hyper- vigilant with regard to room type. But in the end the hotel took responsibility for and atoned for its mistake. And if you book the executive floor you will experience first-class pampering. So even in spite of a frustrating arrival, four stars it is.

Room Tip: Book the executive floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for the descriptive review of your stay at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo. We are delighted that you had a total indulgence of our facilities and had a comfortable stay. Your high recommendation of our Executive floor conveniences will assist other travelers to find the right place to spend their stay in Colombo. We also appreciate you highlighting your observations. We do hope you will stay with us during your next visit to Sri Lanka to experience yet again our true Cinnamon hospitality. Thank you for your patronage.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

One of the good 5 stars hotels in colombo...lots of F&B outlets with diverse food and excellent wine choices. The room is comfortable and I had a good view on the swimming pool and lake. The hotel is well located near most of the places to see in colombo. I felt the airport drop to be quite expensive though.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Gruhier, General Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you liked the location and facilities and also enjoyed your dining experience at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo. We hope you will decide to stay with us on your next visit to Sri Lanka and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Thank you for your patronage.

Denis Gruhier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo

Address: 115 Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mawatha | Colombo 02, Colombo 00200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#4 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#5 Family Hotel in Colombo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#9 Business Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked the Best Five Star City Hotel by Sri Lanka Tourism, Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo is the epitome of indulgence and elegance. Overlooking the tranquil Beira Lake, the hotel offers completely refurbished rooms. Its inimitable blend of luxury, personal attention, sincerity and warmth gives you the opportunity to operate at your own pace and in your own space, regardless of whether you are visiting for a business luncheon or dropping in for a quick coffee; planning your dream wedding or organising a conference; attending to important business or on a well-deserved vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo Hotel Colombo
Trans Asia Colombo
Hotel Trans Asia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.