We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Property , Good For transit stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sapphire Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sapphire Hotel to your Saves list
Sapphire Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   371 Galle Road, Colombo 00600, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Colombo
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Average Property , Good For transit stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I Stayed at this property for 1 Night on 28 th October. We were in a family group of 6 Adults and 5 Children. So we took three tripple rooms. 

The hotel needs a major renovation. It's a old property. The outer look of the hotel is also poor. But as Colombo is very expensive you cant expect much from a 2-3 star hotel. We just came to Colombo for a transit visit for 1 day so we didn't wanted to spend much so we choose this hotel otherwise there are many good hotels compared to this.
Food city Supermarket is just opposite to the hotel and location is very good in proper Colombo city. 

Lobby is small but fully WiFi in lobby and room free of charge. They took little time to get check in us. Staffs were courteous.  

As soon as we entered the rooms  It was a colonial feeling. It looked an old room asking for changes in it. Room size was ok. Not too big or not too small. Minibar, TV , Electric Kettle and 2 bottle of complimentary water was there at it's place. 

Bed Linens were average quality and stains were there on them. Bath linens were of good quality and neatly washed and scented. All toiletries were there in toilet.  

Bathroom is Horrible. You don't have enough space to move around. 2 person can't go together in the bathroom. Sanitary wares were also of low standard quality. It's difficult to take bath for single person also. 

Garden and swimming area is small but pool was very much clean and a bar was also there to enjoy your drink after swimming. 

Overall I must say this is a very average property and for transit purpose it's ok because you won't get good hotels in Srilanka at a cheaper price compared to this.  

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    39
    31
    12
    4
See reviews for
31
12
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
948 reviews 948 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 279 cities Reviews in 279 cities
423 helpful votes 423 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Spent one night here with Exodus Discover Sri Lanka tour. Received welcome drink upon arrival but no cool towel. Received Room #211 (king). Elevator in hotel. Room was very large. Fridge, kettle for coffee/tea, 2 free bottles of water. Hair dryer in bathroom. Pool, but we didn't take the time to use it. Full bath amenities including shaving, comb, toothbrush, soap, shampoo, lotion (no conditioner). Fully enclosed shower stall. Air con worked great. Not many outlets for plugging in your electronic devices, though. Free fast wifi throughout.

Golden Palace Chinese restaurant serves not just Chinese dishes, but many types. Portions are HUGE so if there are three of you (women), you can all share a small. Breakfast was also served in that restaurant buffet style. Dishes were a mix of Sri Lanka, Indian and Western and were delicious!

Lots of veg and other restaurants and shops near to hotel on Galle Road, as well as a Cargills and Laugfs market next door and across the street.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed here on an official trip. I found it very conveniently located with everything available in the vicinity including a few malls. Rooms are pretty spacious, clean and well equipped with tea/coffee maker, LCD TV, Fridge, personal safe & enough power points. It is about 1.5 hours drive from the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing or pool facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Hotel is situated on a rather busy Galle Road with massive traffic jams in the evenings on weekdays. There are many small shops and restaurants nearby. Externally it does not look impressive but the rooms are big and clean with coffee maker and a safe. Bathroom though small is equipped with a hair dryer. Shampoo and bathing gel are supplied. Wifi was initially weak but after our complain it was fixed. Tuk tuks here have fare meters and very convenient to go anywhere. There are buses outside the hotel that will take you to the Fort, ask hotel reception for bus nos.; it is an experience itself to mingle with the locals. We stayed a week and got to observe the different wedding customs held at the hotel. It is a popular hotel for weddings and private functions. The hotel is not near to any tourist sights. There is a swimming pool but we did not see anyone using it.

Room Tip: The rooms at the end of the corridor, furthest from the elevator, is bigger and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Getting a hotel room in Colombo during any important cricket match week will be a challenge. We tried many hotels but all of them fully booked, so we finally resorted to this hotel.

Upon reaching the hotel, while checking in, some juice is served. Cold stuff always help to brighten up the mood after a tiring journey from the airport. The room is quite standard, just that they have no mini-bar available, only things in the fridge are 2 bottles of water, which is complimentary. There is some coffee/tea making facilities in the bedside table as well. This is quite standard for a room.

The air-cond was leaking badly the first day when I was here, there was a puddle on the floor when I woke up in the morning, I told the front desk about it. By the time I got back from work, the problem been fixed, which is real prompt and efficient.

One thing is that they have mosquitoes and ants in the room. It is not a significant issue for me since the place I come from has many of those, but as a hotel chain, to have ants crawling in the basin in the washroom and mosquitoes flying around when we are working on the desk, it is unacceptable.

As it is situated right beside Galle Road, expect some traffic noise during early morning (as early as 5 am) and late at night, it is the same no matter which room you are staying.

Around the hotel there are some supermarkets, pharmacies, bakeries, 1 or 2 restaurants within walking distance, which is just nice, but not great. Usually we had to take a tuk-tuk to travel somewhere else to eat.

I think we will prefer staying somewhere else the next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northland
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Situated on the not very interesting end of Galle Road but it offers comfortable and clean bedrooms and quite good food. We stayed here on the last night of an exciting but exhausting two week Peregrine tour of Sri Lanka and ended up ordering a simple room service dinner. It took rather a long time to come but when it came the nan breads were the best we have ever had. Breakfast was good too. We would recommend this hotel if you have to stay in Colombo. There is a swimming pool which looked nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed in Sapphire on 15th August night while transiting to Kandy. The hotel is not fancy but offers good value for money. The front desk staff is nice and so are the room service guys. They are prompt and answer your queries with proper solutions. We had breakfast in the morning and it was nice as well. The hotel, I feel, is well located in business hub of the city making it ideal for business travellers. However, it is not 5-Star luxury so keep expectations level set while making a reservation. All in all a pleasant quick overnight stay, but I don't think I will stay here for more than 2 nights if I am on vacation with family.

Room Tip: Make sure you have clarity on single room and double room, don't know if my travel agent goofed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sapphire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Hotel

Address: 371 Galle Road, Colombo 00600, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sapphire Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sapphire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Colombo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sapphire Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.