We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old worn out property in Colombo 1 district” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Oriental Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Oriental Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2, York Street, Colombo 1, Colombo, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 34 Hotels in Colombo
New Delhi
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Old worn out property in Colombo 1 district”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed in Grand Oriental, Colombo as my Sri Lanka itinerary was a package. Its an old hotel on the harbour in Colombo. Location is excellent (Colombo 1 district) with World Trade Towers and Dutch Hospital (nice eating places) are at walking distance. The beach is also close. Wi-fi is complimentary and it works, the breakfast is decent.
However the rooms are old, toilets are in bad shape - both need major makeover. They have large poster beds which are squeaky. The bathrooms knobs, walls are like not repaired and need urgent repairs. Towels etc. are not fresh.... its not value for money .... I would never prefer to stay here again. We had requested for an extra bed but what they gave us was a triple room with Twin beds - no king size bed which is again a disappointment.

Room Tip: Rooms fit bed for 3 quite easily. So with young children its useful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    66
    103
    41
    40
See reviews for
36
86
33
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

It is a good hotel. For the price you pay, especially for the deluxe rooms, you get absolutely huge rooms with a damn good view of the harbour. Bit of a walk if you need to get to the beach, but quite enjoyable. The breakfast has a decent enough spread and there is not anything you can complain about really barring the loud music which comes through to your room at rather late hours at these sudden intervals.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We booked a 1 hour massage through Royce Tours and Travel.
We paid 100% and received a receipt. Then we waited for the car to take us to the massage place.
The massage location was in a seedy area and a seedy 20 minute drive. We should have stopped the situation right then. But, we let our enthusiasm lead our heads.
The driver stated he would be in the car waiting for us when we finished in the1 hour.
During the couples massage, a cleaner came in and bumped into my head with a mop handle, while the massage was taking place at my calf.
Suddenly both masage persons, quit and said "finished".
Only 20 minutes for 2 one hour massages.
I said we paid for 2 full hour massages. The manager said, no, we paid for a foot massage. Our feet were never massaged.
Needless to say we dressed and exited the building, only to find we had been abandoned by the driver.
We had to go inside and find the manager who was hiding. He stated the car was outside. It wasn't.
We had the manager call Royce Tours and Travel.
I asked where was the car and what happened to our 1 hour each massage?
He said the driver was there. The massages were for an hour.
Oh this goes on and on.
In the end Royce only returned 50% of our money, only after a talk with the Queen's hotel manager.
The driver was forced to return, but only after 35 minutes later.
The hotel manger is another one to listen to. He states that Royce Travel is not part of the hotel and they can not control his business practices on their property. What?
I am contacting both corporate offices of these two non customer friendly establishments.

Room Tip: Look far away from this place. You will thank yourself later!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAIPUR
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Located near fort station and colombo harbour this is a popular hotel right at the corner of york street. you can reach here by taking a auto (tuk tuk) from fort. Very good dining hall (Harbour Room). Old style furniture and heritage decor. Staff is friendly. Small conferences are held here frequently. Situation is very near to local attractions and transportation hub.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Interesting how other people have responded to and reviewed the Grand Oriental.

I can see both sides. It is a little run down and the style of building does better in England than the tropics. As a colonial building it is a nice piece of architecture, and the plates on the walls saying who had stayed there were interesting. Unfortunately at times I was not sure if some of the signs were current or historical - the current ones looked dated (and I'm not sure this was intentional)

I liked the breakfast view ofer the port and docks, it adds something to the understanding of a country.

We opted for the larger room because we would need an extra bed, and the room was very large indeed.

Easy walk to the old Dutch Hospital which has some nice places to eat, sit around and have a drink, listen to some live music.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Our stay in this hotel was very comfortable.We were welcomed by the staff very well. The rooms are quite comfortable. The breakfast was also good. The hotel is overlooking the dock yard. It has location advantage because it is close to see face, fort railway station so also the bus station. Another advantage was it is close to the Main Street Market. You have some pockets to eat there. We also got necessary help to store our luggage in locker room.
It is also close to main Sri Lanka tourism place like, Independence monument, Gangaram temple, Hindu kovil, Museum, beach etc. Thus there could be a saving on local site seeing.

Room Tip: The rooms are facing sea side but can not see the sea view fully if your are on lower floors. Choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

A good hotel overlloking Colombo harbour. Rooms are big and have a look of old colonial furniture and setup. The cleaniness is there but it smells a little. The restaurant is good and we had a dinner here. In fact we stayed for only one night arriving in the evening and leaving early morning next day. So we could try here only dinner and they had packed breajfast for us in early morning. The walk around the hotel and near the sea is very nice. Generally it was very good stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Oriental Hotel

Address: 2, York Street, Colombo 1, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 34 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Oriental Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Oriental Colombo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.